We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Harmony Motel: A Cool Place to Stay”
Review of Harmony Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony Motel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Harmony Motel: A Cool Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2008

This is a quaint, authentic, somewhat rustic motel along Highway 62, a mile or two west of the town of Twentynine Palms. The main entrance of the Joshua Tree National Park is located about 3 miles east of here.

I found the room, and the entire premises, to be clean and in good working order. The room is large with one king-sized bed with clean, comfortable sheets and blankets. There is a television and wi-fi internet access. Ash, the manager, was friendly and helpful, but not invasive at all (which can sometimes be an issue at small hotels). Every morning I enjoyed a cup of coffee (included in the price) in a small common kitchen and dining area, because my unit did not have a kitchenette.

It is no-doubt true that the shower is small, as has been noted by others. But it was clean and the water was hot (after a minute or two of warming up). It is also true that the hotel sits right along Highway 62 and there is a constant stream of traffic driving by. Almost all other motels here are adjacent to Hwy 62.

I highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers who want a more personal, unique experience as compared to, say, the Best Western just down the road. By the way, the price was excellent as compared to other motels in the area. If you want a place that is cool, and just a bit different than the norm, then stay here.

  • Liked — clean, rustic
  • Disliked — next to highway
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_Tucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    121
    28
    17
    25
See reviews for
98
175
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2007

When they called it "Harmony" they were not kidding. This place has a wonderful, relaxing atmosphere and a great energy. My plan was to stay 2 nights to see the area and visit the park and i ended up staying a full week. The manager is the nicest person on the planet. I had to move around because every day i went like "can i have one more night?" so i've seen 3 of the 8 rooms and they were all perfectly clean, spacious, nicely decorated and charming, some with kitchen. My first two nights i stayed at the same room where Bono stayed in while he was writing the Joshua Tree album with U2. How do you beat that, Best Western? Harmony by far is the best Motel in the whole area and a great deal, also because it has a stunning view and a beautiful, very clean and relaxing pool area and a nice common room with a fully equipped kitchen and free internet, wireless if you bring your notebook. If you plan to visit Joshua Tree National Park or are just on your way through, this is the place to stay. Bring time!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LAGuy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

The Harmony Motel was great! It's a small place -- eight rooms -- some with kitchenettes. Really nice landscaping. Room basic but very clean, comortable, and a good size. Free wi-fi, pool, hot-tub, computer room, kitchen area. The owner-manager is very friendly, and the rates are very reasonable. All in all, a great base for exploring the wonderful Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

The previous reviewers are correct. A charming independent hotel at a good price. Stayed for one night as I was visiting Joshua Tree National Park next day.
The owner/manager showed me around and advised me to keep the door shut to keep out the Desert animals. The desert is just feet away! The room was clean and comfortable and the pool area looked quite inviting although it was a bit chilly for sunbathing that day.
My favourite bit was the common area where you could heat up food, get coffee etc, and use the internet for free. The fast connection enabled me to send a few emails home, surrounded by photos of Bono and the band when they stayed here. A very nice alternative to all the chain hotels. Had to drive 5 minutes into town for dinner but found a great Mexican diner (I think called Edchadas).
A nice relaxing stay and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

Loved this place. A bit like a hostel, but without the aging hippies (truth in advertising: I AM an aging hippie). Immaculate; library / shared area (frig, microwave, computer access). Like staying with family, but not having to interact with them. Good-sized pool and hot tub with reasonable opening hours (don’t you had it when the pool closes at 6?). Welcoming Owner/Operator.

The room is tiled with carpeting over a lot of the tile, has TV, aircon, shower (no tub in our room -- #5)

Would definitely return to this property.

  • Liked — Over accessibility and services
  • Disliked — Close to street; some traffic noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott-Vancouver-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

This is a lovely and relaxing place. From the road it looks like any other roadside motel, but a wonderful surprise awaits the traveler who books here.

The rooms are comfortable and a perfect illustration of what a little paint and imagination can do with motel furniture. The setting is remarkable, just outside your room door is a stunning view of desert and mountain.

The pool is clean and comfortable and a welcome respite after driving through the hot desert.

The management is friendly and accomodating; there is a common area kitchen and library and a computer for guests to use. There is also free WiFi for guests (ask for the password).

And of course, the price is right!

All in all, we loved our stay here and would love to return someday. If you stay at the Harmony Motel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Comfortable and relaxing; great setting.
  • Disliked — Tiny shower.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TBGBoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

The title of the review says it all: Clean, Comfortable, and Friendly.

Yes, the shower/bath is small. But it's functional, and that's really all that matters. Certainly, one can't be expecting a five-star experience. This is a quaint throwback to the old days of roadside motels.

One exceptional thing is that the proprietor took the time to actually walk us around the place to show us everything -- our room, the common room with free Internet, the kitchen, the pool area, etc. -- insteady of merely telling us about it and expecting us to wander around ourselves.

There seemed to be only one other room occupied during our stay. So it was great that in the evening, we were the only folks out by the pool. It felt like our own private getaway.

The only suggestion is that they install an electrical outlet in the bathroom.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank meyerinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.6 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Motel

Property: Harmony Motel
Address: 71161 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#4 Business Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#5 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harmony Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Motel is less than two miles away from the headquarters of the historical Joshua Tree National Park and is just one mile away from the trailhead entrance of the landmark 49 Palms Oasis, one of the five oases of the National Park. At Harmony, guests will find themselves just minutes away from rockclimbing and hiking excursions in and around Joshua Tree and Twentynine Palms. The motel is less than one mile away from the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps (USMC) military base and is less than two miles away from Sky's The Limit, the local nature observatory. The motel offers competitive and affordable rates for a home away from home stay in Twentynine Palms. The motel has eight units. Five units have full kitchenettes, and one unit is a cabin -- a great option for guests looking for more of an AirBnB vacation rental accomodation with privacy. The rooms are simple, warmly decorated, and large with high ceilings. Each room comes fully furnished and equipped with heating and cooling units. Motel guests have access to a large refreshing swimming pool with an adjacent hot tub/jacuzzi that allows beautiful views for stargazing under the dark desert skies. The Harmony Motel has a library that provides free Internet service, books, and magazines. Adjacent to the library is a common area in which guests are treated to complimentary coffee each morning. Guests may also access this area to prepare your own light meals as utensils and appliances are provided for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Harmony Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Twentynine Palms
Harmony Motel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing