We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little museum”

National Museum of Transport and Communication
Ranked #7 of 28 things to do in Ruse
Attraction details
Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is a lovely little museum. When we arrived the door was locked and we had to ring for entry. We had the museum all to ourselves and were shown round by a friendly, knowledgeable and English-speaking guide. The museum is only small but has an intersting selection of old trains including the royal trains of the Ottoman Sultan and two Bulgarian Tzars. There's even a handcar you can have a go on.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachael_Bramber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track .....”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

An interesting place to visit, whether you like old transport or not. There is a small entry fee, and you may get asked for a few leva for a photographic permit too. The rail exhibits have changed several times between our visits (see http://www.phoenixwebhosting.co.uk/bgtm/index.html) but there's a good mix of steam, more modern locos and carriages. Don't forget to visit the displays in the station museum too, but don't expect a gift shop or catering.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank evo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We visited the museum on a Saturday afternoon. Rang bell on door as prompted and was greeted by friendly Bulgarian lady who showed us around the museum and it's exhibits. She was very good at explaining everything, especially in English! The museum had some steam trains and old carriages which were totally amazing! We were able to get inside the carriages and also have a go at the pulley car thingy! It was very hands on. Overall a great experience for somebody who is in Ruse had an hour or two spare - in my opinion an interest in Trains is not necessary to enjoy this museum although I am sure it would help. Just visit anyway and have a good time.

Helpful?
6 Thank MellowActually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing - not to be missed”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

On a hot May afternoon we turned up and rang the bell (appointments not necessary). The guide came down and let us in and showed us round with limited but easily enough English language skills. The old station is interesting with clear display (though captions are all in Bulgarian.). The whole tour is very hands-on, so we were able to sit at the station-master's grand desk and take photos. There was substantial British involvement in the development of the Bulgarian railways, so UK visitors like us recognise the picture of the Rocket as well as the Manchester built engine outside. Outside the engines and carriages are awe-inspiring. We stood in the engine driver's place and drove a railway workers' trolley car. The Sultan's carriage is very grand, including the seats for his harem in an adjacent compartment. The Emporor Franz Ferdinand's carriages are fantastic and we sat on his bed and felt the luxury.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank David186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great place for train fans”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It's a little bit hidden in the city park, on the Danube riverside, and the trains there are a little bit rusty (because of the low maintainance and budget, I guess). However, this is a unique place to visit, and you can get onto old locomotives, trains and wagons as well as make some photos there.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank BORIME4KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Transport and Communication also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Transport and Communication? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing