We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwile a trip”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthwile a trip”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

We can keep it short: Gary and Jan Peters still run thein B & B as if they just have started. There is absolutely nothing to complain, they have thought of all the details which make an extended stay so unforgettable. We are from Germany and have travelled extensively in many countries so we feel competent to say the Roughley Manor is not only in the top league in the United States, it would also be it in Europe.

  • Liked — Difficult to single out an area
  • Disliked — That one has to leave it
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klear11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    32
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
237
22
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This is an absolutely wonderful B&B located just outside Twentynine Palms, CA. Everything about the place was absolutely first-class. The rooms are well-appointed, with comfortable beds, a good LCD satellite tv, quiet heat and a/c, and high quality linens and towels. It is very quiet, and located on beautiful grounds. We sat outside our room in the afternoon and evening, and it was absolutely silent. At night, with the windows open, the only thing you could hear was an occasional coyote (I am not making this up). The main dining room has several impressive antiques, collected by the owners in 30 years of military travel. The owners were very pleasant to chat with without being intrusive.

  • Liked — beautiful location
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank W0nka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My girlfriends and I booked the weekend to relax and get rid of stress. Three of them are teachers and the other three are retired. We could actually feel the stress "drain" away during the 3 day stay. The breakfasts were a culinary treat and Jan and Gary, the innkeepers, add so much to the ambiance of the experience. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms are each so well appointed and individual, it all makes you feel so special. I almost don't want to share my enthusiasm because everyone will discover this treasure.

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertgal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We have a group of 16 woman who stayed here for our annual Spring Hiking Getaway. The hosts of this BB, Gary and Jan could not have been more accomodating or gracious in making our long weekend a HUGE success! The rooms are beautifully decorated by Jan who also gathers edible flowers every morning from her garden to garnish the delicious breakfast. The grounds are inviting and relaxing and yet a little stately with outdoor swings and gazebos and even a resident owl family inhabiting one of the great trees. Conveniently located just outside the Jtree National Park's northern entrance, Roughley offers amenities also attractive to hikers such as refrigerators and a jacuzzi and pool. While there, you might also want to check out the nearby murals on Adobe St. and the Crossroads Cafe.

  • Liked — personal touch
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegas
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed three nights at this exotic bed and breakfast. The innkeepers bent over backwards to ensure our stay was pleasurable. The accomodations were clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were elegant,healthy and delicious. It's location near the entrance to Joshua Tree was very convenient.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank hounddogvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We had given up on B&B's--meager breakfasts, creaky floors, chintzy decor--but this one is exceptional. To begin, the grounds are like a little oasis in the desert, with a ring of tall palms to keep the place cool. We stayed in the Museum Room a little away from the main courtyard (part of a two-unit cottage), which due to its stone walls stayed cool during the day. Private (with its own bath) and nicely appointed, with a skylight directly over the bed. We enjoyed petting Sammy, one of the two friendly dogs belonging to the owners. The breakfast was divine--fresh fruit, a kind of fritatta with sausage, cranberries, and melty cheese, and perfectly toasted English muffins. We definitely plan to book here the next time we come to Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Liked — Very comfortable room with seating area and kitchenette
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Roughley is very cute and very well located for a trip to JTNP. My husband and I spent the past weekend there and were quite happy with the stay. We stayed in the Sunset Room, which is very cute -- my only complaint is that it lacked a dresser and as I love to unpack I was relegated to the bedside table. I did like staying in a stand-alone structure, although the main house was very nice (at least what I saw of it from the dining room). I had limited interaction with the owners, but they seemed very friendly and hospitable. The town itself isn't much to speak of and I preferred the town of Joshua Tree, as it seemed to have a bit more going on in terms of restaurants and night life -- but, again, Roughley is so well located for touring JTNP and so charming I would def. stay there again were I to return to the park.

ps. The place is much cuter than it looks from the photos on its website (not that it doesn't look cute but it was much better appointed than we were expecting).

  • Liked — Location to JTNP
  • Disliked — Distance from anything other than JTNP
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hashtaginfluencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
610 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
306 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing