We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“refurbishment needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee
Iwade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“refurbishment needed”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have stayed at Sun Parks many times in the past but this time we were very disappointed as the villa we had was very tired and the bathroom smelt despite being their top villa. My father and brother who came with us had their own villa and their bedroom was damp and smelt very musty. They are both disabled and there is not even one villa on the park that is adapted for the disabled which i find disgraceful in this modern age of equal ops especially the fact that in England we follow these laws put in place by the EU, and the place these laws are passed is Belgium and that is where we stayed lol.

Room Tip: Don't go if your in a wheel chair as it wont fit through the narrow doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    549
    243
    97
    50
See reviews for
901
121
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Ignore the complainers, some people are never happy. If you want good value accommodation, easy access to a clean sandy beach, lovely flat cycling and plenty of interesting places to visit, this is the place for you. Ok, the accommodation was basic, so was Center Parcs when we stayed there, for four times the price. Yes, the onsite catering is expensive and limited but there are dozens of restaurants at the beach, with varying price ranges and styles to suit everyone from pizzerias to high class local specialities. Plus some good cheaper ones in Nieuwpoort. If you like cycling, there are hundreds of paths, even if you don't you might be persuaded as it is so safe and easy here - I'm definitely a flat path cyclist! If you like a nice clean beach there are miles of sand to play on, with a wide flat prom for cycling, walking, skateboarding, with seats all along it and pretty plants. If you like sightseeing, there are endless options: WW2 sites - Dunkerque, La Coupole, le Blockhaus (highly recommended), the Atlantikwall at Ostend; if you like chocolate, good food and canals, Bruges is a must; Ostend for sailing ships (Mercator is great value); there are theme parks if that's your bag. Plus of course, the big draw for families of Aquafun - hours of entertainment to be had here. I really would recommend this place for families. Particularly during May half term when Belgium is still at school and the value is astonishing. Really, I don't know what more people want for the money. It's easy to quibble but we've had three great holidays here. When we had a maintenance issue last year, we advised reception on our way out for the day and it had been fixed by our return. The park is clean, low-key and well located. Half an hour from Dunkerque - get a lunchtime ferry and the kids can spend the afternoon in the pool, a popular start to a family-friendly holiday. For younger kids there are several outdoor play areas, an indoor soft play, mini golf. There is a spa for Mum, if she needs to get away from the family, a fishing lake for Dad. There are video games if you're that way inclined and even a mini bowling alley. You can get a day pass for the tram and get off and on all along the coast. There is also a barbecue built into the outside of the chalet, racks from reception and everything you need for that in the onsite supermarket. Give it a go, but don't tell too many of your friends. We like it slightly undiscovered by Brits!

Room Tip: You can pay extra to choose which chalet (of the type available) to stay in but we have found all lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
4 Thank JuniperJ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good accommodation but note that most activities other than swimming are not free (typically about 13 euros). We found the site noisy at night time although the staff tried to sort this out for us. Swimming pool is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The park is very attractive. The houses are simple but clean. Staff all very pleasant. Overall the houses could do with updating but we enjoyed a very good week. Very reasonably priced which helped. Lots of space for children and pool would be excellent for kids. No UK TV and no WiFi in houses which is limiting.



Room Tip: Go for exclusive house. This is simple but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank IsabelH-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Highly recommended for a short family holiday and not far from the French ports. Easy to get to Bruges and Brussels plus very close to the beach but plenty to do on the site. In addition the beer in Belgium is excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank nednettoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

You've got a kid-safe park, great swimming and playing aquafun and the beach just a few minutes away: walk, cycle or drive. The houses aren't all that great, no frills, but it's a fun place and we enjoyed it. Have been going for years and will definitely go again (and again).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs

Helpful?
Thank Lilimuhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Yes, this place is a more budget option. And the standard is not up to Center Parcs in the UK. But so long as you know that, you won't be too disappointed. We stayed in a 4 bed chalet and were 4 adults and 5 small children. We stayed there over the Easter weekend.

The accommodation was fine. Very basic, but clean and more than suitable for a short stay. The staircase was a open wooden spiral staircase which seemed very dangerous for the toddlers, but other than that, the chalet fitted requirements.

The swimming pool was very good. And the baby pool was also great, with a two small slides. It was also nice and warm. The indoor soft play area was amazing. Huge, and loads to do. Our kids stayed for hours. There were a couple of outdoor play areas too, which the kids enjoyed.

Most of the time the children just enjoyed scooting and riding their bikes up and down outside the chalet, which we felt safe enough to allow them to do freely. The kids enjoyed the space and relaxed environment.

We ate indoors every day so I can't comment on the restaurant. The little shop is not adequate, so you will need to travel to a supermarket for your food.

The downsides - many of the chalets in Sun Parks are privately owned. In fact, these are entirely based in the central locations and surrounding the lake. The chalets available for rental are the ones around the edges of the park. So you will have to walk quite far to get to the swimming pool and reception area each time. But it was nice that the park was not too busy. Even in the swimming pool and play areas.

It's only a quick drive from the tunnel. So it's not too difficult to find, and it's near the beach. It is good value for money. Quite basic. Nicely located, relaxed, with enough entertainment for small children.We would go again.

Room Tip: If you are bringing your own bed linen, bare in mind that all the beds are single. So if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostduinkerke
1.2 mi away
Hof Ter Duinen
Hof Ter Duinen
#1 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alberthotel
Alberthotel
#2 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sandeshoved
Hotel Sandeshoved
#2 of 8 in Nieuwpoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#6 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cosmopolite
Hotel Cosmopolite
#1 of 8 in Nieuwpoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee

Property: Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee
Address: Polderstraat 158, Oostduinkerke 8670, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostduinkerke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Oostduinkerke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunparks Oostduinkerke An Der Nordsee Hotel Oostduinkerke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing