We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christmas 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Edelweiss

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Edelweiss
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Soll
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“christmas 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Pension Edelweiss over Christmas 2013-two families, all adults. There were nine of us altogether and Bettina gave us all rooms on the second floor. We made enquiries early on in the year and were kept informed by Bettina as to availability.
Before we arrived lots of e-mails answering our questions and offering advice were forthcoming, which was really helpful.
We met all the family, who were warm and welcoming hosts.
Bettina and Freda were so helpful and went well beyond what they needed to do; they put a tack in the wall for our knitted Christmas tree,were very understanding when we had a mishap, even stitched up my salopettes on Christmas Day-thank you! Bettina also helped try to locate my son's phone which we thought he had lost in Soll once we had returned to the U.K.
We had three en-suite rooms and two with their own showers and a shared toilet on the landing. All rooms represented excellent value and were spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, ample furniture for storage and were lovely and warm.
Each morning we had a lovely welcome in the breakfast room. There was a good selection of teas, orange juice,cereal, preserves, bread rolls, cheese and ham. All were of a good quality and very fresh. Boiled eggs were available, to order.
We also sat in the breakfast room on Christmas Day early evening to open our presents. It was really cosy and homely.
Although the ski bus stop is just by the house we stored our equipment most days at the tobaggan hire shop by the gondola and walked to and from there every day. On two occasions we skied almost all the way back to the house [across a field] as we were catching the bus next morning to Scheffau. This was also really easy to do as the bus stop is only five minutes walk from the house.
Within a stones throw of the house is a new Spar-really handy for drinks and snacks. There is also a little cafe in there.
There are plenty of places to eat in Soll and none of them too far away. It is really quite easy to get to anywhere in the village on foot.
I cannot thank Bettina and her family enough for their warm hospitality. I would recommend Pension Edelweiss to anyone who is looking for somewhere in this price range.
As a previous reviewer mentioned, there have been lots of recent improvements inside and out.The website photos therefore need to be updated and do not do the property justice. It is far nicer in reality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jules43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic week in söll staying at a little gem called pension Edelweiss.
This accommodation appears to be run by a mother and daughter who could not do enough for you to make you feel welcome and at home.
We stayed in an ensuite room so had no issues with a shared toilet, although I don't think this would of been a major problem.
Rooms always impeccably cleaned on a daily basis.
Breakfast is a simple continental arrangement but there is plenty of it and boiled eggs are also cooked to order.
Location is both perfect for the main town of söll as it is literally a minute or two walk to the centre, the gondola station is also a pleasant 10 minute walk away so no real reason to wait for a ski bus.
Would highly recommend this wonderful pension and would definitely stay here again without a thought.
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iangregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just returned from a week in this excellent Pension (B&B).
Bettina and Freda were more than welcoming into their home and it's all the little touches that make a stay in places like this most enjoyable.
Free wifi, a great continental breakfast, great advice, and Bettina speaks impeccable English and will help with anything she can.
Overall I can't recommend this place enough. Some rooms aren't fully ensuite but you'll know that when booking and their website is very good with 360 deg views

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Since our last visit there have been major renovations including windows, balconies and more - what a lovely warm and relaxing place. But best of all our hosts were a lovely welcoming family of multiple generations. Wi-Fi is now free with very strong signals on every floor and fast response. The only small improvement suggested would be if all rooms had both private shower and toilet, many already do. We've already booked to go again!

Room Tip: Rooms vary as to whether they have private shower and / or toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Driver30May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Edelweiss is a relaxed, friendly and simple accommodation. The rooms are warm and well equipped though a little on the snug size but make sure you get a room with en suite as not all have their own facilities. Breakfast consists of a typical continental breakfast but there is plenty of it and it is always fresh. The owner and her family are very warm and welcoming. Only draw back is that there is no lounge or place to sit in the evening which means you are either out on the town or lying on your bed!The B&B is perfectly located for the town centre and only 10 minutes walk to the ski garage so there is no need to wait for the bus. The ski garage is inexpensive (8 Euros or so for the week) and very well worth it to avoid the hassle.

The Bella Vita is a fantastic restaurant offering a wide menu but with some really lovely Thai food while the Dorfstubn offers nice traditional food in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a lovely B&B - immaculately clean and the lady was very friendly and accommodating. Nice breakfast by candlelight - rolls, with ham, cheese, boiled egg and cereal - the usual but plenty to eat. Nothing really negative to report, (although beds are a bit creaky) and do ask for an ensuite, as there is a shared toilet on both floors (nuisance if you are a light sleeper and hear someone's call of nature in the night!!). Take- your -shoes- off- inside- the- door policy (a seat would be useful here) so make sure not to pack any holey socks! For 30 euros per night per person, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Situated suprisingly close to Soll centre, just a 50-100m walk to the Post, Harry's Bar and more. Run by two friendly and helpful sisters serving breakfasts of cereal, rolls and cheese/meat, boiled eggs, teas/coffee/orange juice. Wi-Fi available at 5 euros per week. All rooms have showers I believe, many have WC as well. Competitively priced and strongly recommended. A little traffic noise before waking, but not a problem for us...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Driver30May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.2 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edelweiss

Property: Pension Edelweiss
Address: Dorf 99, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing