We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about Bulgarian Hotel standards”
Review of Grand Hotel Riga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riga
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ruse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Don't be confused about the three stars. This hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in Bulgaria. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was clean. The decorations were very good. The room was very spacious. There wew 46" LCD with 130 channels. We took superior room and it was worth every penny. There was a seperate aircondition in addition to the standard heating system. The Danube river view from the window was outstanding.
Panorama Restaurant at the top was perfect. The prices were low but the meals were delicious. The staff at the restaurant were very kind and professional. The breakfast was also very good.
The hotel is very near to city center. There is no parking problem at the hotel.
I think hotel manager personally deal with us. It was a five star hotel experience.

Room Tip: I think 9th floor is for the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oguzcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed there on a business trip, thank heaven it was only for one night! Very good location, great view over the Danube river. According to the reviews apparently there are renovated and non-renovated rooms, of course mine was non-renovated - dingy, dusty and very depressing, I guess untouched since the communist era back in 1985. The bathroom was also awful. Disgusting experience, horrific squalor. Never again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaiIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I spent just one night at the hotel, but I am impressed with the design, spacious rooms and great view to the Danube. Very polite staff. Breakfast looks rather modest and does not correspond to the overall good impression.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you go there - choose renovaated room. The hotel is old and many of its rooms are awful.

The staff is great though and the restaurant with the garden near the river is amazing.

The breakfast is full of many delicious food.

Room Tip: Choose renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in on Danube river, i suggest absolutely to book the Superior Room: fabolously renovated and big, with a beautiful view on the River. (I paid 50€)
The personnel extremely kind and professional.
Panorama restaurant on the highest floor, offers an interseting and delicious menu with really affordable prices. Waiters really professional and gentle.
In Ruse is a must to go there.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Gregg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The receptionist was very attractive and very pleasant and we were upgraded on arrival to a premier room. The building was an old communist era concrete block that had been well upgraded. The bedroom has a vast arrange of goodies including more fresh fruit than could be eaten.
Then came the next morning! - Do management ever look in bathrooms? No plug in the sink, tap control knob floating around in the breeze, bath waste so blocked the water didn't flow away from a shower for over fifteen minutes. The breakfast selection was good but the black tea wasn't, the hot food wasn't (cold scrambled egg and bacon is pretty revolting) and I don't know what relationship the orange juice ever had with an orange but it certainly wasn't that intimate.
And then check out - why are check out staff the opposite of receptionists? Need I say more - unhelpful and demanding.

Room Tip: View from the ninth floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is situated at the end of the pedestrian zone on the bank of the river. Currently it is in the process of rejuvenation. The luxury rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I had a superb view towards the river. Since the hotel was almost empty there was a problem with hot water. Excellent breakfast except for the juices which are pure chemistry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariel1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ruse hotels
0.3 mi away
Dunav Plaza Hotel
Dunav Plaza Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ruse
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#3 of 10 in Ruse
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anna Palace Hotel
Anna Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ruse
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid Ruse
Hotel Splendid Ruse
#8 of 10 in Ruse
21 reviews
3.3 mi away
Teodora Palace Hotel
Teodora Palace Hotel
#9 of 10 in Ruse
7 reviews
12 mi away
Seven Generations Winery Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riga

Address: Pidunavski blvd 22, Ruse 7000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Ruse Province > Ruse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ruse
Price Range: $49 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riga 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Riga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing