We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WoW!!! Loved our stay at the Harmony…”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
2 reviews
“WoW!!! Loved our stay at the Harmony…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We visited the Harmony Motel during the last Christmas Holiday’s for one full week. We booked a room with a full kitchen, at a very affordable rate, we shopped around the area and this motel was priced best for our needs. The kitchen is separated from the room almost alike a min apartment, it was larger than my home kitchen in New York, full stocked with utensils and appliances’. We were able to cook three meals a day and also entertain some of our friends that stayed at the motel.
We loved the grounds everything was well taken care. Our rooms were exceptionally cleaned. We loved the outdoor patio, from which we could have a cup of coffee and watch the sun rise, and the hot tub, to soak in the evening s and watch the stars after a long day of hiking. The rooms are huge although it has everything like a regular motel; the décor is simple yet very homey. The beds were comfortable giving us very restful nights of sleep. There is also an internet room that has a library, and we had free Wi-Fi excess in our rooms, the motel also has a common area for guests to have coffee, or prepare a light meal if they do not want a room with a kitchen, which our friends used.
The staff was great, very good housekeeping and guest services. Ash, knows the area exceptionally well, she directed us to all the hikes in the national park that we would enjoy, and restaurants and fun things to do in the area. My favorite hike was the 49 Palms oasis less than a mile away from the motel, the motel is very close to the east entrance from Highway 62-(this is the main entrance of the park).
I would certainly recommend the motel to all our friends, family and travelers because of the amenities that it offer, the incredible desert experience, and affordability. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    120
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
173
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1-night while visiting Joshua Tree National Park and we were very disappointed. I liked the website and read the reviews on tripadvisor but I would not recommend this motel. There are so many more choices in the area....newer establishments, less expensive. And the highway traffic noise kept us up most of the night. The hotel is right on the edge of the highway. It was an extra $10.00 to have a frig in the room and the bathroom was very small. Just can't recommend it with all the other choices in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 220Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear traveler,

Thank you for writing the review. Lets give all our travelers both sides of the story. Our description of the motel on our website tells you off the history of the motel (the year it was built in) and the cost of the different room-types.

You opted for a standard room with no kitchenette. At the time of your booking you were explained on the different room types and the rates. A room with a kitchenette (that is a full kitchen) does cost more than a standard room. Hence the $10.00 extra charge. You were full aware of this as you did visit the website before booking and this pointed out to you by the reservations desk clerk at the point of your reservations.
.
Our guests that opt for the standard room make use of the common room facility that does provide a kitchenette with a full refrigerator ( and a freezer full of ice), you were given that option and shown this facility upon check in). On your check in you seemed happy with the room and the use of the common space. Our bathrooms have huge showers.

You were aware of the location of the motel, at the time of your booking, and this was explained to you in detail. Furthermore more than 90% of the motel/hotels including the newer ones that you are talking about like the harmony has highway visibility.

None of these motels/hotels have facilities or amenities such as the harmony, that is the charm, the history, the incredible desert views from our guest patios, exceptional clean rooms, every amenity in our room is functional, great beds, and personal service.

Unlike the newer hotels/motels we offer more than just a room experience we provide a desert experience, we are smaller and personalized and a home away from home stay. And as you can see by our reviews on this forum we have 99% of guest satisfaction, for our service, amenities are excellent, and for the rates that we provide, ( very affordable to our guests) as compared to the new properties.

We a sorry that you expected a facility such as the Motel 6 and the Holiday Inn Express. Even properties such as these have different rates for different room types that are much more in price compared to the harmony motel. We are an 8 unit property and we cannot compare ourselves to a 100 unit such as the motel 6 or 80 unit property holiday Inn express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Joshua Tree National Park. The location couldn't be better, just a 10 minute drive from the park entrance.
The motel has a cute 'western' feel, with great views, cold pool (too cold for Jan) and hot tub (very nice). The cactus gardens added to the overall desert feel.
The rooms were a good size although the decor was just a little tired. Our kitchen with dining table was very good with a wide range of cooking appliances including coffee maker. We only had to ask for a corkscrew.
Overall I would highly recommend this motel to anyone travelling in the area.
Special mention to Ash the owner who was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had room 7 (right at the end), great for privacy, but unfortunately too far for the wifi to reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This quiet secluded motel was just perfect for our stay before we went to a 10 day retreat at the vipassana center just up the road. We had a great kitchen which had everything we needed to cook up our own food. The desert garden surrounding the hotel is just beautiful and gives that desert feeling with plants I'd never seen before and with colours and nice touches that made it felt like someone really cared around the place. The bed was very comfy and not too soft, and there was a good shower. We enjoyed sitting outside our room and looking out across the desert sky and mountains in the distance. It was a perk to think that U2 stayed here. You could imagine them taking over the whole place with all their crew before they were really famous, jamming away. Ash, the owner is a very nice lady. I would highly recommend this motel.
We came by public transport (buses) from L.A. Make sure you google maps it with some good planning beforehand as the locals are not so hot on public transport. It was tricky but doable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for three nights exploring the area and Joshua Tree N.P. It was an excellent starting point to do this. We loved it to relaxe in the hot tube in the evening, the room was very nice and also the whole place is lovely and passionate decorated and hosted.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great and fit for individual needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank La E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a room with a full kitchen that was stocked with all the needed pans, utensils and appliances to make our visit fun and inexpensive. After a day of hiking in Joshua Tree National Park, it was so relaxing to return to the hottub and enjoy the stars. Owner and manager Ash is a delight, responding to our questions and making time to just chat. Such a refreshing alternative to all the "chain" motels! We would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

As a touring musician, I've stayed at at hundreds of motels, and this is one of the best experiences I've ever had. The owner, Ash, is a deeply kind and hospitable woman who made me feel completely at home. The kitchenettes are fantastic, the rooms are clean, the pool and scenery are gorgeous. It's very close to 49 Palms Oasis, as well as just a few mile hop from Crossroads Cafe, Joshua Tree Natural Foods, and a number of great antique and thrift shops. I can't wait to go back!! XOXO

Room Tip: Bring earplugs - this is near the highway, so you can hear trucks going by. If that bothers you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#6 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing