We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jakobwirt
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Certificate of Excellence
scottish borders
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back last night from the jakobwirt and had a lovely holiday. The hotel was clean, staff always helpful, food was very tasty (choice of 3 main courses) with a set starter and sweet plus the salad buffet and cheese board. The pool was very nice and clean. The bedroom was good with balcony overlooking the hills and the bathroom compact , all again very clean. Got a three day pass which enabled us to go up the cable cars and get buses along the valley, well worth it. All in all couldn't fault anything about hotel or holiday. The weather was kind to us which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank langgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Great tohear you had a good holiday with us.
Thank you for your effort ,writting this in tripadvisor. Very important for all of us.
best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    31
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
62
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week's stay at the Jakobwirt. Couldn't fault anything about this hotel. We had a lovely traditional room on the third floor, which was spotlessly clean. Every member of staff was very friendly and welcoming and looked after us very well. The food was exceptional and very tasty every night. Westendorf itself is a charming village. Thank you very much family Ziepl - we are looking forward to our next visit to your wonderful hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandJeanette_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear friends,
very happy to hear you have enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you so much
for this nice write up.
Best wishes and hope to welocme you again.
Kindest regards - Family Ziepl and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

just back from a fantastic holiday stayed in this hotel . management and staff very friendly did everything to make our stay wonderful lovely clean rooms and good food would go back again.to sportshotel jakobwirt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 182sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear friends,

Thank you for your very nice write up. We are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your holiday with us. Have a good year and we hope to welocme you again !!
Annemarie with Family Ziepl and all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathdrum, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The cellar holds a true native Pict one John Campbell who is the master publican in his den
He serves up a great pint of local brew abd some fine Malt whiskeys mixed with a collection of music and comfortable seating to ease the aches and pains of a long day on the ski slopes
Up stairs the atmosphere is strictly genuine Austrian. The three sisters run a wonderful establishment with a great French Chef and pleasant staff providing guests with the best of comfort food and fine wines. Thank you Anna Marie and Elizabeth - you are stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcmr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear friends,
thank you for your wonderfull comment.We hope you welcome you again.
Best wishes from here - Annemarie & Elisabeth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the pretty village of Westendorf, in the Austrian Tyrol, for a week's skiing at the end of January 2013. This is a family run hotel and has a very friendly atmosphere. People come back year after year as they love it and the village so much. I met some interesting people there. The village itself won the European 'Entente Floral' as the prettiest village in Europe in1998 and they still bask in the reflected glory of the award. The skiing in Westendorf itself is somewhat limited and if you are a beginner or intermediate, allow about an hour to get off the Choralpe mountain and across the valley to Brixen if you want to connect with the wonderful 'SkiWelt' circuit of linked ski resorts. The food at the hotel is excellent. I stayed there on a half board basis and there was a varied menu selection over the week. There was also a typical Austrian self- service breakfast with lots of muesli with fruit & nuts as well as cheese, cold meats and yogurt. My bedroom was not overheated, the bed was very comfortable and the duvet was lovely and warm. I was a bit disappointed with the pool, which felt very cold, and with the sauna area which was rather small and didn't have any artistic decor nor soothing music in the relaxation area. But nevertheless the sauna felt good after a day's skiing. It would be interesting to return to Westendorf during the summer for a spot of hiking in the mountains and if I decide to do that, I would definitely stay at the Hotel Jakobwirt again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Margreth,
You have done well with the report of our skiing area, Village and Hotel.
Best wishes from here - Annemarie and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a half-board basis, booked through Crystal. The hotel is right in the centre of Westendorf, with the ski bus to Brixen and beyond a minute's walk from the ski-room exit, and a very short walk to the four-person local chairlift, from the top of which you can ski across fields to the bottom of the Alpenrosenbahn gondola (otherwise around 8-10 mins walk from the hotel). And then the ski-welt is your oyster (unless, like us, you are there the first week in March in blazing, gorgeous sunshine, and the ski-welt is beginning to feel a bit like unset icing sugar!).

But the Hotel Jakobwirt is difficult to fault. The welcome from Anne Marie and the whole team is genuinely friendly and helpful. Our room (104, first floor) overlooked the street, was roomy, with good-sized bathroom with bath and over-bath shower, and more than enough storage for ski, day and evening wear. The ski-room is in the basement near Campbell's bar, warm but not over-heated, although can be a bit of a crush at peak times.

We eat fish and seafood but no other meat; this announcement was taken in the kitchen and waiting staff's stride, and the food was very good, with soups and starters supplemented by salads from the buffet, dessert and cheese. Salads are not as extensive as other places we've stayed, but there's still a good choice and variety. The cheese tended to run out a bit at the end of the night (we usually ate at the latest available time, ie 8.30), but was either replenished without asking, or on request. Unlike many Austrian hotels we've stayed in, the wine list had plenty of good quality variety of local wines under 25-30 Euros, including some good wines around the 19-22 price. We alternated reds and whites each evening, and usually spent time in the comfortable lounge finishing off our wine, or seated in the small bar outside the dining room, before heading to Campbell's or out for a nightcap.

Breakfast was reasonable, with a choice of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, hot and cold drinks, but only eggs (scrambled or boiled) as a hot choice. For us non-meat eaters this wasn't a problem as we never touch the sausages etc, provided, but I guess others may have a different view. The boiled eggs were nicely soft-boiled and kept warm.

Campbell's Bar was a welcome place to turn to after dinner; there is live music each evening (the same each night when we were there, but as it was quite good, that's no bad thing). The focus is on 60s-70s music (Beatles, Eagles, etc). Campbell is a fount of knowledge about the ski slopes, and you may find ski reps or other friendly and knowledgeable folks there too.

The week we were there was unseasonably hot, and the room therefore felt over-heated even with the radiator turned off and the balcony door/window open. the double-glazing is a very effective barrier against street noise, but with windows open this can be a bit intrusive, though the nightlife is far far more subdued here than in, say, St Anton.

There are plenty of places around the hotel to sit and read a book, use the Internet (five euros for a week's unlimited wifi is very good value and, on the first floor, we could access it in our room too), or have a cup of coffee or glass of beer. It's good having the small, informal bar near the dining room, the comfortable lounge, spacious dining rooms and Campbell's downstairs. If you do ever go out, then we found the Kibo bar in the centre (near the bank) also very welcoming with good rock music and pleasant atmosphere. We never did find anywhere with the more traditional 'oompah' apres, but maybe we didn't look hard enough.

A word about the slopes: the Westendorf area is better-suited to early intermediates than much of the area accessed from Brixen, but none of it is really suited to beginners other than the nursery slope, so not really too good for mixed groups. Slope 1b back down into Brixen is either a sheet of ice or a mogul field, and is best avoided unless you're a masochist. The declared blacks on either side, though much steeper, are not as frustrating. You can get a sense of real travel by skiing across to Ellmau and Going, and on the Westendorf side, the Breichhornhaus hut is a relaxing and slightly off the beaten track place to go for lunch or just a gluhwein and the view.

Would we go back? Not to this part of the ski-welt, but that's nothing to do with the hotel, which was very good indeed.

Room Tip: the hotel is on a kind of island surrounded by roads, so some noise is inevitable. The rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Dr. Huxley ,
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable week.
Unfortunatly the temperature was a littlehigh for end of February.
Hope you welcome you and your husband again - best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am looking back at another enjoyable visit to Westendorf, Austria, staying in the Jakobwirt Hotel; once again, many thanks to Family Ziepl and their wonderful staff for a most enjoyable Christmas. It was so refreshing and uplifting to get away from the "Material, Commercial, Capitalist Madness" that infects the minds of so many at that time of year. The Seasonal Christmas Eve reception in the hotel lounge was a delight, with young musicians playing traditional Tirol-Austrian carols, the Seasonal Psalm reading, (in German & English) the communal singing of Stille Nacht, the nibbles and bubbly stuff and staff wearing traditional Tyrolean dress. The reception was followed by a candle lit five (5) course dinner, a tasty Merlot with our duck, seasonal presents for the children and the ceremony of lighting the candles/sparklers on the Christmas Tree. The hotels bar (Elizabeth's Bar) and the hotels "Ins Moment" keller bar or Campbell's Bar offer perhaps the best beer in Austria "Huber Beer" from St Johann in Tirol
Apart from the very tasty meals in the hotel, prepared by the imaginative and capable Guy (the chef), we also had some tasty and enjoyable meals out in the restaurants of Westendorf.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter and have good views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Nuala and Patrick,
thanks for all your details, we are very happy to hear you had another enjoyable
Christmas holiday with us in the " Jakobwirt ".
Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Westendorf hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#3 of 7 in Westendorf
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glockenstuhl
Hotel Glockenstuhl
#4 of 7 in Westendorf
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bichlingerhof
Bichlingerhof
#10 of 27 in Westendorf
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pension Christoph
Pension Christoph
#1 of 27 in Westendorf
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#2 of 27 in Westendorf
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Property: Hotel Jakobwirt
Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing