We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family ski-holiday destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arlberghaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arlberghaus
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Zurs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family ski-holiday destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Zürs is a place for ski addicts, who want to combine the exclusive atmosphere of this 4- and 5-star-hotels-only-village with one of the best skiing resorts in Europe. Arlberghaus is one of the few hotels of this size and standard, which is a true family-run business, meaning that a very personal atmosphere and a lot of attention to detail is provided from check-in to dinner and with all activities offered, such as ski excursions or wine tastings.
Some of the rooms are rather small, but still good value for money.
As a family, we have been there plenty of times (last stay December 2011) and the food quality (breakfast buffet, 5-course dinner) as well as the service level have always been on an excellent level.
You can ski-in-ski-out for the Zürs area and a public bus service every 10 minutes right in front of the hotel is provided to Lech and St. Anton. In the lobby there is a convenience store (the only in Zuers). You can buy an Arlberghaus membership, which provides an attractive discount on all consumption (inkl. drinks), pays off after a couple of days already.
I can recommend the place wholeheartedly without any reservations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Alberghaus Jan 27 to Feb 4 2012 and enjoyed my stay immensely. The staff is attentionate and the service is impeccable. The food was of good size and very good. The pizza at the restaurant at lunch time was really good. Every detail is there for the skiers in the region. I have no hesitation is recommanding this hotel to any guest. The Eggar family will take excellent care of you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are in the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreTremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just come back from staying at the arlberghaus hotel in Zurs. We were on a skiing holiday, with friends who had recommended the hotel and the hotel was perfect. Food was half board with great breakfasts and 5 course dinners which were fantastic, just as well we were skiing! The hotel is right next to a ski hire shop and you can ski in and out of the hotel. if you want to go to Lech you can just hop on the ski bus which stops right out side the door.
The staff in the hotel were really friendly, it is family run which always helps, but the rest of the staff were so helpful. The rooms were well fitted, lovely bathroom with shower and great storage space in the room which is important for skiing. All in all would totally recommend this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navarhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We completed a review last year (10th March 2011), and this year we travelled with friends. Naturally we were slighted worried that having persuaded them to join us, that the service experience might not be repeated.

We should not have worried and we are delighted to advise that 12 months on, the Hotel Alberghaus has not lost its charm and our friends really loved it too. And if possible, the food was slightly better this year.

We don't think there is better service / food value proposition in Zurs/Lech area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was divine- 5 course meals every night and phenomenal breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. Great wine list (Austrian red wine is fantastic!). Rooms were not luxurious, but very comfortable, clean and quiet. Only small complaint was that the mattress was a little hard, but they do offer a variety of pillows etc, so they would have probably happily addressed our concerns had we voiced them.
Very child friendly. If you have young children, there is a creche in the hotel itself, run by an excellent ski company (Powder Byrne).
Ski directly to/from the hotel. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 217 is great if travelling with a young child who goes to bed at 7.30pm, as there is a door bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed in Lech last year and fancied a change so booked here instead. Like most Austrian hotels it's exceptionally clean and well maintained. The room was, however, quite small and there was no bath in the bathroom. The decor is also getting a little dated now. Woodchip wallpaper? Seriously?! The noise of the two lifts during the night and early morning was quite difficult to sleep through some nights. The bed was perfectly comfortable but the pillows even after changing were too soft having virtually no stuffing.

The drinks are overpriced as are most things. Filling up the rooftop hottub will set you back €70. Having stayed in hotels where it's free this seemed a bit steep. The spa area is small but the sauna and steam are good.

Customer service and food here is excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. Wine is very expensive but this is Zürs, not St. Anton after all.

Access to the ski lifts is great and in the right conditions you can ski right to the door of the ski room. The region is AMAZING for skiing, the Arlberg region is world class.

So overall a four out of five. Might be gradually losing it's edge as number one in Zürs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djshaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I can only echo the great comments in other reviews. This is the best hotel we have experienced in 30 years of ski holidays. The hotel facilities were enhanced by the friendly staff and the very personal attention of the Egglers who live in the hotel (they eat the same great food that you do). They appear commited to providing a high quality experience at a very fair price

It was our first visit but many others were repeat visitors - and we were not surprised!

Bill & Shelagh

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zurs
0.3 mi away
Zurserhof Hotel
Zurserhof Hotel
#3 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thurnher's Alpenhof
Thurnher's Alpenhof
#7 of 14 in Zurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Erzberg
Hotel Erzberg
#2 of 14 in Zurs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Guggis
Hotel Guggis
#5 of 14 in Zurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Der Berghof
Der Berghof
#1 of 51 in Lech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#11 of 14 in Zurs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arlberghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberghaus

Property: Hotel Arlberghaus
Address: Zuers 126, Zurs 6763, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Zurs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurs
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zurs
#1 Green Hotel in Zurs
#3 Family Hotel in Zurs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arlberghaus 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you in the Arlberghaus since 1931 our family owns and runs the Hotel Arlberghaus****. We warmly welcome you and your family in our hotel to enjoy our superb ski area. Take advantage of the central location, ski in and ski out. Do not hesitate to contact us we gladly help you out with information about the area and the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arlberghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberghaus Hotel Zurs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing