We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ageing properties beginning to disappoint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ageing properties beginning to disappoint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having been to Sunparks 4 times in the past 5 years, the age and minimal maintenance of the properties is becoming evident. The lack of investment in the properties is a shame as the family really enjoy the facilities offered by the park. In addition to the swimming and tennis etc, you can cycle down to town and spend an afternoon on the sandy beach, drink coffee in the lovely cafe's or even do a bit of retail therapy in the many boutique shops. All enjoyable apart from when you get back to the villa.

This year the dinning chairs 2of 4 had ripped seats. The bathroom had no over flow plug in the bath just a big hole, so once the kids had their normal post swim bath, we had to spend the next 10 minutes mopping the floor!!! The stairs to the mezzanine bedrooms had a couple of cracked/broken steps making the climb down in the morning slightly precarious.

I would like to say we will be going back next year, as the park is head and shoulders above the expensive uk based centreparcs, but if try properties are not looked after this year we will not be going back again and would advise those with small children to think carefully about going as there are many sharp or cracked edges which could cause harm to the small fingers and toes.

Sunparks management, you have been advised, please put the investment back into the accommodation and get the park back to where it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miami6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    533
    235
    95
    49
See reviews for
877
111
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have read some further reviews and would just like to say that we have been visiting Sunparks for over 10 years during which time it has changed hands a few times.
On our first visit we where given a very nice booklet (which I should have kept) it gave all the evening markets and local attractions and was in English. As the years have gone by the information has got less and less which means that travellers are not informed and are missing out on local attractions.
I am not a fluent foreign language speaker and I think it is a curtesy to visitors to help them find out about local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentGranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been a few times at it offers good value for money during Feb' 1/2 term when you have young kids and there is no doubt that my kids have enjoyed staying there.

However, it's now looking very tatty and the cottage we had had far too much mildew in both the bedrooms and bathroom.

The staff, I must say, have always been excellent and this time round it was no different.

We won't be returning as the kids like the look of some of the Dutch parks but it has been fun watching my kids use the waterslides.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Casual_Tailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just got back from our fourth visit. Not been to this site for two years however and some things have changed for the worse, as KentGranma says the English TV channels have been removed and the communal areas have not had the same level of refurb investment as the villas. Some things are starting to look shabby again and the one area of big investment, the spa, isn't actually run by the Sunparks empire and certainly isn't cheap!
The team managing Burger Express do need a lesson in the processes of 'fast food', last Friday lunchtime they continued to only cook to order despite at one time there being almost a dozen queued in the pool area and more in the cafe part, this lead to a wait of over 30 minutes.
The car free park idea is great but with so many privately owned properties within the park with their own parking areas there are still enough cars moving around to make it important to keep an eye on little ones, they certainly cannot be let run loose and with no fences around the play areas supervision is still needed.
Having said all that the park is still really good value when compared to similar in the uk and has all the benefits of being in Belgium with sight seeing and local delicacies. The pools and other Aquafun areas are great, clean and are plenty warm enough as is the dome generally.
Whilst I agree there isn't widespread use of English in signage or leaflets it is after all not England and there are plenty of English speakers to make up for our lack of our interest in learning other languages and we've yet to meet anyone not willing to help or assist.
Don't however expect a non-stop programme of activities or entertainment, that only happens in during the local school holiday periods and even then will seem low-key to those expecting things to do all day.
The location is perfect as a base for both inland and coastal trips out however. Not quite close enough to suggest walking to the closest tram stop but only a two minute drive gets you access to this fantastic transport medium that can take you to Ostend and the shops, Blankenberge and its pier or as far as Zeebrugge and its sea life museum. Jump in the car and Bruges or Ipes are easy attractions to visit.
Don't expect the polish of a uk Centerparcs, accept that entertainment is best made by yourselves and the pool complex will absorb most of your time if you take kids and you will have a great time! We know we do which is why we've booked to go back for the Christmas week!!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool complex villas in zone 4 are best but are closer to the bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsblood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been twice now. The pools are great, wave machine, whirlpool, outdoor pool with jacuzzi type section, slides which are great for adults too. 7 adults and 5 kids ages 12 down to 3 had a blast, real good safe fun had by all last June.

Food is very repetitive but plenty of it. Buffet style, you can choose our own food to cook on the skillets at your table which is fun, every other day. large selection at breakfast, continental plus freshly squeezed orange juice or chocolate milk.

Large indoor bar area, outdoor park and large indoor soft play area. You can hire bikes, most of the park is safe for biking as the car parks are at the far end of the park. A big lake I between the chalets and the main campus which you can fish on.

It is worth upgrading and paying extra for a better chalet, you get all the mod cons, 2 toilets and shower rooms as well as a sauna room! The cheapest chalets are very very basic but still a whole lot better than Pontins chalets! They are clean and amenable, staff are very friendly and helpful and all speak good English.

There is a good shop on site for groceries, wine and beers as well as souvenirs and swimming gear. Not all that far from Bruges which is an amazing city and a must see. Fab architecture, cafes galore, Belgium beer stores not to mention Belgium chocolate houses. The horse and carriage rides are very expensive but worth it and give you a good tour of the city.

The local beaches are vast and calm, lovely soft sand. Very quiet in June.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I normally go here in the summer and its good, went this week and found that the TV which has always had English channels only has Belgium French and German programmes, which is not good for a night in with the fire lit in the winter.
Also the restaurant only serves the expensive buffet meal in the evening and snacks some of the day, the opening hours of the Tavern vary every day and its difficult to know what is going on as the signs are not in English (feels like English tourists and discouraged).
The central heating only works if when people are in the room so the houses can get cold at night.

Room Tip: Join the select club then you can pick a house
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentGranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have visited this park on three occasions. The general areas do need updating but the park itself is great. You can park the car and not use it again. Hire a bike (or take your own) and it is a short cycle to the sea front and of course the Izer river. Lots to do if you want to and it is close to Dixsmuide and Ypres for WW1 battlefield touring. Lots of stuff for families and the swimming complex is excellent.
The chippy on the road near the swimming complex is good value and the mussels are particularly good.
Check days for the markets - you can get good fresh food. Also evening market which visits a new village each evening.

Room Tip: Try and pick a house on the edge of the park near the water tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gramps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oostduinkerke
1.2 mi away
Hof Ter Duinen
Hof Ter Duinen
#1 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alberthotel
Alberthotel
#2 of 5 in Oostduinkerke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casino Hotel
Casino Hotel
#1 of 6 in Koksijde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cosmopolite
Hotel Cosmopolite
#1 of 7 in Nieuwpoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#6 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee

Property: Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee
Address: Polderstraat 158, Oostduinkerke 8670, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oostduinkerke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Oostduinkerke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunparks Oostduinkerke Aan Zee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunparks Oostduinkerke An Der Nordsee Hotel Oostduinkerke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing