We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$35 fee per pet, per night?!”
Review of 29 Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twentynine Palms
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Palms Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$35 fee per pet, per night?!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Insane. Outrageously expensive. 29 Palms Inn, you are NOT Palm Springs....quit charging like it!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 13emmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane S, Owner at 29 Palms Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are a pet-friendly hotel, and in order to maintain the level of comfort our guests expect we implement an extra cleaning routine after a pet has stayed in one of our guest rooms. We charge a one-time $35 pet fee to cover the cost of this extra cleaning.
Thank you again for taking the time to communicate your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    85
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
89
149
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at the 29 Palms Inn twice now and wouldn't hesitate to recommend (and I will be going back). Fantastic food, great atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff - this place was one of the essential stops on our coast to coast drive (having stayed there a few years earlier).

Waking up with the desert literally on our doorstep was an unforgettable experience and one we're anxious to repeat.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyOfKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Since I have to live in a house on an unpaved road, with flaking paintwork, dodgy wiring, and an old enamel bath, the supposed 'quaintness' of the cabin we stayed in at 29 Palms was entirely wasted on me; it felt very ordinary, at a very cheeky price. If you are from the UK, for example,not North America or Scandinavia, the feel of this inn may be all too familiar, in that it's a bit shabby, a bit tired and wildly over-priced, just like some taking-the-mickey English B&Bs and guesthouses that play up their "character" rather too hard. I should never have booked this inn - I didn't think twice about what all the references to 'character', 'cozy', 'charming', 'quirky' were actually saying. My own fault, and I'm sure many visitors find it quite delightful (if, for example, they are lucky enough to be going home to a house where the plumbing works, and the streets are paved). So, not for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank happygolucky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I am writing this review at the request of my child, who absolutely loved our brief stay (one night only) at the 29 Palms Inn. We stayed in the MacKenzie Suite, which has a porch swing that we enjoyed while watching the stars, eating a slice of cake and ice cream taken out from the restaurant. Food was very good (a continental breakfast is included and was excellent - fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade lemon-poppy, pumpkin and zucchini-chocolate chip breads and passable coffee) and the service at the entire facility was friendly and prompt. We were sorry to leave and wished we could have spent another night. Note that the property is probably not for neat freaks or those who are accustomed to chain hotels, whether they be mid or upper level. You must take some quirks along with the charm. As an example, we were a bit hesitant to enter our room when we first saw the outside of the building, but inside was clean and inviting. If we are ever in the area again, we would definitely book a room here. There is much to appreciate if you are in the right frame of mind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dana point, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're visiting Joshua Tree and don't plan on camping.

The rustic rooms are cozy, comfortable and have real fireplaces. We had Cinchweed which is a room just off to the right of the office. This room's location was conveniently located to the restaurant, making the short walk in the cold bearable.

The inn has its own little farm and oasis complete with a houseboat that I think belonged to the original owners. There appeared to be a couple rooms out near the oasis, but in the dark at night, I think I'd be a bit creeped out staying there. You never know, the creature from the black lagoon might come out...

It's amazing how quiet it is out there. Our room faced a huge expanse of land and had a small enclosed patio/lounge area out in front. I'm sure in warmer months that area is quite useful for sunbathing by day and some serious star gazing at night.

The restaurant can get crowded in the evening and unfortunately they don't take reservations. The menu isn't very extensive, but they seem to do a decent job. We had the spinach salad two nights in a row it was so good. They're equipped with a full bar and the wine list is okay, but we ended up taking our own on the second night and the corkage fee was minimal.

I'd really like to come back to JT before it get too hot out there and enjoy the pool and the little private patio outside the room. The only thing I'd like to see changed would be the restaurant taking reservations. Other than that this place is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Some people look for all the conveniences, from business center to exercise center. When my wife and I travel we look for places with character. 29 Palms Inn has that in spades. About a dozen cabins built many years, several of them adobes, surround a small oasis, and there are lots of fan palms.

There's also a pool and an excellent restaurant. We spent two nights and loved the feel of the place. Our only regret was that we didn't get one of the adobes with fireplace, which would have been especially nice because it was 50 degrees and raining. But our cabin had heater that worked just fine.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stumbled upon this amazing Oasis one time after visiting Joshua Tree National Park. It is a bit secluded which was exactly what I needed. A perfect getaway from the Armenian teenage boys who drive 100mph in their BMW's, smog, traffic, bad attitudes, and negative energy in Los Angeles. This place is a little slice of heaven. Quiet, out of the way, and peaceful. You can choose from several cabins on the property which is desert wilderness. Quail and robins will wander around your doorstep at sunrise, jack-rabbits hop around nearby, the breakfast is outstanding at the cafe, and the staff are outgoing and very friendly. They will treat you like family. Bring your smartphone as some cabins have no in-room phones.Remember, 29 Palms, the city, is just a place people stay while visiting the soldiers at the nearby military base. The real reason to drive all the way out here is the Park! There is a small fee for a 5-day pass, but it's worth it. This hotel is charming and as the Brits say, "a bit rustic" , but very clean and cozy! Joshua Tree is one of the great Natural Wonders of the world. I've met travellers from Germany, Holland, Australia ,England, Brazil,Canada, and Russia while hiking inside the park. All nice and generous people who respect the beauty and magic of the land. Feels so good to come back at night to 29 Palms Inn to relax after a day or two in the Park.

Room Tip: If you like art there is a cabin there for artists. ( A/C works fine in all cabins!) If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
573 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Palms Inn

Property: 29 Palms Inn
Address: 73950 Inn Ave, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#2 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the doorstep of Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Established in 1928 on the historic Oasis of Mara, the 29 Palms Inn provides unique lodging and casual fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
29 Palms Hotel Twentynine Palms
29 Palms Twentynine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing