We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Neat Place that Compliments its Environment”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Neat Place that Compliments its Environment”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Our travels in the US have shown us that people who live in the desert southwest are a little "different" and this motel compliments our observations. We were surprised to find so many chain hotels in Twentynine Palms until the owner of the Harmony Motel explained the region's economic drivers - the military and the national park.
We found the Harmony Motel via Tripadvisor back in the summer while planning our fall vacation. The place sounded just like what we were looking for and it did not disappoint. We wanted to experience the desert, not just drop into it each morning and you don't get that at many chain hotels. The Harmony Motel is the opposite and it's pretty neat.
We booked Room # 6 at the end. It is a king room with a separate kitchen. It was more like staying at a friend's cottage than a motel room. It is an eclectic mix of mis-matched stuff but it all works - there was everything we needed (stove, oven, microwave, coffee-maker, toaster, etc.) plus giant wine glasses. The morning sun fills the room and an industrial sized heater warmed the room up nicely. Enjoying morning coffee outside while watching the desert come to life was great.
The manager/host couldn't have been nicer, the hot tub was great (just like the other reviews say) and there is a common room with internet access. The only things we would have changed would have been the showerhead (it was more like standing in a car wash than a shower) and adding a comfy chair for evening relaxing.
We thought the Harmony Motel was a great find and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, December 5, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a descriptative and comprehensive review on the area and the motel.

We appreciate your honesty and compliments.

We most certainly look forward to seeing you again at the motel.

Thanks
Ash
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    122
    30
    17
    25
See reviews for
102
178
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I had absolutely terrible service while booking. It was so bad that I didn't even make the reservation. The girl who took the call was nice enough, but didn't seem to know the answers to any of the questions I asked. The manager was downright rude. I would rather camp than have to deal with that kind of b.s. while on vacation. I hope that the manager eventually realizes that they are in the HOSPITALITY industry, and as such should treat potential customers with respect, friendliness and warmth.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Front Office Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Dear Guest,

We apologize for any misunderstandings that may have occurred during your reservation process. On any given day we receive numerous calls that we provide individual attention to.

Unfortunately our records does not indicate that you we irate at the time of you trying to make a reservations.

The front desk-clerk answered the hotel policy questions which seemed hard for you to accept. The manager was extremely patient and polite in answering your questions when you requested for her assistance.

You did not want to accept that a
1. Credit Card was requested to make a reservation.
2. That a cancellation policy is used if you cancel after that cancellation time,
3. And that there is a check-out time…


I am even shocked that you wrote a review of such a nature, describing your anger but not explaining to fellow travelers what for sorry your were not yelled at or treated with disrespect, you were politely told what the hotel policy are. Which you did not want to accept for your reservations, these policies are also explicitly explained on our website. .

To me it seems that you called in not to make a reservation but to write a review.

We appreciate our guests and we will strife to be the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I stopped by change att he Harmony motel for one night and came back for 2 !
The place lives up to its name, a little away from the buzz , with a gorgeous view.
I was after a tranquil place with good vibe and I found it.
Albeit modest - Thought is put in the little details and in making the guest feel at their best.
The owner is a lovely lady with whom it was very pleasant to sit down and have a conversation when she had a bit of time - reflecting her outlook on the Motel - a welcoming pace for guests to feel at home.
There arent that many rooms which to me is a plus - its not one f those " factories"
It seems she attracts a very nice crowd of people too .
The Jaccuzzi was a nice luxury , in the evening gazing at the stars.

I will definitely be back aagain and recomend it!

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Malika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this good review on our establishment. We appreciate your honest comments on the Motel. We apprecite the time and effort you have taken in writing this review,
we wish you well in all your travels and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

The last time my boyfriend and I stayed at the Harmony Motel was in October 2010 for my 40th birthday weekend. But we've been there several times before, and will go again in the future as it's one of our favorite spots in California. Like the desert that surrounds it, the Harmony Motel is simple but efficient, with rates that simply can't be beat.. It's quiet (day and night), comfortable, clean and conveniently located to Joshua Tree park and other sights in the area. We always stay in a room with kitchen, bring our food and cook like we're at home. It's a perfect place to use as a base when visiting the park. The pool is refreshing, the hot tub lovely to sit in at night under the stars. And the owner is very hospitable and kind. We just love it there.... so much so we're going to stay there for our 2011 wedding!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niva70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for our establishment . We appreciate your honesty and fondness, and loyalty for the motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Best of luck in your wedding preprations.
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Bless the lovely owner of the Harmony Motel for making each guest feel like a friend and providing clean, comfortable and charming rooms. It is a bit dated in spots, but that's just part of the charm. The views are lovely and it is conveniently located to Joshua Tree National Park. The showers could use a larger shelf for toiletries, but that's a minor comment. Our room had a fully stocked kitchen (not with food, of course!), which was more than ample for our stay. We would definitely return and encourage others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time of writing a review on our establishment. We appreciate your Gratitude
We like the honesty of your review, your comments will definitely help us strive for the highest standards in hospitatlity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had been travelling around the USA for three weeks when we had the unfortunate experience of booking a room here. Being on the road, we often didnt book hotels until a day or two before and we had never been able to book one on the actual day. That was until we discovered this place. At 9pm one night when planning the next day's travel, we came across this hotel and booked a room for the following night. Only when we arrived did we realise that I had in fact booked one the previous night (i.e. the same night I made the booking. I am surprised and bewildered that a hotel would allow someone to do this - no matter Harmony's justifications are). Lonely Planet describes the management here as "ill-tempered" and they're not wrong. I would also add, that unlike all other managers we encountered on our journey, these people showed no interest in the fact that it was a mistake and we were truly sorry for the inconvenience. Unlike them, we showed good manners and paid the bill and have since tried to communicate them via email asking them to reconsider the charge. They wont. When I mentioned to the female manager that I would be noting this on Tripadvisor she bellowed - "Dont you threaten me!". I didnt. I havent. This is just an honest account of what happened. I would recommend all travellers to be very careful when booking accommodation via Harmony's website. It isnt set up professionally and is likely to catch out otherwise well-intentioned and well-mannered travellers.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DrMarc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear traveler,

The writer of this review has misrepresented the facts in this review and intentions of the motel to our follow travelers.

Firstly there is nothing unprofessionally in the manner in which our business system is set up; in the travel industry same day reservations are allowed by many hotels and airlines (therefore many hotels in the USA have a 24 hr desk service). We have had many travelers who would make a reservation in the afternoon and arrive late evening. This is an acceptable business practice.

This traveler made a reservation at 8.45pm, we held the reservation for him up to 3pm the next day normally (a reservation is held till check out time 11am), turning away many guests that wanted occupancy that night. There was no communication from the traveler regarding an error in reservations, until he arrived at 5pm the next day, when the motel staff informed the traveler that all the rooms were sold, hence we could not accommodate him on this day. This made him angry.

While we do believe in servicing our guest to the best of our ability, it is unacceptable to us to for a guest to “threaten the business.” (He threaten to write a negative review on the business because he did not get his way). When a reservation is been made the last procedure on the system, requests that you check your details, and accept the terms of the hotel policy before a confirmation is given. The system than generates a written confirmation slip of the dates of arrival and departure etc.

He further mis- quotes the lonely planet on the present ownership and management. As a small business operators, we did try to accommodate him, (even tough we lost many potential guests that evening, we held the room for him till next day up to 3pm, check in time the following day).

We do the best we can to accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United King
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We have been back to the Harmony Motel two years in row, and really enjoy the feel of it being like your own home, whilst being in a hotel, but without the crowds. You can opt to have your own kitchen, which is great especially if you have food allergies. The rooms are very clean, and good value for money. Having travelled to other desert hotels, this is by far the best with regards to location and activities near by. After a busy day exploring you can laze by the pool, or grab a hot tub, and just watch the world go by. There is free coffee and internet facilities and the owner is a real star. A real place to take refuge!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time, in publishing a very honest and brilllaint review for our establishment.
We appreciate the time that you have spent in writing this review.
Thanks
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
420 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
307 reviews
4.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing