We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenhof Hotel Semmering
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Semmering
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night. I apparently arrived half an hour before the official check in time which was met by much eye rolling and huffing by the surly female receptionist. Literally everything I asked was too much of a problem, staggeringly poor customer relations compared with nearly everywhere else in Austria! My room was tired and a little depressing, although on the upside there was a nice balcony with lovely views. The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and the road is not suitable for a walk into town. Coach parties seemed to be the most popular guests. I went around the hotel exploring and found most of it to be dark and quite bleak, especially the 'fitness area' which consisted of three low quality cv machines in a corridor. The pool was also a little sad and uninviting. Regardless of cost this was way too bleak for me.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Futureboyhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

To be frank I do not understand the below reviews. We were in this hotel for a week and were fully satisfied (my husband, 2 children and me...). We will go back next summer.

Advantages:
- my children were really happy there (children playground, swimming pool - water 29 C, lot of children in their age, so they were able to find friends very fast)
- from my point of view the food was OK, not a five * in Turkey of cause, but you can choose, it was repetitive, but we stayed there 6 nights and were able to choose everyday,
- beautiful view to the scenery,
- friendly staff (all of them Slovak or Czech, most of them speaking also Hungarian...),
- possibility to make a lot of trips.

Disadvantages:
- from my point of view the cleanliness in the hotel (f.e. the hairdryer in swimming pool was so dirty that I was not able to use it... fortunately there was another one, much more cleaner...)
- no cooking during the day (you can eat only mornings and evenings...)
- very small rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeloverSlovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The staff are v grumpy with the exception of the man who drives the courtesy bus who is very accommodating. The rest of the staff need serious training in basic manners and hospitality. Food is average and staff seem intent on turning over the tables so if you don't pay full attention, your plate will be taken away before you are finished!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agceltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here in August as we were going to a wedding. Finding the hotel via GP in the dark was a task eventually we saw the sign. We arrived late (11.30pm) and they were closed as we knocked until we were tired as we couldn't get a signal there. We did tell them we might be late and they said to phone 10mins before. We eventually checked in and that went well. The room was basic but clean and was OK for the two nights we needed it. It was nothing special but the reception staff was very helpful. Hotel located where there were some breath taking views of Austria. Supermarket is about 5mins drive to the town so overall not bad for a stop over.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fourandfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Let's start with arrival. Address is valid only in some navigation units (not in garmin city navigator 2012.10 or bmw navi). Ok, thats not hotel fault, but its strange that navi guides you to Steinhaus (yes, same as city in address on webpage) which is 5km far away.
Rooms are little bit different as displayed on photos (smaller). Equipment is old but functional. Restaurant and service is below Austrian standards. Don't expect anything more than fast food quality.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Alpenhof is about a mile from Semmering ski fields and not walkable. The hotel appears to be aimed at Czech travellers or families. A Romantic trip it wasn't. The rooms are basic, no tea/coffee or bottled water. No hair dryers - wet hair in the snow doesn't do it for me. Breakfast & dinner are included but on restricted hours. Aside from that, there are no food or drinks available between 10am & 5pm. If you are vegetarian like me, well good luck. Think of it as a detox. The sauna is not free. 20 Euro for an hour. There are no massage services available. Other hotel services are efficient, sometimes with a smile. The hotel serves its purpose, but without a car you are reliant on a taxi. Wouls i recommend to others -yes and no.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLAT1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank lenka110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semmering
1.5 mi away
Sporthotel am Semmering
Sporthotel am Semmering
#3 of 4 in Semmering
49 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Marienhof
Hotel Marienhof
#1 of 1 in Reichenau an der Rax
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panhans Grand Hotel
Panhans Grand Hotel
#2 of 4 in Semmering
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hotel Schneeberghof
Hotel Schneeberghof
#1 of 1 in Puchberg am Schneeberg
50 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 12 in Semmering
32 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hubertushof
Hubertushof
#7 of 12 in Semmering
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Hotel Semmering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel Semmering

Address: Am Alpenhof 1, Semmering 8685, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Semmering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Semmering
Price Range: $59 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Hotel Semmering 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel Semmering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing