We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent oasis and launching point for trips into Joshua Tree NP”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
South East Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent oasis and launching point for trips into Joshua Tree NP”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in late August, and found an excellent place to spend each night. Very peaceful. Stayed in the Oasis Room, which is right out front. Easy to get to (park right in front of the room), and a large, well air-conditioned space. While it was too hot to enjoy much of the outdoor spaces here, the pool and hot tub were very inviting after a long day taking in the sights of Joshua Tree National Park.

Gary and Jan were very nice. Sammy, the dog, was friendly, and I even got to see an owl!

The drive up is pretty deceiving because you are in the middle of the desert, but once inside the Roughley Manor compound, it's a whole different world.

Room Tip: In case of rain, be aware of alternate routes to the property, as Joe Davis Dr. will flood. El Paseo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhiggins5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
237
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Only managed to stay one night on the way from the Grand Canyon to San Diego but will definately be coming back. We stayed in the Cholla Room which was wonderfully furnished and had all that we needed. We were met by Gary who made us feel very welcome and, with Jan, served an amazing breakfast. The pool was a lovely way to spend a few hours cooling down after the long drive and we then relaxed in their beautiful grounds - a true oasis in the desert! One night was just not enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PMK6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This bed & breakfast is actually situated in an oasis of palm trees right in the middle of the desert! Just that alone was unique, but there's more. We booked The Farmhouse, one of two pet-friendly units. We were pleasantly surprised to find that it is a separate little cottage, which was formerly a real farmhouse. It was located near the corner of the property and that provided a nice sense of privacy. All the attention to detail made for a wonderfully comfortable stay. And the delicious breakfasts were the cherry on the sundae. The property is large enough to include a pool and plenty of areas to walk around without really bumping into the other guests. My dog loved it there because she was able to walk around without being leashed; there was no one else around. It's a testament to their high standards of cleanliness that I could not guess that ours was a pet-friendly unit. The owner, Gary, was a charming host and instantly made us feel welcome. All in all a wonderful stay. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: The Farmhouse is one of two pet-friendly units. This one is a separate unit. Don't know about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhcbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was finally able to return with my wife this time. I knew what was in store, but she had never had the privilege. She was having a hard time picturing how the desert could be beautiful and enjoyable. We had a cottage and spent time walking the beautiful grounds and investigating the landscaping and curio displays. The rooms are luxurious, spacious, and beautifully decorated. The owners' attention to detail is amazing. I don't think it makes sense to go the desert and spend the time doing the same things you would do anywhere else. We passed a couple of hours in simple relaxation on the porch in the surprisingly comfortable adirondack chairs while watching the colors change through the sunset. On the thermometer it remained hot, but in the shade and after the sunset with the evening breeze it was just perfect. We felt we had the whole place to ourselves although we did count several parked guest cars. I love this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randybump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had spent a very hot day hiking in Joshua Tree National Park and needed a bit of pampering. Roughley Manor was perfect. Gary was a fantastic host. Sitting and enjoying the stars at night, a great bungalow by the pool and a superb breakfast. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stillkickingToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had planned a tour to the USA for our silverwedding, and planned to stay at Roughly Manor for 2 nights. It had looked so well at their homepage.
Approaching the place we were a little sceptic. Could there be such at nice place in the middle of nowhere??
The answer is YES. Jan and Gary has created the most wonderful place where we had a phantastic time. Delicious breakfast - nice and VERY clean room (Cholla) - great service - wonderful garden where there were lot of places to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lundager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I remember my arrival with my family at Roughley Manor. Still sitting in the car, my brothers asked me if this was really our hotel, and standing at the front desk, we were already considering to stay longer there than we had planned. Gary and Jan were very friendly, the main building was very nice, the garden gorgeous and the rooms beautiful. Everything was made with love for the detail. The breakfast was absolutely amazing! I've never stayed in a hotel or bed and breakfast like this and I would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
610 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing