We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, private”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Visit was in January and in my opinion it was too cold to use the pool, but i could see how it would have been great in warmer months. The spa would have been especially nice considering the desert night sky clarity, as the hotel respected light pollution. The hotel is right off the main road so I could hear traffic, but the noise died down later in the evening. The rooms were large and had new carpet and paint. I really enjoyed having the library/kitchen where I could grab tea or cocoa as I liked. I didn't like not having some fruit or breakfast in the morning, but kitchens are provided for an additional fee and there is a fridge and cutlery provided in the common area. Wifi services provided. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to the opportunity.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingersnap78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

We appreciate the positive experience that you had with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Harmony Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here the week of Thanksgiving while on a trip to see Joshua Tree. It was easy to find and though the decor might be a little dated, the room was very clean-which is what counts. I was under the impression that all the rooms had a little kitchenette from the booking site but our room didn't. The common room had a fridge and water available so it wasn't a problem.

We didn't check out the pool but there were people enjoying it and the hot tub. After a long day of hiking we slept well and were ready to go for more hikes the next day. We would stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabeinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Selected to be near the Indian Cove campground where tenting family and friends were partying, the Harmony motel was a pleasant surprise. Friendly greeting was followed by a tour room, pool, spa, common room with coffee, microwave and computer. All somewhat funky but clean and well cared for 50's style. Fun angle is the music stars U2 stayed during 1987 production of "Joshua Tree" album.

Room Tip: Unit #5 is spacious with two good beds and has a view of the pool and desert beyond.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoDudeSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again. Happy 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I stayed two nights at the Harmony for a girl's weekend getaway in a room with a kitchen. We could not have been more pleased with this charming property and Ash, the friendly owner. The tiled room was spacious, with plenty of storage space, and the high beamed ceiling was beautiful. The bathroom was tiny but the shower stall was quite large and the water was nice and hot once it got warmed up. The kitchen was a full kitchen with a sink, a stove, small fridge, and microwave. The common room was a great place to sit and have coffee in the morning and meet some of the other guests. The spa was nice and toasty after a day of hiking. I'd long been aware of the Harmony's connection to the rock group U2 (and I am a huge fan) but even that star-studded history became secondary to the charm of this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panamint-Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were just here for a night, but enjoyed it thoroughly. We received a warm welcome and felt very much at home. No coffee maker or fridge in our room, but both were available in the lounge. Very convenient to Joshua Tree National Park. Enjoyed stargazing from the hot tub!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seepayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Harmony for a little under a week, while we searched for a home in the area. I found the motel, after having already checked into the Best Western down the road. I went to The Harmony, took a look at the property, and spoke with Renee, at the front desk. Then, promptly went back to the Best Western and checked out, having only stayed there 10 mins of the 4 days we'd booked.

The rooms at Harmony are very spacious, and decorated like a home. So, we felt very comfortable there, none of the cookie cutter rooms you'll see in most motels/hotels . Relaxing in the hot tub & pool at night was great. It was never crowded, like you'd see at most places, and the night views were beautiful. Ash, the owner, and Renee, were very accomodating. I thoroughly recommend this motel, if you want privacy, great staff, and beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2. Full Kitchen
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

After riding from Las Vegas to Twenty Nine Palms in 110 + degrees, we arrived at the Harmony Motel. Five sweaty guys on motorcycles can get a rude reception from any hotel owner, but not Ash at the Harmony! She was absolutely delightful, gave us a tour of the property and was most welcoming. Three of us stayed in the Kerourac cabin, the others had a room. The accomodations were wonderful as was the pool. I don't know why someone would stay anywhere else. We laughed, sang & howled at the moon at the Harmony Motel! Thanks Ash!

Room Tip: Although close to the road, the Jack Kerouac cabin was very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing