We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveler rating
24
2
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 28 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Sporthotel Lorunser is really truly a special hotel. It's been run by the same family for years, who dine discreetly in the hotel with all the guests. Everyone is so friendly and the food is top notch. I am surprised they don't have a Michelin Star! The cheese buffet alone is awesome. The Hotel has the feeling of a private home. I understand completely why many guests stay for several weeks and return year after year. I want to go back!! Even though the hotel is in Zurs, which is rather small, Lech is just a 7 minute ride away by bus and the buses arrive every 10 minutes, so it is very convenient too. The spa amenties too are wonderful, and all the rooms very cozy. Staff are not only friendly but very helpful (from the people in the Ski Tony shop) to the waiters and waitresses and those behind the desk. We were with family, but it would be suitable for couples too as the setting is so romantic, especially in the restaurant. It was the best holiday ever!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londonjerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great Place in the midst of the slopes. Gigantic food, superb massages, friendly staff, Good Service. Laid back atmosphere, very sportive Clients. A Kids room for all ages, climbing Wall, Ping Pong etc. Very "Alp" Design Pool area. Our Kids love the bubble baths! Wellness with Sauna and Steam Bath Reserved for adults.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the Hill side, as the Street can get noisy early in the morning. Third Floor for best views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've stayed at seven different hotels in zurs. It's our favorite ski spot. The Loruenser has been our pick for the last 5 years. It is luxurious but with a quiet friendliness and generally younger and less stuffy crowd than at some of the other five stars in town. The food is amazing and oh those outdoor ski lunches on the terrace. I guess if after five years I have nothing negative to say they have it just right.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having visited Zurs for many years, I decided to stay at the three top hotels in Zurs for variety. Bentleys (Private Chalets,still the ultimate) was not an option as I was travelling solo. The Lorunser Hotel owned and run by The Jochum family was my first stop.Not having stayed there before I was extremely happy with the five star service and facilities. Zurs 2012 had the best snow for about 10 years, but the heavy snowfalls caused the Flexen Pass to close.The Lorunser somehow learnt I was on the Arlberg Express bus to Zurs and arranged a Hotel room at St Anton until the pass opened. Personal attention and care certainly typifies this Hotel.
The dining room provided excellent food with an inclusive 4 course lunch. However service in the dining room on occasions was possibly more 4 star, due to more eastern european staff rather than Austrian or German staff who are butler schooled. Made some hilarity to dinner.
Since Zurs is essentially an off piste skiing speciality place, night life is more about enjoying the five star facilities,a great dining room and mixing with the other international guests.
The Lorunser was a part of my best ever skiing holiday
Lorunser like most of the top hotels in Zurs are booked year to year with Lorunser having one of the highest rate of return guests.
To fully appreciate off piste skiing a private guide is essential as the Arlberg is high alpine.
The excellent ski school provides excellent tuition otherwise.

Room Tip: If single request a larger single room facing north sunny side.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skidog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The Loruenser Sport Hotel is far and away the best ski resort hotel we have ever stayed in. It has that combination of good location, good property, personal service and excellent food – all the necessary ingredients to make a success.

For those of you who don’t know, Zurs is one of a group of skiing towns in the Voralberg Land in Austria which, together with Lech, St Anton, St Christoph and a couple of other towns make up the Alberg skiing area. Zurs is higher than the rest and is also in the centre, making it relatively easy to ski both Lech and St Anton. However, Zurs is fairly quiet: if you want serious après ski night life, Lech is the spot.

On arrival, we were greeted warmly by one of the owners, a member of the Jokums family. Ski passes and a ski guide were organised without fuss. We had a large room with a substantial sitting area, separate dressing room, second toilet and separate entrance hall. The housekeeping staff are extraordinarily efficient: they see you leave for breakfast and immediately make up your room. They same happens with turn-down when you leave for dinner in the evening.

The rates are full or half board, so dinner is included. The hotel keeps an excellent table. If you can eat it, there is a five course dinner every night, consisting of entree, soup, main course, cheese and dessert, with there always being two choices for the mains. The food is very much five star, French/international (with some local Austrian specialties) and is of a very high standard indeed. The kitchen delivers variety: one night, entree was an Italian antipasto buffet, on another night, there was a huge dessert buffet, and on another a magnificent cheese buffet. The staff were extraordinarily helpful: with our wine waiter, we worked through a full range of Austrian fine wines while we were there.

The minute you arrive, all the staff seem to know you by name, despite the fact that the hotel accommodates 140 guests. You never have to sign a bill for anything. On one night, the owners host a cocktail party for the guests in the bar – a great opportunity to meet other guests.

Après ski at the Loruenser followed a pleasant pattern for us: first a visit to the day spa for a swim in the heated pool and a Jacuzzi (there are two) – two saunas and a steam room are also available. Then we’d read books and have a sleep before heading down for a drink at the bar at around 7.30 pm, followed by dinner at 8 or 8.30 pm.

The Loruenser is as good as it gets for this kind of hotel. It caters well to families as well as couples. It’s quiet, restful and very well organised. The only group which it doesn’t suit are young ones looking for a party.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews