We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A very enjoyable stay"”
Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jakobwirt
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The "Jakobwirt" is a typical tyrolean hotel and is very well run by the Ziepl family.They
are very attentive,friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The hotel is very clean and
the food is excellent.Thresi our waitress was so welcoming,friendly and efficient during
our recent stay.The village of Westendorf is delightful with great scenery and walking in
the area.
We had a very enjoyable stay ( even with two bad knees ) and can recommend this hotel
without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAKDAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jakobwirt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Enjoyed a really great week in June 2013 in this lovely hotel in the unbelievable picturesque location of Westendorf.
The area is ideal for walking and cycling with challenges to suit all levels of ability and a good bus service makes it easy to venture to places such as Kitzbuhel, Hopfgarten etc.

Regarding the hotel itself the rooms are light and spacious and always very clean.
The restaurant is excellent with a good choice of evening meal always available and the quality of the food is hard to fault in anyway. I was particularly impressed with the variety of food offered to a fellow guest who was vegetarian, he was always provided with a meal which was properly tailored to his needs rather than something which had been thrown together which is sometimes the case.
But the real crowning glory for the Jakobwirt is the level of service offered by all members of the staff, nothing ever appeared to be too much trouble and all enquiries were dealt with in an efficient but also very pleasant manner. Absolutely first class service and I look forward to returning in 2014.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are best for light sleepers
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry-K59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for making this effort writing this excellent report about our Hotel, village
and area. We are most happy to hear you had an enjoyable holiday with us.
Best wishes and we hope you welcome you again.
Annemarie Ziepl and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

August 2013.- first time in Austria and we fell on our feet. Westerndorf is stunning. The Jakobwirt hotel is clean and comfortable - and the service and staff are professional, polite and welcoming. Special mention for the restaurant, we were half board and the breakfasts we great but the dinners were really special; top quality meals every night. We would thoroughly and unreservedly recommend the Jakobwirt.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Honest-OpinionOct10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guests,
thank you very much for your excellent write up. We are happy to hear you were
enjoying your holiday.
Any other time we like to welcome you again.
Kindest regards and best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Jakobwirt hotel for many winter holidays and must say I have never been disappointed with this hotel. Everything about is first class and you are made to feel special with the welcome you receive and also the service they provide.Excellent food and wine choice in the restaurant. A friendly kellar bar down stairs, which is non-smoking.What more can one ask for..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2westwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Jim,
regards to Millport and many thanks for your compliments.
Take care and best from Westendorf.
Annemarie Ziepl and the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked for a weeks skiing with Inghams as a solo traveller. Hotel is located in the centre of the town about 5 minutes walk from the nursery slopes. From there you can take the lift up and ski down to the main Alpenrose Gondola, otherwise it's about a 15 minute walk.
My room was large for a single room with enough space to have fitted a double bed in. The bathroom was large with a big bath which was great for relaxing in after a hard day's skiing. All was very clean and comfortable. The only slight downside was that the room was right next to the road and so there was a degree of traffic noise.This meant that it was not really very pleasant to sit outside on the balcony because of the traffic noise and it was close to the buildings across the road. There was also some noise from the cellar bar which had an entrance onto the street below my room. That said the noise did tend to die down after eleven o'clock and I was able to get a good 7-8 hours sleep as well as a nap in the afternoon. However other people may be lighter sleepers and be disturbed by this. I did ask the reception if I could move rooms but they said this was not possible even though the hotel seemed half empty.
The restaurant was excellent with the staff being very friendly and attentive. The food could not be faulted and was the best I have had on a Skiing trip in 20 years.
The swimming pool and Sauna were also very good.
All in all I had a very enjoyable stay and would consider returning but would stay on a different side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road or on higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Mr. Wisby,

Thank you for your detailed report and we are very happy to hear you had
an enjoyable holiday. Our Hotel is in the centre of the village and there will
be days with more traffic . All our windows have tripple glasing so we do hope
you were able to get a good sleep.
Best wishes and hope to see you again. Kindest regards - Annemarie Ziepl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is centrally located with easy access to the slopes. The rooms are comfortable and very warm (this seems to be the case in the whole of the resort so take some t-shirts). The food was excellent - we stayed half board.... Breakfast was a typical continental affair with lots of choice. Dinner was five courses, although this was not overwhelming as portion sizes were managed. The food was excellent quality. Wine is very reasonably priced and I would recommend the Veltliner, reasonably priced. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and all speak good English....which is disappointing when you want to practise your German! Overall a really good holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thompsoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Miss Thompson and friends,
many thanks for your lovley report.
we are happy to hear you had an enjoyable holiday.
we like to be here any other time and kindest regards - Annemarie und Familie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ideal central location in a small Tyrol Austrian town
It would be difficult to find such a well appointed hotel anywhere with the warmest of welcomes and cuisine only surpassed by the kindness of the three Ziepl sisters who are the owners of this fine establishment. The skiing was like icing on the cake. The non-smoking Campbell's cellar bar provided late night entertainmenrt and convivial chat with fellow skiers.
Every hotel should be like this one! I would love to live here ,

Room Tip: The staff were without exception professional couteous and attentive - Mobile phone reception was be...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

dear friends,
many thanks for this wonderfull compliment to our house and our staff.
We try to work after our slogen - " come as a guest and leave as a friend !!
Stay well and best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westendorf
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gasthof Aschenwald
Gasthof Aschenwald
#5 of 7 in Westendorf
18 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#5 of 11 in Niederau
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windau Lodge
Windau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Westendorf
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range: $148 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing