We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place run by friendly people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Found this through trip advisor , it didn’t disappoint . The place was clean and the air conditioning the most efficient and quietest on our whole holiday . That was just as well as the temperature was still in the high 80s in the evening .
We had booked for two nights as we were going to go horse riding one day then spend a day in Joshua Tree NP , that seemed like a good plan while sitting in rain soaked , freezing Scotland ! Instead we only stayed here for one night then had a drive through JTNP with the air-con on.
I’d recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a visit to Joshua Tree NP. Sunnyvale Hotel , as well as the people of 29 Palms we met were very friendly and welcoming .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We arrived at Sunnyvale Garden Suites at O-dark Thirty on a Friday night to a warm welcome and a clean room. In the morning we noticed that our son (Marine returned from Afganistan) needed a razor. I went to the front desk to see if they had one for sale. They didnt so the manager pulled out his personal razor, popped in a fresh cartridge and handed it to me. I offered to pay him for it but he would'nt let me. Impressive.
The rooms are simple but well equipped. The grounds are lovely. A great place to bring your family. The kiddies would especially appreciate the large swing set and play area. The adults would enjoy the jacuzzi and large outdoor meeting area.
We will definetly come back and stay!

Room Tip: Call and tell them what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeskewFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel was very pleasant to stay in. We had 2 families with small children and we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite and it fit us all just perfect! Very welcoming, and with lots and lots of space, my husband and our friends were very satisfied with our stay. The owner is very very friendly! I would recommend this place to anyone who is planning on visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sttimer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with children ages 5 and 3. The play ground was charming and fun and the highlight of staying here. Small sauna that was used as a pool for kids. Room was clean and kitchen had everything we needed. Furniture was a bit old, but serviceable. The only downside was noise from party goers and smokers both Friday and Saturday night. Very noisy. Bring earplugs. Overall, would recommend for short stay and as a home base for trips to Joshua Tree.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Momwithkids32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed for 2 weeks and they accommodated my small dog and 2 cars.
Hotel staff is friendly and available.
Our room had a full kitchen and dining area.
Close to base and restaurants- and of the main road and quiet.
I would recommend for short and long stays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolobauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I would really recommend this place. My husband was pleasantly surprised (for me it was no surprise as I read tripadvisor and picked the hotel ;-) ) with the charactar and charm of this hotel. We usally stay in chain hotels and this is perfect for us. But if you can then arrive at sunnyvale, you notice the difference. The outside is so nice! A lot of decoration. The rooms are in located in a few different buildings.
We stayed at the "prospector". The room was spacious and with a fully equipped kitchen. It was nice to have a little living room.
When we arrived there was nobody in the office, but there was a phone and after quick phone call there was almost immediately someone there to show us our room. In the morning we left the key in the box at the office.
This hotel is not located along the main street of twentynine palms, but with our GPS we had no problem finding it.

Two things which we liked less:
- we thought the bed was a bit small
- our room was not so clean. According to the person who showed us our room this was dust blown in when he put on the fan. This was really a pity as there were little dust things every where. But this was not a big issue for us.

We arrived at dark and left early morning, so we could not really enjoy the facilities but the pool and recreation area looked really nice!

Oh, and Joshua Tree is a great national park, with beautiful trails!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

They tired to make unauthorized charges on my credit card. Had to call the bank to report fraud. Came to find out it was the owner Tony who was doing this. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler123456789101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyvaleSuites, Owner at Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2011

Did you make a reservation at our hotel? YES
Were you advised of our 48 hour cancellation policy? YES
Were you emailed a copy of your confirmation and in it advising you of our 48 hour cancellation policy? YES
Did you call to cancel within the 48 hours? YES
Did you cancel your credit card so we are not able to charge you? YES

Who is the crook now? YOU

While we appreciate your business, for you to call us a crooks is dishonest and libelous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
650 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
502 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 73843 Sunnyvale Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-7103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $85 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in TwentyNine Palms, CA, just minutes outside the main entrance to the world's largest military base, Twentynine Palms U.S. Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center (MCAGCC). The MCAGCC marine base is only 4 ½ miles to the north. This makes it perfect for 29 Palms military lodging. The 29 Palms entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, one million acres of unspoiled Mojave Desert wilderness is located about three miles to the south. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is conveniently situated central to the 29 Palms shopping and dining. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel offers the only fully furnished hotel accommodations in Twentynine Palms, including all services and amenities one would expect at any fine hotel. Our junior, one and two bedroom suites are over-sized and roomy. They are beautifully decorated with an eclectic style of new and early 20th-century furnishings. Every spacious executive suite is fully equipped from A to Z: kitchens, high speed internet (wired and wireless), 24” or 27” TV and DVD players. Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel is the only “extended stay hotel” lodging in 29 Palms, however we welcome many overnight guests as well. Our large one and two bedroom suites are excellent for group meeting and gatherings. The extra comfort we offer will be very much appreciated after a long day of work, or a full day of hiking, rock climbing or just plain adventure in the Joshua Tree National Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyvale Garden Hotel Twentynine Palms
Sunnyvale Garden Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing