We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2006

This was our first time at a Holiday Inn Express and being a chain we expected the usual bored staff and tired rooms but were very pleasantly surprised. The staff appeared very happy in their work and were extremely helpful with recommendations for dinner, and with directions for our onward journey which turned out to be quick and on scenic, quiet roads. They also offered us apples, cookies and coffee on arrival.

The hotel's location is just a short drive away from the centre of town but there are plenty of places to eat and one which gives a 10% discount if you show your room key.

The room was newly decorated, clean and with everything you would need for a short stay. (Lots of coffee for the coffemaker ) . The bathroom was the cleanest I have ever seen, absolutely spotless! The only downside was that we could hear the airconditioner next door fairly loudly but not enough to warrant us changing rooms. Overall though a great first Holiday Inn Express experience.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nutnose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2006

We have stayed at this fine hotel several times while visiting our daughter & son-in-law (a marine in 29 Palms). They all treated us like family and went above & beyond our expectations. This hotel is spotless inside and out, and the pool & jacuzzi were most inviting - to say the least.
The hotel manager is the finest example of "making his guests feel important & comfortable"! We can only hope to go back there just to vacation, since our marine has completed his tour and they're back in IL with us.
P.S. The hotel was almost finished with the construction project, however, we were not bothered by it at all! Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Yooper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

A disaster - which we ended up having to drive away from after several hours.

We specifically picked this hotel as it seemed convenient for the Joshua Tree National Park which we wanted to see, whilst touring from LA to Las Vegas. After visiting many National Parks in the US over the years, and finding them awesome and inspiring, I must admit to being pretty disappointed with Joshua Tree, but not nearly as much as I was in this hotel.

We had stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in LA and were very pleased with it, and had the expectation that with a large chain like this we would find very similar rooms & facilities (it seemed that way from the web).

When we arrived at our hotel, about an hour after check in time, we were surprized to see the amount of activity in the car park with several lorries with literally dozens of beds being unloaded from them. We were advised that our rooms were not ready yet and it we waited for a few hours they would "probably" be ready. The hotel was undergoing a significant re-build/refurbishment and was replacing all the beds - hence the number of them in the car park! We had initially assumed that our room "not being ready yet" meant it still had to be cleaned - we were wrong - it still had to be built!

We were very upset whilst waiting to find out that others came along and made a fuss and got their rooms ahead of us. There was a young lad on the reception desk by himself as all other hotel staff were involved in getting the beds out of the car park and into a clean part of the hotel where they could be stored. This was a tad difficult as there weren't many places that didn't have a half inch of dust on it as they were in the middle of knocking down walls as part of the refurbishment. The lad on the desk was way out of his depth and basically responded to whoever shouted the loudest - as we were on holiday we took the more "laid back" attitude - at first. We were eventually so hacked off that we did the same as others and voiced our displeasure, at which point we were given our rooms, which were right next door to the refurbishment which was going on - with workers literally taking the room next door to us apart - there was polythene screens partially across the corridor but it didn't keep the dust, mess or noise out. I am asthmatic and had specifically contacted the hotel beforehand to ensure that I had a smoke free room - this was 10 times worse, the room was not habitable - and the guy at the desk agreed with us!

We ended up deciding to hit the road and drive onto anywhere else along the road on the way to Las Vegas, ie where we were ultimately heading, which was annoying after spending several hours waiting for our room and trying to keep 4 kids amused. It wasn't even possible to use the pool as there was some work going on around this.

This hotel should definately have been closed to the public while this refurbishment was being carried out - at the very least there should have been a warning given either at the time of booking (which was several months before) or when they actually had the work schedule confirmed.

I would not recommend this to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scottish-Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
montgomery, al
27
Reviewed February 6, 2006

This is by far the best hotel in 29 Palms. It is clean unlike several other places I have stayed. The staff is very polite and helpful. The room was outstanding and had every ammenity available. They offer free breakfast in the monring, heated pool, fitness equipment, and free wireless and LAN internet connections. This place is great and worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

This hotel is great; the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is great. Free internet... And the price? Fantastic. Really loved this hotel!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank matthijst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

This is an excellent hotel. We love the Holiday Inn Express chain and this one is one of the best! Very new, and room was immaculate. Better furnishings than most. Nice pool and spa. Business center with computer that actually WORKS. Chocolate chip cookies at check in. Very nice helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2005
6  Thank fuud_kritick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
316
Reviewed May 4, 2005

This is a nice hotel for visiting family and friends of Marines stationed at Twenty-nine Palms. It is very clean, quiet and has a nice pool area. The staff is wonderful and will spoil you with home baked cookies, but be quick, because the aroma of those cookies baking encourages hording. The breakfast is very good. The breakfast area includes plenty of tables, newspapers and a large TV.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
106 reviews
0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua Tree/29 Palms
Americas Best Value Inn - Joshua...
#12 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park

Address: 71809 29 Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-2067 (Formerly Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $90 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn and Suites Hotel in 29 Palms, near Joshua Tree National Park is situated in the heart of the city, you will be just minutes from Joshua Tree National Park and the 29 Palms US Marine Corps Air Ground Combat Center. Ask our friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff about local dining and nearby attractions! Our eco-friendly property provides a fresh, clean room for a good night’s sleep; a nice, hot shower to wake you up and a complimentary breakfast to jump start your day. You can even connect to your friends and family with WiFi or hi speed internet access when you stay with us. After a long day at work or play, take time to unwind in our heated swimming pool or hot tub. Or simply enjoy the tranquility of the beautiful desert night while meeting other travelers around our fire pit. Our new On-site Restaurant is open Monday through Wednesday for dinner and features a different chef's special each night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 29 Palms Twentynine Palms
Hotel 29 Palms Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing