We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is great! It is located away from the hotel strip in a quite neighborhood. My boyfriend and I stayed in a Junior Suite. It has a full kitchen and also has a patio with BBQ grill. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. According to them, this is their smallest room. It is bigger than standard rooms in a regular hotel. As I said, I am glad we found this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I want to start out by saying that there are very few choices of fancy hotels in 29 Palms. It feel like a border town with most hotels on the main drag/freeway.

Sunnyvale Gardens is tucked away in a residential area, away from the freeway noise and street lights. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious. Tony the owner is very accommodating and friendly. Our dog Cleo was welcomed and there was a lot of space for her to run around and explore (supervised of course).

If you plan to do any cooking we suggest that you bring your own pans since the kitchen items were bare bones.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hghilzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Check out this place! It's wonderful, with friendly management, good rates and a totally unique look outside. The owner has obviously invested a lot of work in preparing the grounds, with desert plants, winding walkways and "Old West" bric-a-brac. Each unit is very private, with a little patio and barbecue. The units are really small apartments, designed for long-term stay. Each has a full kitchen, with utensils and equipment. We stayed 3 nights and did not want to cook, so most of the kitchen amenities were not used by us. The bathroom is small with an overhead shower spigot, which is not my favorite style. No tub. The main negative to the place is that it is not a walkable distance to anything else in town. But then, the whole town of 29 Palms is widely spread out and not made for walking. There is no real "downtown" or central business section. If you are prepared to eat in, or to drive out whenever you want to eat or get a drink, then this place will do fine. It certainly struck us as far more "homey", friendly, and certainly more unique than anything else along the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no other room upstairs. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wow! This hotel has a lot going on. The property has this cool western theme. I am a photography hobbyist and there is a lot of things to take picture of inside the property.

They have a Christmas light show at night that is synchronized with music.

The room was very nice with granite countertops. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great night sleep.

I would definitely stay here again a recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Tony, thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I loved this getaway from the Marine Corps base when I came to visit the weekend of 10/05/12 (way better than the barracks for my husband!) We stayed in "black rock". I think we had the smallest suite and it was still great. We got a saver rate on it so from Saturday afternoon to tuesday morning we really got a deal on the price, less than you would spend for a one room hotel in the area! Had a good sized bathroom which had an eco friendly toilet, tub/shower and sink with mirror. There's a nice sized and comfortable living room/kitchenette area. Had pots, pans, utensils etc for cooking as well as a table that seated two against the wall to eat at. It had a full sized refrigerator/freezer. The place was very CLEAN. The bed was very comfortable, it had to be pillowtop mattress. The sheets were very soft. There was carpet in the bedroom as well as nightstands, a good size closet, table lamps and a flatscreen tv. The tv in the living room had a working dvd player. The air conditioning unit was phenomonal. We didn't use the hot tub but there is one there. Theres a laundrymat there, bring your own detergent though as well as about $3.00 in quarters, if you don't have them then the manager and staff will gladly make change for you. The manager is a very sweet man, always greeted us when we were going out for a walk and asked how our stay was going. His staff was very nice any time we saw eachother as well. As far as pests go, no mice/rodents and nothing out of the ordinary for being in the middle of the desert as far as a bug here or there. And just in case you do see a bug they kindly left spray in the one cabinet so you're not defenseless. :D

Room Tip: "Black Rock" was good if there are only two people, otherwise from the looks of the room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I arrived on a Wednesday.
I had paid in advance for four days ($ 89 per night plus tax) but there was a misunderstanding about the floor I wanted (second floor) where there turned out to be no single rooms.
I really wanted a balcony instead of a patio so I paid an extra $ 40 plus tax per night.

Because I had a bad cold I decided to drive around Joshua Tree Park the next morning and spend the afternoon sitting on my balcony reading and then napping.
I got back there around noon.
There was some heavy construction work going on at the motel. It was so noisy that sitting outside was no option and taking a nap was impossible.
It was already going on when I returned to the motel around noon, stopped at 2 PM and then started again the next morning at quarter to 8:00.
When I got back the next day at 1.30 PM the manager Tony (who was always very nice) asked if the noise was bothering me.
Of course it was! He offered to have it stopped and when I left he apologized that he hadn't noticed my coming back on Thursday so early.

The apartment is fine though the furniture is a but rundown and old fashioned.
What I didn't like about the apartment: the floor wasn't clean.
I like to walk barefoot and things kept sticking to my feet. I told the maid the next day and she cleaned the apartment floor - sort of.
Lots of stuff remained sticking to the floor (and to my feet) - not nice. I had the impression that after that one time the apartment wasn't vacuumed again let alone mopped.

Overall I was wondering if there was any serious maid service or if the only thing provided were occasional fresh towels.
I asked the maid I ran into and she told me she would provide new towels and take out the trash and if I would like that: make the bed.
That seemed to be about it.

What I did like: there is a nice big refrigerator.
Lots of tv channels as well including MSNBC which I love.
And: there is a really cute small desert garden around the motel.
You can see birds (lots of quail) and rabbits.

Overall I thought the apartment was nice if a bit run down but very expensive also considering the erratic maid service.
I must admit that the longer I was staying there the more I liked it, really enjoying my quiet hours on my balcony reading and looking at the birds and the rabbits - and the less the lack of cleanliness bothered me.

When I was checking out Tony offered to show me where on the premises a cactus wren was building a nest and told me where to stand so I could take a picture. I was in luck and took a photo that is kind of nice.
We also discussed the importance of living green and how Tony tries to make the motel as 'green' as possible - which I really liked.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A delightful experience. More than just a room for the night (that's all we had time for) but a whole experience which we found very much to our liking.
When reading reviews I suggest that one checks the dates as there is obviously a program of improvement and renovation in place so potential guests need to be sure that they have the uptodate info.
A few shortcomings in our accommodation include: no wine glasses, no sink plug in kitchen, would have liked a table for the terrace and the WC failed to flush the morning we were leaving. However, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.
The desert garden worked well and the feature lighting around the gardens was nice when returning after dark, so much so that we enjoyed sitting out on our terrace with an after dinner drink before turning in.
The climate at this time of the year is sublime, hot but dry - little humidity
Thank you for an enjoyable stop.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
267 reviews
1.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-7103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $85 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing