We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good portions, something for everyone”
Review of Carousel Cafe - CLOSED

Carousel Cafe
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good portions, something for everyone”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate breakfast here, both having the Spanish Omelette with biscuit and gravy. Yes, you read that correctly. The side bread was biscuit and gravy (yum)!
Service was fast and friendly. Food was filling before we went hiking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    26
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
“The carousel”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Being one of the only restaurants in town, we decided to go there.
And since it was almost thanksgiving, the place was empty.

We came in and were welcomed by a really sweet lady.
She provided great service and the food was really good!

Definitely a place to go, even when there's no one there :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A ROUND PEG IN A SQUARE HOLE”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This cute little coffee shop is, literally, in the round. Well, octagonal might be more accurate. Just down the street from our motel on the main drag in Twenty Nine Palms, it has plenty of parking and one of the friendliest waitresses imaginable. We had breakfast and not only was it huge, but it was excellent, too. The place was packed to the gills with what appeared to be mostly regulars, since our waitress seemed to know most of them by name. We would definitely recommend this place!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Diner”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

With one exception I do not think that Twenty Nine Palms is somewhere to go for high end dining. However, the Carousel Café came recommended from my Hotel and all in all it was a fine experience of a classic American diner/restaurant.

This is not a sophisticated place, it has a large menu with all the normal and popular dishes. The portions are large, the prices very reasonable and above all the service is warm and attentive. The variety of patrons in the restaurant from young couples, families to older folk spoke of a venue that meets a wide variety of needs.

I had the burger (when I doubt always have the burger in an American restaurant you have never been to before) which was above average without being outstanding but served with abundant sides and I was more than full by the end of my meal.

The lady serving on the evening I was there always had a lovely smile and helped to lift what in many ways is an average diner (the lighting is very bright, giving a somewhat soulless ambience) into a pleasant location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybristol12555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food at good price”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Hearty meals, cute place and friendly waitress, who handled large crowd by herself with a smile and cheerful personality. Worth a try as a great local family place. Soup was great, entree were tasty, , side veggies were so so.

Helpful?
Thank azgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel Cafe also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing