We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite location on my cross country journey”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite location on my cross country journey”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I drove cross country from Rhode Island to San Francisco. This was hands down our favorite place to stay. Unfortunately, we could only stay one night before continuing on our journey but it was by far the most clean and comfortable location we stayed at. I will never forget its nice staff, relaxing outdoor atmosphere and using the pool/ hot tub under the desert sky. I am a huge U2 fan which is how I ended up at Harmony Motel, but with or without U2, this was a fantastic location. I was honestly teary eyed when it was time to leave!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    121
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
175
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are old, furnishing at least in my room was something you would find at a garage sale. The chair was about to fall apart, the shower was in the same condition, the DSL the owner has is super slow. Also it has more of the feel of a hostel then a Motel, the owner is always hovering around as if she does not trust anyone and that was really annoying. I am not sure how the other rooms are, I did got a good discount so I just might got the worst room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
335 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Here's an authentic motel in the old-school mode. It's not fancy, but it's comfortable and the owner, Ash, enhances the stay with warmth and good ideas for local activities and food. We were immediately attracted to its position on a hilltop as you drive East into 29 Palms. And that was BEFORE we learned the band U2 stayed here when they made their album, "Joshua Tree." Each unit has a lovely porch on which to sit and watch the desert, unobstructed by urban views. And it's within a few miles of Joshua Tree Park. Ash (whose family hails from Rajasthan) recommended Indian food at a place in town called (incredibly) Sam's Pizza. It's run by a family from India, and the Indian food offerings were much better than we would have expected in the middle of the desert. My only complaint is that the room decor is fussy and random, just like your Aunt Matilda's house. No sense of style, but then the price isn't trendy either.

Room Tip: Units farther from the road are quieter and have better desert views from their front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My teenage son and I chose this motel located in 29 Palms on a whim and our expectations were blown away. The owner, Ash, has taken this small, picturesque motel and truly made it a dream come true for travelers like myself. Everyone we met was extremely nice and very attentive. The grounds are very clean, the rooms comfortable and the pool/spa area was absolutely perfect. One would think that the water in the outdoor pool would be bath water warm, but it remains cold enough to take your breath away which consequently is perfect after hours of hiking in the hot, arid weather. For those who endure the hustle and bustle of stressful city living, this is truly an oasis that will melt away whatever stress or tension you bring with you. Unfortunately I will not be able to get back there soon enough but be back I will. Thank you to Ash and all of her staff for making this spontaneous trip memorable!

Room Tip: If available, request one of the rooms with a kitchen. It costs a little more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

All the charm of a B & B but more privacy. Drinking coffee on the private patio in the morning is heaven. The room was very clean and very comfortable, and all the bedding looked new. The staff really go out of their way to help you with anything you need. The pool area is wonderful, and sitting in the hot tub at night under the stars is magical. Very reasonable prices, with amenities you expect at more expensive hotels. This place is incredibly serene and peaceful. I highly recommend the Harmony Motel.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you are looking for, they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the detail that you provided follow travelers on the motels great upkeep, service and ambience. We hope to see you soon .

Thanks
Ash
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Harmony Motel. The highlight is the POOL! Sooo refreshing after a hot day in the park and surprisingly very clean. The hot tub was clean too but the jets don't work so it's like soaking in hot water(pump needs replacing). The grounds are well-maintained. My bedding was questionable. Sheets were old and pilled and one of my pillows was so old that it folded in half by itself. It should be discarded. My bed cover was torn and the blanket had holes. The good part is that the a/c is adequate to sleep in and the bathroom was clean and fine. No wash cloths are provided so bring your own. The common area comes in handy for getting hot water and coffee in the morning. The owner is pleasant too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool and the hot tub, and the grounds.

However there seems to have been some disatisfaction with some of the amentities due to a lack of communication to management.

The jets of the hot tub is in perfect functioning order, the jets are set on a timer, as some guest prefer using it and some do not, ( there is a sign at the spa that indicates this). If you had requested it be on to the a staff member on duty would have assisted you on this. You did request more towels and this was provided to you immediately. We are disappointed and apologise with your dissatifiaction on the beddings, if you brought this to our attention we would have looked into it immediatedly ( as your comfort is priorty for us ), unfortuanately you mislead us to believe that everything was perfect and you were very happy with the amentities, ( when our staff asked you if you were comfortable, you replied "yes very, love this palce").
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

DO NOT BOOK A ROOM HERE. DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD & FIND ANOTHER PLACE. What was supposed to be a nice birthday weekend get away for us turned into a disaster, thanks to the no-so-kind people at Harmony. We had booked our room 2 days in advance for our 1st night's stay in the Joshua Tree area, with our 2nd night at another local hotel. We received a call on the morning we were preparing to depart....car packed, children at their grandfather's...all ducks in a row. A message was left which gave no explanation, except that there was no room for us, even though at the time of booking it still showed 6 rooms open. When we called the hotel, the receptionist was flippant & rude, to the point of being mean. Though we remained calm, polite & patient as we attempted to determine why they had cancelled our reservations at such a late time, she ultimately said, "it's not my problem," and then she hung up on us. When we called back & asked to speak to a manager, she informed us that she was the manager. She would not give her name or that of her superior, nor any other person to which we might voice our grievances. Again she hung up on us. Because of the late notice, we were unable to find another room in the area for under $200. Our only recourse was to cancel our 2nd night stay at the other hotel for our 2nd night and stay in town. Of course, because of the late cancellation on our part, we were charged for the 2nd room. I think it is ironic that The Harmony requires 72 hours for cancellation to avoid a room charge, yet they gave us 5 hours notice and offered absolutely no consolation...no comp or discount for another date, not even an apology. Just a loud click & a dial tone. We were astonished that anyone could be so cold and unaccommodating, especially the person who calls her self the manager. Perhaps the fact that U2 stayed here 20 years ago has gone to their head, maybe they are unorganized, maybe they haven't properly trained their staff. That is not our problem, but alas, it became so. UNBELIEVABLE & UNACCEPTABLE. AVOID THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: We wouldn't know, we never saw the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve67G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
californiamanager, Public Relations Manager at Harmony Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear traveler,

Our records indicate:

You called at 11.30pm the night before to reserve a room, the reservations office was closed, you were ask to call in at 7am to make a reservation, however you went online and made a booking through the booking engine. At 6.30 am the next morning the front desk clerk, received the reservation and realized that the booking engine let to an overbooking. Because you were arriving that afternoon at 3pm, she immediately called you and left a message on your phone to make you aware of the overbooking, and asked you to call the motel.
You called back at 2pm,
1.The front desk clerk explained you that a glitch in the system let to an overbooking, therefore called you immediately less than 24 hrs from the time the reservation was made, to notify you.
2.That your credit card was not charged by the motel,
3.And she advised you of hotels/motels that had rooms; these motels have the same price and the same amenities as the Harmony. You refuse to take this option,
4.You put a friend on the line (that was not part of the reservation) and insisted on a two nights complimentary stay, when the front desk clerk explained to your friend that this was not the hotel policy as no charges was made to your card, and the hotel advised you of places in the area that had rooms available, that provided similar pricing and amenities, your friend began harassing her by constantly calling and insisting on a two nights complimentary stay).


Sorry we could not meet your demands and your friends (of offering you two nites
free as we are a small business of 8 rooms only), we realize that this is what
got you and your friend angry with the motel staff).

In this situation our staff ensured that you were informed on time, less that 24 hrs from the time that the reservation was made, and provided you with reliable information so that you could continue your travel arrangements.We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing