We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Our Expectations: Fabulous, Charming, and Peaceful”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Roughley Manor is a very special place, owned and managed by the friendly and pleasant innkeepers, Gary and Jan.

We had a wonderful two-night stay at this lovely oasis in the desert. The rooms and cottages are spread out among the desert landcape, pretty patios, and beautiful rose gardens. The Oasis, the Palms, and the Cholla are situated in a triplex next to the main inn. They have semi-privated patios. Nearby is a duplex where the Museum and Pinto rooms are located. Behind the triplex is one of the single structures called the Farmhouse which has a private patio shaded by huge trees which are occupied by at least one of the "famed" Great Horned Owls. Next to that are the Sunrise and Sunset cottages which have patios that look out at the serene desert. The Pool Bungalo and the Cottage are next to and behind the main inn. As described on the web site, the main inn has two rooms, both of which are located at the top of the stairs on the second floor.

We stayed in the very spacious and stunning Cholla room which was casual, yet elegant, with traditional, country, and Victorian accents. It had two queen beds with sumptuous bed linens, a comfortable sofa, loveseat, overstuffed wing chair, flat screened TV, plenty of storage and drawer space, a microwave oven, refrigerator, glassware, dishes, (real china) utensils, and a coffee pot. The bathroom was very pretty with many special touches.

I had the opportunity to see many of the rooms which all seemed quite spacious. They varied somewhat in size and in decor. (traditional, country, elegant) Even though, they were all different, they all were inviting and lovely. I would be happy to stay in any of them. You might consider view and bed size when making your request. Most have a queen bed. There is one with two queens, and a few with with kings.

All the garden areas are so inviting. The rose gardens were in bloom and were spectacular. There is plenty of comfortable seating everywhere. There are tables with umbrellas, benches, upholstered chairs, and lounges.

The "Great Room" in the main inn has comfortable sofas, books, and game tables. It also serves as the dining room where the delicious breakfasts are served. The tables are set elegantly and the food is presented beautifully. The first morning we had a yummy cheese, cranberry, and sausage strata, served with melons, orange juice, and coffee. The second morning, we had a delicious serving of peach and praline french toast with bacon, orange juice, and coffee. If you have dietary restrictions, let Gary or Jan know ahead of time. I saw them honor three different substitute requests, one for a fruit plate, one for no cheese, and another for dry cereal. Tea, coffee, and cookies were available all day in the dining room.

I highly recommend the exceptional and delightful Roughley Manor. This inn exceeded our expectations, and we are looking forward to returning for another relaxing get-away.

The Sullivans

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VacationingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 509 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

This week my husband and I made our third trip to Joshua Tree National Park and stayed yet again at the Roughley Manor. And we'll go back again, if for no other reason than because it's such a delight to spend the night at this pretty B&B! For some reason it reminds us of an old stone farmhouse in the French countryside--not what one might expect just a stone's throw away from the park and Twentynine Palms. There are lots of trees and flowers on the grounds and places where you can sit outside and enjoy that.The rooms are all very nicely appointed with beautiful bedding and plush towels. It's worth it to spend a little more and get one of the larger rooms like the Palms--truly spacious, with overstuffed chairs in the living area, as well as a pretty kitchen area with bar-style table and chairs for morning coffee. There's also a pleasant sitting area/"porch" outside this room. And the breakfast area in the main building is just lovely--white tablecloths, fireplace, mellow music--and great food. The owners are as nice as can be. Best of all, the Roughley Manor is an amazing bang for the buck.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms with a king-size bed. We've stayed in the Palms and the Oasis, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The grounds are lovely and very well kept, the people just as lovely. Out next stay will be longer. Their breakfast was a wonderful way to start our day hiking in Joshua Tree. The availability of cookies or snacks was appreciated. I have sleeping problems so their very comfortable beds were a great welcome.

Room Tip: our south side room was marvelously sunny. Our friends had a great corner room near the edge of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Roughley Manor seven separate times for a total of almost two months. It is, without question, my favorite place to stay around Joshua Tree. Gary and Jan are wonderful hosts who look out for their guests and have always made me feel extremely welcome. The people who work there are wonderful, as well, and will go out of their ways to accommodate special requests, like breakfasts to-go at 6 am. The breakfasts in the dining area look like works of art and taste just as good as they look. I have stayed in five different rooms and they have all been beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. My favorites are, however, the ones that look out into the desert.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sleepytime_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

From the time you arrive till the time you depart you're treated like family. We stayed in the Oasis room. It was spacious, clean and well appointed. Gary, one of the owners, very graciously assisted my mother and I when we discovered a problem with our rental car. We had a nail in our tire. Gary personally contacted a local tire company and told them of our situation. He gave us directions to the shop and also let them know we were on our way there. They were expecting us when we arrived and repaired the tire immediately at no cost to us. My Mom and I had a most pleasant experience staying at Roughly Manor. Gary truly treated us like family and highly recommend Roughly Manor.

Room Tip: Oasis room spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billiepearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We traveled to 29 Palms with friends from Iowa and both couples spent two nights there. The rooms are all unique and very comfortable. The grounds are native desert plants with many lovely sitting areas with comfortable chairs, swings, and loveseats outdoors. We anticipate returning to just rest, read and "be." The breakfasts were outstanding and they are willing to share their recipes. Several of the suites are "pet friendly." We stayed in the "farmhouse" and our friends were in the "museum." Roughley Manor gets an A+ from these two professors (retired).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We are so glad we found Roughley Manor for our first visit to Joshua Tree National Park. From our first view of the grounds and the manor house, we knew this was a special place. We have stayed in many lovely B and Bs over the years, but this has to rank at the top. The hosts were charming, welcoming and helpful, the breakfasts were stunningly delicious and our rooms were impeccably appointed. At the last minute we needed to add an extra night at the beginning of our stay and, lucky for us, Jan and Gary made that happen most conveniently--so we got to enjoy the Magnolia as well as the Campbell Suite. There is so much to do close by in 29 Palms and the Park, but be sure to schedule time to enjoy staying on the grounds of this one of a kind oasis.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
453 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
324 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms near Joshua Tree National Park
Rodeway Inn & Suites 29 Palms ne...
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $153 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing