We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Escape to a desert oasis”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent two nights in the Magnolia room upstairs in the main house, surrounded by comfort and elegance, I felt like royalty in that canopy bed. The owner's attention detail in furnishing, accessories and amenities are beyond anything you can imagine. The breakfasts are 5 Star masterpieces that exceed expectations. I've also stayed in the Farm House which is charming and quaint. The grounds are spectacular especially now decorated for the holidays. This is magic in the desert. Can't wait to go back and relax and enjoy myself. Jan and Gary are so friendly and personable, you feel comfortable the minute you pull up to the front gates. Love this place!

Room Tip: Look at pictures on their website, every room is fabulous, pick one that suits your taste, you won...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabs_hoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Campbell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 498 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been to several bed & breakfast inns throughout the United States and I can honestly say The Roughley Manor is one THE BEST! This is my second visit and I have already booked my stay for May 2013. The rooms are beautifully decorated and I would use the phrase "sleeping on a cloud" to describe my slumber here. The morning meals are more of a culinary delight than a basic breakfast. Be sure to ask Jan (the owner) about the history of the manor. Very interesting!

Room Tip: Rooms inside the manor are suites with lovely sitting areas separate from the bedrooms.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlygurl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We spent three nights at Roughley Manor in the Farmhouse room.
The property is lovely, our little separate "cabin" was spotless, and the food (breakfasts) were divine. It was great to have space of our own but still have all the comforts of an inn right there.
I can see returning here and just relaxing for days.
We used Roughley Manor as a base to go into Joshua Tree National Park and hike each day. One of the park entrances is just a few miles away making it more than convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Roughley Manor is a beautiful oasis in the dessert town of Twenty-nine Palms and an ideal location for exploring Joshua Tree National Park. Our cottage was very comfortable, decorated in historic style (it even had an antique phone on the wall) and a wonderful place in which to relax after hiking in the park. The breakfast was excellent - it changes every day and ours was gourmet French toast - as was the overall service. The grounds around the Manor are worth a visit themselves and Joshua Tree is a very unique, first class National Park. We highly recommend Roughley Manor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The oasis in the desert, the place to come to rest completly. Very good service, even helped with booking another place when they were fully booked. Also good after sales service: they let us use the swiming pool, even for 3 days after we left! Hard to find a copy of this place. Recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulienHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous long weekend at Roughley Manor. The accomodations are 5 star and the food is gormet! The location is unique in 29 Palms and the grounds at the Manor are peaceful and relaxing. We are looking forward to our next visit - can't come soon enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great base for exploring Joshua Tree and surrounding area. Beautiful and spacious room (we stayed in the Oasis Room) and property. The mattress was a little too soft but that's a personal preference. Good water pressure and temperature. Breakfasts were fantastic - not the waffles and scrambled eggs of chain hotels but rather very interesting dishes by a gourmet. Our host was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Park on the left side of the Oasis room to keep your car in cool shade from the hot desert morning s...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timezoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twentynine Palms hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
630 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
278 reviews
2.3 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#10 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Address: 74744 Joe Davis Dr, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-4802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range: $146 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Roughley Manor, this historic desert inn returns to its roots, honoring Bill & Elizabeth Campbell, the original homesteaders in the 1920's. Step back in time and experience old-world charm at this historic desert inn, located minutes from Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert, California. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the historic Colonial style house, and ten suites and cottages on the surrounding property. What began as a modest homestead property in 1925 has been transformed over the years into a modern day desert oasis, with twelve spacious and luxurious guest suites. Unlike anything you'll find in the Mojave Desert, The Campbell House is a Philadelphia style Colonial house built in the late 1920's by early homesteaders and renowned archeologists Bill & Elizabeth Campbell. Set on 25 secluded acres, surrounded by towering Washingtonia fan palms and lush gardens, The Campbell House property offers a peaceful retreat, where you can experience the quiet and calm of the open desert. Discover Joshua Tree National Park, experience our breathtaking starry night skies. Rejuvenate with a massage, followed by a dip in the pool or hot tub. Find some shade and unwind in one of our many gardens, or play a game of bocce ball with the kids and reconnect. The time is yours. Choose from two guest suites on the second floor of the main house, and ten cottages on the surrounding property. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, pool and hot tub access, and on-site massage therapy. Rooms are spacious and elegantly decorated. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Direct TV. Select rooms are pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roughley Manor Hotel Twentynine Palms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing