We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights in the magnificent Melnik” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Despot Slav

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Despot Slav
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 nights in the magnificent Melnik”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is nice in traditional style. The rooms are adequately good getting you in the old atmosphere of the smallest town in Bulgaria. The food is delicious, the wine perfect. The staff is really friendly (they found us transportation to petrich and Rupite (it was not so easy to do).
There are several thing which should be improved but for 2 nights it does not make such a big difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odessos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

For me the best choice in Melnik - good price, very friendly, english speaking staff and good food in the hotels restaurant. I stayed in Despot Slav four times and I will come back again.
The only disadvantage might be quite poor breakfast (that changed, last year you could choose type of breakfast, this year all you get is kind of continental one - bread, butter, jam, piece of white cheese and piece of ham).
Still I would recommend the Despot Slavs restaurant for dinner.
Rooms are clean. Apartments are spacious.The Hotel has two parts - new and old, I would recommend the "new" one - as the rooms in this part are better.

Room Tip: You might not be able to sleep well with the open window if you choose your room is just above the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hotel Despot Slav is an extremely quaint and historically atmospheric hotel in fascinating Melnik. We simply loved this place. Though it doesn't have the same level of informality as some of the family-run hotels we stayed at, the rooms were adorable and extremely clean, the food was delicious and the location was great. We'd recommend it to anyone visiting Melnik!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Was looking forward to staying here but ended up disappointed with our visit.

Good points:
On arrival, greeted by very helpful lady on reception who checked us in and explained times for breakfast. The room was spacious and nicely decorated - the bed was very comfortable.

Bad points:
The room was not cleaned throughout our 4-night stay - the toilet paper wasn't replaced and we had to ask for more. The food in the restaurant was very average. Maybe it was a very quiet time of year but there was no professional service on the main reception desk except for our check in. Don't stay on a Friday night if you want an early night in - the music was extremely loud!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldfareCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melnik hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Mono County, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

The Despot Slav is accurately rated as 3.5 stars. Like seemingly every else we stayed in Bulgaria, the facilities were exceedingly clean -- the smell of bleach and cleaning agents seemed to greet us in every hotel and restaurant WC we used. The hotel/inn is located about half way up Melnik's street. The room was very basic -- the TV did have CNN, nothing else in English. There was no wifi or wired internet, but Melnik is reportedly the smallest town in Bulgaria, and it is not so easy to get to, so not having internet was expected. The WC in the room was old-style -- the shower and toilet are not separated. The wiring looked dodgy, but there was ample hot water.

The restaurant at the Despot Slav was very good. The mixed salad plate was huge and delicious. The stewed pork was out of this world good. The restuarant prices were quite low, but I thought the hotel price was a bit high, even at the off season rate of about $70. I do understand that being in the middle of nowhere makes it harder to do business, so it was not completely out of line.

Overall, a good place to stay when visiting Melnik, which is a neat little town with lots of old buildings and some good trails for gaining the ridgelines and getting some killer views of the beautiful surrounding areas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauchocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

Hotel Despot Slav is situated in Melnik, a quiet, picturesque village in the Pirin mountains close to the Greek border, a few miles off the main Thessaloniki - Sofia highway. The hotel is in the traditional style though constructed only a few years ago, fitting well into the general rural character of the village. You can drive down the rather dusty unpaved main street to the hotel, but on the first occasion it can be a bit disconcerting as you wonder if you’re about to run out of road. The alternative for the less adventurous is to leave your car at the entrance to the village.

Spacious room was more than adequate, with wooden floors and carpets, though water overflow from the bathroom – shower without shower base causing water to go everywhere – has left water stains on the bedroom flooring.

Picturesque restaurant, though I’ve had better meals elsewhere in the traditional “Mehana” garden restaurants

Good value – room was Eur 20 including breakfast. Dinner, including wine Eur 9 per person

Helpful?
6 Thank Gerald-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Elli Greco Hotel
Elli Greco Hotel
#9 of 18 in Melnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toni's Guest House
Toni's Guest House
#11 of 18 in Melnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chavkova House
Chavkova House
#1 of 18 in Melnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bolyarka
Hotel Bolyarka
#7 of 18 in Melnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mario Hotel
Mario Hotel
#12 of 18 in Melnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Melnik
Hotel Melnik
#2 of 18 in Melnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Despot Slav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Despot Slav

Property: Hotel Despot Slav
Address: Melnik 58 59, Melnik 2820, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Melnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Melnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Despot Slav 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the beginning of the new millennium Despot Slav Hotel start working in the ancient Bulgarian town of Melnik. Gritty towers and pyramids eroded in fantastic shapes, modeled by the wind surround the town in all directions. Its name originates from them, 'mel' means a sandstone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Despot Slav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing