We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
598 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in a king room that was good sized, with microwave, mini fridge, and large flat screen TV. No HD stations, and since TV was wall mounted, I couldn't use my Apple TV. Close to Joshua Tree NP entrance.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 400 BLDG, quite a trek to ice, and sometimes wifi wouldn't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBowie29, General Manager at Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
I am sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your digital needs while staying at Best Western Gardens. Our televisions are mounted on the wall, so it would be difficult to plug in an Apple TV unit. However, next time please contact our front desk with your problem; our maintenance staff might have been able to assist! We have upgraded our wifi system, and encourage you to come back to try it again.

I hope that these 2 issues will not discourage you from returning; we strive to provide excellent customer service and would like to have another try!

Sincerely,
Jim Bowie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    216
    69
    24
    23
See reviews for
174
272
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We are the, "Biggs HOG Chapter" of North San Diego County," a “Well Respected", group of Harley Davidson Motorcycle Enthusiasts. We travel a great deal each year and stay at many hotels.

This pass weekend, we were delighted to have stayed at the Best Western – Gardens at Twenty-nine Palms, California on April 27 & 28, 2013.

I am the booking coordinator for our club and I booked 30 rooms. So when it comes to complaints, I would have heard them if there were any. Instead all I heard was highest praise. Our members couldn't believe how friendly, helpful and courteous the staff was at this location, not to mention how great the rooms were.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a front desk staff ready to check us in.

We all arrived basically at the same time and the hotel desk staff, Jackie, Megan & Tina, quickly and very efficiently checked us all into our rooms. They took time to explain all the details of the hotel to each of our members. We were off to a Good Start!

I and the other 51 people with me can't begin to tell you just how accommodating this hotel was.
The staff did everything to make our stay the most comfortable and enjoyable ever.

Once in our rooms, we were greeted with a “Bag of Goodies”. In the bag was a Welcome letter from the Hotel Staff, Bottles of water, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Granola Bars and other local information.

The rooms were spacious and very nice and clean. I must have heard it from at least 30 of my members how nice the showers were.

The rooms were spacious, immaculate and I would believe pretty well insulated for sound. Attention to detail, everything was done right. The bathroom was large, well lit with a clean tiled floor and a very nice showerhead with plenty of hot water and pressure. The AC was more than adequate and ran very quietly. There was a refrigerator & microwave oven in all rooms. The pool and spa area was clean and inviting.

Next morning all were up to a very delightful Full Hot Breakfast, complete with eggs, sausage, waffles and much much more with 2 delightful hosts taking care of us. The food was delicious!

If there was anything we needed, all we did was ask and it was immediately taken care of.

And there was always Chocolate Chip Cookies and Coffee available in the hotel lobby.

I am personally in debt to these folks for making me a hero with our club.

Special Thanks to, Casey Martin; the hotel Group Booking Manager, and the Owner & Staff that made our stay so memorable.

If you would care to discuss any of this, please email me and I would be all too happy to explain further.
MRPHIL3@gmail.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRPHIL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I needed a good place to stay for a few days while visiting a son in the marines who was getting ready to ship out overseas. I picked this place simply because it was close and a BW to which I am a frequent traveler. We were very pleasantly surprised. First, besides the warm, friendly greeting, we were informed as members of BW club we received a free upgrade to a suite. The layout was wonderful...sprawling and all first floor. Breakfast was good, service was even better. Check in and out was a breeze. Highly recommended by somebody who almost never bothers with reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I liked the location, which was out of the way and back from the road. The hotel was a sprawling complex and four of us traveling together all had rooms in different locations. The room was clean and comfortable. The best part of our stay was the breakfast. Very nice breakfast room and quite a selection (eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, and lots of fresh fruit among other items). The staff in the breakfast room kept on top of restocking and greeted guests with a friendly "Good Morning!" Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in Twentynine Palms we were not expecting much but what a surprise. The reception staff was very friendly and we even got a little welcome gift water and cookies.
The hotel is a bit older but in good shape and so was the room we got, clean, nice and comfortable. The Pool area is also a good place to relax after a day in the desert. But what really makes this hotel stand out is the full breakfast. We never saw a cleaner breakfast room and never had a better BW breakfast on this trip. You get offered a rich selection of fruits, coffee,bagels, eggs, bacon ... and more. The two girls running the breakfast room are very nice and attentive. You can also order waffles or a smoothie. If you are looking for a great place to stay near Joshua Tree NP or on a stop over in Twentynine Palms this is the place to choose.
So in relation to the place it's in this hotel is worth a 5 points rating for us.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skysurf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Joe at the front desk was our first impression, and it was great. The room was much larger than we expected, and it was obviously recently remodeled. The check out person in themorning was very friendly, too. We would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: go for the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertH641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The Happy Hour is really nice - great snacks and free wine.
Breakfast is standard, with plenty of options - though the coffee could be a lot stronger.
Bathrooms are clean and soaps, lotion, etc. are really nice.
Beds are really comfy - but could use some newer pillows.
Only 3 things that fell short: 1) Please shampoo/steam clean the carpets in the rooms - they are truly disgusting, 2) Air out the rooms - they smell really musty, and and 3) Put a security door that can only be opened with a room key on the doors to the back building.

With those few adjustments, this could be a great hotel. The people are really wonderful - which is a huge plus.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the main building or the building just to the right of it. Back building is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimBowie29, Manager at Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for noticing our customer service! We try very hard to provide excellent service, knowing that friendly and reliable service makes all guests feel at home. I am sorry that your carpet smelled musty. I wish that you would have informed the front desk of that issue so that we could have offered you a different room. Also, I hope that you can be patient with us while we install upgrades to the property. We are planning to lock the upstairs hallways, and will also add improved air conditioning units to those areas.

I encourage you to visit us again soon and check out our progress!
Sincerely,
Jim Bowie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twentynine Palms
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
254 reviews
4.4 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park

Property: Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Address: 71487 Twentynine Palms Highway, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel in Twentynine Palms, CA is conveniently located on Highway 62, minutes from the Twentynine Palms Marine Base and Joshua Tree National Park. Our Southern CA hotel offers complimentary amenities, including a hot breakfast buffet and wireless Internet, as well an outdoor pool overlooking the tranquil desert gardens. Whether you’re seeking a relaxing getaway or outdoor adventure at the Joshua Tree National Park, the Gardens Hotel is the perfect Mojave Desert escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Best Western Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing