We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Schermer
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Jakobwirt(Westendorf)
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Alpenhof Brixen(Brixen im Thale)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Glockenstuhl(Westendorf)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gasthof Aschenwald(Westendorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Post(Westendorf)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hubertus(Brixen im Thale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reitlwirt(Brixen im Thale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
118
34
11
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
34
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa areafabulous familycouldn't faultoutdoor poolchildren's playgroundfamily farmskiers and non skiersstandard roomactivities organisedplenty of choiceevening entertainmentrun hotelmain gondolaexcellent foodshort walknice balconywonderful week
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 165 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We returned after a break of 15 years. We knew that the hotel had doubled in size, I fault the spa or massages.. Food was plentiful and variations easy to arrange.

We took the local train service on several days and on others walked locally sometimes taking the near by cable car. There is enough to do without having to search for them. the 10 days proved an excellent break and God willing we shall be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've stayed t that hotel, with family and/or friends a number of times, and not once did I have to fault it in any way!!!!
It is family run, very friendly and engaging owners who very much care about every single guest. The rest of their employees are equally as charming and caring and most if not all of them have been working there for years, surely a good sign for a fab working environment. Plenty of undercover parking in the basement to keep car safe. The hotel is very clean, picturesque in its local style/alpine furniture and design. Each time we stayed the room was just perfect, with lovely balcony and great views. I've never stayed there winter, always early summer. This time I travelled amongst a group of 6 and one was a toddler aged just under two. We were amazed what fantastic children's entertainment the hotel had to offer, including safe and caring childcare, perfect for parents who seek a bit of relaxation whilst kids are in perfect hands. The food was, each and every time I stayed there, mouthwatering. Only downside: a guaranteed way to put on weight. The hotel location is central in the village, but no noise disturbance whatsoever. The spa facilities are good, I never raid to book at least one treatment and each time I seem to enjoy it more an more.
I can't find a single thing that doesn't deserve praise and I can only HIGHLY recommend it!!!
For myself, I will be back, year after year!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWagnerWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our recent stay at the Hotel Schermer was excellent is all respects except that the room we were allocated was close to a busy road and faced on to the village church. Every morning at exactly 7 a.m. the church bells tolled a couple of times and on Sunday it just seemed like they would never stop ringing these infernal bells. Heavy traffic noise also contributed to sleepless mornings.

We might have tolerated these inconveniences had we not visited the hotel 4 years ago and tried to avoid these problems by paying an extra £300 to Thomson.Crystal for a "Superior" room for our one week. We were convinced that the extra we paid would enable us to occupy one of the South facing rooms looking over the garden. Reception (with a charming smile) just told us that all the south facing rooms were full but we reckon that was not true.

The Schermer Hotel has actually 4 room categories in their own brochure but the Thomson Brochure only has an upgrade called "Superior" I reckon we were ripped off by Thomson as the premium in the Schermer Brochure for South facing rooms is only around £120 for the week.

Despite our disappointment with the room all the rest of our experiences at the Hotel were excellent. The food was great, the staff were exceptionally friendly and Herr Schermer and his wife were always on hand to speak to. The spa and pool are the best we have ever experienced.

When we return in a couple of years time we will make sure that we specify a south facing room avoiding room nos 101,102,103, 104 and also 20-, 30- etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Due to our late arrival I had emailed asking for a meal/snack to be available. This was arranged and was very welcome. I recommend that you do this as otherwise you would struggle to get something to eat in Westendorf late at night.
Our room was a standard room but very spacious, all that you would expect plus a free safe , small fridge, tv with a few English speaking channels and a balcony with fantastic views of the mountains.Also the use of a rucksack,umberella and shopping bag.
The meals were all fantastic,couldn't fault them , buffet style breakfast (everything you could wish for), there is a free lunch of soup and salads on offer every day and the evening meals were great. You are asked at breakfast each day to choose your main course-choice of three, but there is a starter ,soup and salad course which you can have all or either. After the main course a delicious dessert and then cheese, everything is home made and a credit to the hard working staff.
The hotel staff were all very happy and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we were able to borrow a plug adaptor from reception as we had forgotten ours and were helped with directions to the saltmines ( which were a good trip out). The restaurant staff were also very obliging, ask to sit outside to eat if its too warm inside-it won't be a problem. Everybody speaks excellent English.
We used the hotel bikes ,a huge array of sizes and styles to choose from (all free) and we had half a day sunbathing in the garden. We swam most days but didn't have any spa treatments,lots of loungers indoors or out and complimentary robes,flip flops ,drinks and fruit snacks.
Westendorf is a lovely village that hasn't changed much in the 22 years since we last visited.We bought cable car passes for 3 days(34 Euros each,include the extra for Kitzbule its worth it) and drove up to the Grossglockner which was a long way but has the most spectacular views of the glacier. We also had a day in Salzburg,again spectacular and went town the Salt mines on an ancient system of wooden slides-good fun.We hired a car in the UK before travelling but there is a good public bus service and the train runs very close by ,you can go to Insbrook for the day if you don't fancy Salzburg.
We found that that eating and drinking was very reasonable, a small jug of wine at dinner was 8 Euro and a beer about 5, but there is a Spa shop and an Aldi in the village where you can buy a decent bottle of wine for 3 Euro enjoy this on your balcony and watch the sun go down.
We didn't much care for the evening entertainment , but we were much younger than most of the other residents( and they did tend to go off to bed about 10pm).There was a band playing in the village one night which were really good, they play outside the church for a good hour or more every week during the summer.If you get chance, go down to the shooting range on Friday night, its underneath the firestation. We were made very welcome, its all very modern, state of the arts rifle shooting,older kids welcome too.
The weather was a lot better than we expected up to about 32 degrees, no need for those jumpers I packed! Take a raincoat though we did have a couple of evenings of heavy rain,didn't spoil things for us though we enjoyed our refreshing change from a beach holiday.No need for walking boots either , a good pair of trainers will do. I was surprised to see how much there was for kids to do up the mountain tops, lots of little theme parks (not roller coasters but sensory gardens and play parks).
Thanks Hotel Schermer we really enjoyed our stay and have already recommended you to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the restaurant for a spectagular view of the local mountain rage. Particularly spectacular if you experience an evening thunderstorm, but otherwise a romantic place to watch the sun go down.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at the Schermer for the second time last week. At every point before and during our stay, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. As a group of 16 family and friends ranging in ages from 11 to 56 yrs, our needs were many and varied but the Schermer staff always went the extra mile to help - and with a smile. Jacob and his family are still closely involved in the everyday life of the hotel, which helps to sustain the warm family atmosphere. The bedrooms were immaculately clean and the other big strengths of the Schermer are the food (much of which is locally produced), the large informal bar/lounge area (great for all ages to meet up), the spa/pool...oh and the fantastic ski slopes 5 mins away! We will be back next year for sure. Just hope the snow is as amazing next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews