We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My the best stay ever in twenty nine palms”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I just want to say thank you to ash and her help for the most pleasent stay, they made my son and i feel like family, i felt really safe and sercure their. The rooms are so cozy and roomie i have told alot of my marine moms about this place and they agree it is a awesome place to stay.If you have to stay in twenty nine palms their is no place like this place it was a wonderful stay THANK YOU From The Llilienthals

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the town.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patlil19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for Harmony Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 504 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I travel as part of his job so we have had our fair share of disappointing and scary experiences. We have been to all of the southern states this year and this was by far not only the best value but most comfortable. You hear of the cute homey mom and pop motels but rarely stumble upon them. This is one of them! The owner did not only check us in courteously and quickly but showed us around the property and to our room to be sure it was what we wanted! That was a first for us! It's nothing over the top but if you want a B&B feel but not pay a couple hundred bucks come here! What was just supposed to be another night at a motel turned into a cozy, romantic second honeymoon for us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikMackey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a great experience at Harmony Motel. The owner, Ash, was very kind and accommodating. The views are spectacular and the pool and hot tub were just what the doctor ordered after hiking and climbing in Joshua Tree. Worked on my screenplay and felt inspired, perhaps because this is where U2 worked on Joshua Tree!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to write this review. We are happy that you recieved
a happy and positive stay.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Harmony Motel after a day exploring Joshua Tree National Park and we loved it. It's an old-school, cozy motel with a great view over 29 Palms and a really relaxing atmosphere. Clean and comfortable with lovely people and reasonable prices. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I drove cross country from Rhode Island to San Francisco. This was hands down our favorite place to stay. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night before continuing on our journey but it was by far the most clean and comfortable location we stayed at. I will never forget its nice staff, relaxing outdoor atmosphere and using the pool/ hot tub under the desert sky. I am a huge U2 fan which is how I ended up at Harmony Motel, but with or without U2, this was a fantastic location. I was honestly teary eyed when it was time to leave!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are old, furnishing at least in my room was something you would find at a garage sale. The chair was about to fall apart, the shower was in the same condition, the DSL the owner has is super slow. Also it has more of the feel of a hostel then a Motel, the owner is always hovering around as if she does not trust anyone and that was really annoying. I am not sure how the other rooms are, I did got a good discount so I just might got the worst room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Here's an authentic motel in the old-school mode. It's not fancy, but it's comfortable and the owner, Ash, enhances the stay with warmth and good ideas for local activities and food. We were immediately attracted to its position on a hilltop as you drive East into 29 Palms. And that was BEFORE we learned the band U2 stayed here when they made their album, "Joshua Tree." Each unit has a lovely porch on which to sit and watch the desert, unobstructed by urban views. And it's within a few miles of Joshua Tree Park. Ash (whose family hails from Rajasthan) recommended Indian food at a place in town called (incredibly) Sam's Pizza. It's run by a family from India, and the Indian food offerings were much better than we would have expected in the middle of the desert. My only complaint is that the room decor is fussy and random, just like your Aunt Matilda's house. No sense of style, but then the price isn't trendy either.

Room Tip: Units farther from the road are quieter and have better desert views from their front porch.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Campbell House
Campbell House
#1 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
498 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing