We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Despot Slav
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Time Out(Sandanski)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Motel Elegance(Sandanski)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Sokol Hotel(Sandanski)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Eros(Sandanski)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
9
21
9
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
21
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe staff were friendly and helpfulhot waterwet roomfireplaceatmospherekettleinternet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 49 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited Despot Slav again and I am happy with my choice.
Good food, nice and english speaking staff, perfect location. The only thing I would complain about is breakfast - very basic, but you can always add something from the menu and pay extra.
Internet do not work in the higher floors, just on the first one and in the lobby.

Room Tip: Please keep in mind that there is no elevator. Room on the top floor (7,8,9) have a nice roof windows and balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is nice in traditional style. The rooms are adequately good getting you in the old atmosphere of the smallest town in Bulgaria. The food is delicious, the wine perfect. The staff is really friendly (they found us transportation to petrich and Rupite (it was not so easy to do).
There are several thing which should be improved but for 2 nights it does not make such a big difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odessos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

For me the best choice in Melnik - good price, very friendly, english speaking staff and good food in the hotels restaurant. I stayed in Despot Slav four times and I will come back again.
The only disadvantage might be quite poor breakfast (that changed, last year you could choose type of breakfast, this year all you get is kind of continental one - bread, butter, jam, piece of white cheese and piece of ham).
Still I would recommend the Despot Slavs restaurant for dinner.
Rooms are clean. Apartments are spacious.The Hotel has two parts - new and old, I would recommend the "new" one - as the rooms in this part are better.

Room Tip: You might not be able to sleep well with the open window if you choose your room is just above the restaurant or overlooking the street (main one in Melnik)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel Despot Slav is an extremely quaint and historically atmospheric hotel in fascinating Melnik. We simply loved this place. Though it doesn't have the same level of informality as some of the family-run hotels we stayed at, the rooms were adorable and extremely clean, the food was delicious and the location was great. We'd recommend it to anyone visiting Melnik!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got one!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Was looking forward to staying here but ended up disappointed with our visit.

Good points:
On arrival, greeted by very helpful lady on reception who checked us in and explained times for breakfast. The room was spacious and nicely decorated - the bed was very comfortable.

Bad points:
The room was not cleaned throughout our 4-night stay - the toilet paper wasn't replaced and we had to ask for more. The food in the restaurant was very average. Maybe it was a very quiet time of year but there was no professional service on the main reception desk except for our check in. Don't stay on a Friday night if you want an early night in - the music was extremely loud!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fieldfareCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews