We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Zurs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thurnher's Alpenhof
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Zurs
Reviewed April 2, 2007

This is simply the best hotel in Zurs. The food is divine, (better than Zurserhof in our opinion), staff are friendly and efficient. Ski guiding by Roman is great fun and he knows all the best mountain restaurants! If you are staying in Zurs this is the place to be!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 68 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2007

Positive:
- It has a good restaurant with perfect service.
- Rooms are very nice but also rather small for a 5star

Negative:
- it is not a Leading Hotel of the World as they're website says, it is only a Small Leading Hotel of the World.
- they say it is a ski-in and ski-out hotel. It isn't. You have to carry your skis 50 m.
- the pool faces a parking lot and has only 3 chairs, that were always occupied... There are some other chairs to rest at the spa which is downstairs.
- the fitness isn't really a fitness center (it's only 3x3 m). There is space for max. 2 persons
- the hotel is not nicely situated, it's on the main road to Lech. Most rooms get road noise in the mornig, from trucks and cars heading to Lech.
- we payed 600 Euro for a standard room, which is definetly to much for what you get.
- one of the staff at the reception was hopeless. She couldn't even recommend a mountain hut for lunch in Lech. The other one was very nice but wasn't often there when we asked for something....

For that price you get much better value at real Leading Hotels of the World as for example the "Les Airelles" in Courchevel or the "Palace" and the "Kulm" in St. Moritz or the Cristallo in Cortina we have stayed in past years. Those hotels were all at least 2 classes above the Thurnhers Alpenhof.

In Lech and Zurs we would next time try the Zurserhof which has a great terrace and is a real ski-in and out and off the main road. In Lech the Almhof Schneider, the Post or the Krone might be worth checking.

This hotel is ok if you are only looking for a familar athmosphere whith a good and nice restaurant with good food and service.

If you look for a 5star with a real spa and fitness and like to ski-in and ski-out. You will be disappointed, if you go there.

Stayed: March 2007
14  Thank Agnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2004

Zurs and Lech have been by far the most wonderful place I have ever skiied in my life. These sister towns linked by a 5 minute free bus ride offer everything an intermediate skier could want and more. We stayed in the Thurnhers Alpenhof Hotel. I have never experienced the level of service we were given in a 5 star hotel in my life (I have travelled across the globe for my job for 10 years now). When you check in they immediately know your name - as does every member of staff in the hotel. The first time we went to the bar they referred to us by our names. The staff to guest ratio is wonderful and they fuss and pamper you the entire time you are there. Nothing is too trivial a task for them and they bend over backwards to make you happy. The best thing by far about the Thurnhers Alpenhof Hotel is that not only is it a wonderful ski holiday, it is a gastronomic holiday every day. Each evening you are greated by a team of somaliers .. pastry chefs .. and expert waiters to a 5-7 course culinary masterpiece. The cheese cart alone is enough to make you cry after a hard day skiing. Breakfast in the morning is amazing as well and it is difficult to make a choice between the table of hams and meats .. . an omelette chef ......the fruit table ... a table full of so many different types of breads it is staggering. Then there is tea and snacks in the afternoon - you could just eat yourself into nirvana there. My boyfriend and I had to limit ourselves at breakfast and eat only salads at lunch so we could savor the amazing dinners and not gain 5 kilos. The hotel is decorated in a tasteful understated way with persian rugs everywhere. The resort is understated and not flashy. Our only disappointment about the hotel was that it is listed as ski-in, ski-out and it is not. The lifts are both about 200 yards from the hotel and as they are both uphill - you can't ski to them. You can ski down to the hotel. Some rooms have balconies, but the way the hotel faces only one side has good views unfortunately. This didn't turn us off as we loved it so much we plan on returning next year and got engaged there as well.Overall the resort has wonderful snow conditions and usually has great snow since it is very high. Lech and Zurs have been criticized as not having enough restaurants on the mountain .. I have no idea why. There are amazing fun restaurants both in Zurs, in Oberlech and in Zug. We loved the fun Palmenalp, all of the wonderful sun terraces in Oberlech, and the Trittalp for lunch. We often skied down to the Lorunser Hotel for lunch which has a beautiful sun terrace and is less crowded than the others. For apres ski I can't say I've had more fun than I did in the ice bars in Lech. In a nutshell Lech is a pretty postcard Austrian town - I would stay there any time and the slopes are not as narrow and difficult as Zurs. Lech has a reputation as being the "family" place to stay and there are more people buzzing about. I found it very pretty and romantic and would stay at the Arlberg Hotel if we stayed there - it seemed beautiful. Zurs has more challenging slopes and has far fewer people and hotels. It doesn't have as pretty of a town as Lech per say - but if you are staying in Zurs you are not worried about such things. You will then be staying in a hotel that makes things so comfortable for you that you don't want to leave it. The best nightspot in both towns is in Zurs called the Zursel .. .but we never made it out. We were far too comfortable sitting in the beautiful bar by the fireplace at our hotel sipping on our after dinner drinks to leave. the only thing I would say about both towns is that this resort is for families and couples only. I would not recommend it to my single friends as it is very expensive and there are few singles. It definitely is more expensive than Verbier or any place I've ever skiied in the U.S. - but the fact that it is never crowded is worth it. There are rarely queues for the lifts and finding a beautiful place to have lunch in the sun is easy. My fiancee and I thought it was worth every penny and plan to go back every year as most people do once they've skiied there.

22  Thank Eastsussex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Direktor482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LW0109, Inhaber at Thurnher's Alpenhof, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Дарья Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank DariaVanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Schnoerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zurs
0.2 mi away
Zurserhof Hotel
Zurserhof Hotel
#4 of 14 in Zurs
81 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#10 of 14 in Zurs
32 reviews
2.8 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#3 of 53 in Lech
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alpenhotel Valluga
Alpenhotel Valluga
#5 of 14 in Zurs
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arlberghaus
Hotel Arlberghaus
#1 of 14 in Zurs
133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aurelio Hotel
Aurelio Hotel
#48 of 53 in Lech
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thurnher's Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnher's Alpenhof

Address: Zuers 295, Zurs 6763, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Zurs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Zurs
Price Range: $617 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thurnher's Alpenhof 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dream of a perfect winter come true!Winter at the Arlberg has many faces: You can look forward to the silence of a descent through the deep snow; the warmth of a crackling log fire; the culinary pleasures of gourmet cuisine; and the relaxing atmosphere of an evening in the piano bar ... and everything framed by the welcoming hospitality and comfort of Thurnher's Alpenhof.Thurnher's Alpenhof is a place where you can simply relax and enjoy yourself: extravagant, luxurious and of incomparable charm. Here you will find a unique combination of family tradition, country-style luxury and international flair.Leave your everyday routine at home; your stay at Thurnher’s Alpenhof will be a winter’s fairy tale. Thurnher's Alpenhof has been in the possession of the owning family for 47 years; with its 14 rooms and 24 suites it is one of the most exclusive addresses in the Alps. We are a true winter sports hotel and we look forward to welcoming you from early December to mid-April each year! We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thurnher's Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thurnher`s Alpenhof Hotel Zurs
Thurnhers Alpenhof Zurs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing