We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Austrian Ski Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Soll isn't big and therefore even Moedlinger is even close to the lifts. We left our skies at the lifts and walked in every morning which was taking us about 10-15min.
The staff and owner in the hotel are very friendly and speak english as well, not always and everywhere in Austria. Rooms were clean, a bit dated and we had a small balcony with a spectacular view over Soll. The only disadvantage was the very limited size of the bathroom, more a showerarea with a toilet next to it.
Food was nice, Mr. Moedlinger intents to have some theme evenings, so there's a fondue evening which was all very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dance_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are a family of four and have just returned from a week’s stay at the Mӧdlinger Hotel. We had read earlier reviews and were a little unsure what to expect – but we have to say we found the entire experience to be excellent. The hotel is very clean with pleasant decor and a very relaxing atmosphere. Both of the bedrooms we occupied were comfortable and clean with facilities as advertised, except that one room did not have a balcony – contrary to the brochure description. The other room had a large balcony with lovely views of the mountains from two sides of the hotel (all the views from the hotel were very scenic). Evening meals were excellent with a varied menu each day - we particularly enjoyed the Fondue. We were given our own table and were never rushed – we would generally take around two hours as it was good food and a pleasant atmosphere. The cold buffet breakfast provided plenty of choice and there were no shortages as stocks were immediately replenished when they ran low. All the staff without exception were very friendly and efficient and Herr Mӧdlinger was polite and pleasant. We also enjoyed the comfortable bar/lounge area and after a day’s skiing found the hotel a very welcoming place to come back to and spend the evening. A couple of points for skiers – use the ski garages at the base of the slopes to store your gear (9 Euros per week ) and don’t bother with the buses as it is quicker to walk - very pleasant through Sӧll centre (without ski boots) and only about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony despite what your brochure may tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hedahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just spent a week with my husband and 2 teenagers over New Year at this hotel. The rooms were very comfy, always clean. They were warm and there was plenty of hot water. The evening meal was a set meal each night and was varied and always plentiful, enough to satisfy an 18 year old!! The staff were very helpful and cheerful and I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

5 of us stayed here the Christmas week 2012, ages varied from 17yrs - 57yrs. We arrived off the coach to be met by Herbert the owner who welcomed us to his hotel. He is a man of very few words and , we found during our stay he doesnt engage in chit-chat generally unless you approach him- then he is ok.
Our rooms were adequate, warm, and comfortable. Asked for extra pillows which we were given straight away. Cleaning lady was lovely and as another reviewer stated she was "Mrs Overall" look alikey. Only problem was that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room which would have been nice instead of having to find a waitress and ask for cups of tea all the time. This became a tad annoying as you felt restricted when you wanted a drink. Charges were quite high for extra tea/coffee which we found at the end of the week when we received our charges.
Cash was also requested as no cards were accepted................wonder why?????? I will leave that for othere to speculate on.
Food wise, not a lot of choice for vegetariens, omellettes or cheese on toast..or one evening a turkey curry was offered! ha with pasta. Mostly the food was ok. Salads were fresh and varied each evening as a starter. Soft drinks at the table were very expensive so we tended to have water with meals.
Our teenagers found the hotel very boring....resembled an old peoples home, not very welcoming. Games that were in the hotel were very old, over used and not very exciting. You dont always want to go out pubbing every night after a hards days sking.
No-one on reception to greet you at all most of the time which made it less inviting. If you came back early it was deserted of staff.
As far as the Christmas decor was concerned it was very very minimal. Lovely Xmas tree in the Restaurant but everywhere else hardly a bauble in site.It would have been nice to have had a large decorated Christmas tree in the foyer when you returned from a days skiing like all the other hotels around. Looked a bit "Scrooge like"
Our experience on the whole was good but, I dont think we will stay at this particular hotel again in Soll.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Dave and Linda. Edinburgh

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Modlinger hotel. The room was pleasant affording great mountain views and the food very good except for the salad buffet which was minimal to say the least.
The owner of this establishment does not offer any advice as to the benefits you are entitled to with the Wilder Kaiser free pass you recieve and if you are arriving as a couple please be sure to ask for one free pass EACH as Herr Modlinger will only offer you one per couple which is not acceptable on the local postbus.
Also the proprieter is very hard to locate for the most part if you require assistance and basically you are left to fend for yourself.
This is a really good hotel in a great location but the couldn't care less attitude of the manager would put us off from going back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a week beginning of Aug. Top class hotel with fantastic food made to order! Great choices always well cooked and served piping hot! Great desserts and puddings too! The owner Herbert Moedlinger made us feel very welcome and always found time to sit and chat with us, what a truly nice guy! Rooms very comfortable and the views fantastic! Would return here most definately, had great time walking, cycling, climbing and exploring the area with the FREE kaiser jet bus!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikkishols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Not much I can add to some of the damming reviews here except to echo them. Owner comes across as penny pinching, beds are also hard and they don't take cards so if you book independently as we did you will have to find a large amount of cash at the end of stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.2 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#15 of 20 in Soll
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moedlinger Hotel & Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moedlinger Hotel & Sport

Address: Dorfbichl 30, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Hotel Class:3 star — Moedlinger Hotel & Sport 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Moedlinger Hotel And Sport
Modlinger Hotel Soll
Modlinger Hotel Sport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing