We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Hidden Gem!”
Review of Ferienhotel Fuchs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferienhotel Fuchs
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

11 of us in a mixed group on a Crystal Snowboarding Holiday.

The hotel is incredibly clean and has been kept to an extremely good level of repair. It looks basic but that shouldn't stop it from being a 4* instead of a 3.

The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, spacious to boot. They were warm and cosy and quiet too.

The service could not be faulted, all the members of staff were friendly, happy and very helpful.

The food was amazing, really didn't expect to eat so well, it didn't feel like a half board hotel, they made us feel like we were eating in a restaurant every night.

I would happily recommend staying at the Ferien Fuchs for any one of any age.

Even though there were 11 of us aged between 21 and 38, we're not a rowdy bunch and that suited us.

Thank you Helga and Christian!

Special thanks to Martin too!

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice, maybe ask for an extra pillow too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncandibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We don't usually get to spend New Years away due to work commitments, so when the opportunity arose to have the 2013 New Year week off, we decided to spend it at this splendid family run hotel. We had visited it in Jan 2013, and rated it 5 out of 5 then too.

So, the Ferienhotel Hotel Fuchs is a well established hotel for holiday makers (ie not aimed at business people). Its run by the Family Fuchs, who are into their 3rd generation of hoteliers, and their friendly team. The style of the hotel is Tyrollean, so it is quite chintzy with lots of pine. If you are seeking a minimalist boutique style experience then this may not be for you. And if you need to have a gym or spa, again, look elsewhere.

What you do get at the Fuchs is a very warm welcome, comfy and cosy rooms and loads of excellent Austrian food. Theres even a family dog! There is a newly refurbished sauna area, two dining rooms, bar and lounge. There is also a well equipped ski room in the basement which has boot heaters, and is great to dry your ski stuff off as there are no drying facilities in the rooms. As I have said earlier, the furnishings in the rooms are traditional pine, the bathrooms are clean but are often shower only, unless you have opted for their more expensive accomodation options. There is no free wifi in the rooms, but you can buy it for 20 euros for a week. The connection speed was very slow though. There is a limited choice of TV options as well, with BBC World (which I have fallen in love with) being the only British TV channel.

Location wise, the Fuchs is on the outskirts of Soll, but the ski bus stops their 1st, and the bus stop is about 10 metres from the door! Otherwise the village is a 5 minute walk, and the ski depot about 15 minutes. If you have your own gear and plan on using the ski bus then for 13 euros you can store your gear at the bottom of the main Soll gondola. Please note this is not the same ski locker that your travel company will tell you to use - they will send you to Stoll Ski, which is 700m from the bottom of the gondola, and means you have to queue for a button lift every morning or get back on the ski bus.

So, if there is more modern and central accomodation available, why did we go back? Its simple really. We don't like to be in a busy and noisy location, surrounded by the usual Brit bars, of which Soll has its fair share. The Hotel Fuchs is mainly full of Germans and Austrians to be honest, so if its good for the locals, its good for us! The service is excellent and attentive without being fake American style, the accomodation is comfy and cosy, the food is superb (The New Years Eve 5 Course Buffet with Midnight Snacks was wonderful), and you feel like you have experienced genuine local hospitality. Out and about, of the Brit Bars, we like Underground the best, but be sure to give the Hexenalm by the bottom gondola a visit for genuine Austrian Apres Ski and Ooompah bands on a Thursday night and in the town centre StollStuben opposite the Whisky Muhle is a great local cafe and bar that does a mean Curry Wurst.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michduncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

i went back in august with GEE VEE Travel when we got there we were warmley welcomed by mrs Fuchs and individually shown to our rooms.

when we were shown to our room they looked lovely very clean and made us feel at home.

one of the nights there was a fire eater at the hotel and their is always lots going on in the town

the food wasn't the best in the world but there is a wide range of cafes, bars and a SPAR convenience store in town.
i would recommend both GEE VEE and this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We always return to Soll even though we have stayed in many Austrian resorts,however this was the first time that we stayed at the Hotel Fuchs and in our opinion it was excellant.Five star treatment all the way.
The Fuchs family were so welcoming and we were made to feel that nothing was to much trouble.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable with excellant views from our balcony,and we were really impressed by the choice of meals.
Looking forward to returning next year. .

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need,I think they will try to accomadate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowwatts w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was a little concerned about a couple of the poor reviews but I guess there's no pleasing some people, they seem laughable now I've been there.
A little out of town but no more than 10 mins walk and at least your get on the ski bus to the gondola before it's full which is a bonus. Nice people, lovely hotel, fantastic food. My room was a little on the small side (used it for sleeping in) but clean, always warm with plenty of hot water, and a good shower for those aching muscles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned home from a week's stay in Soll at the Ferienhotel Hotel , I was with a couple of friends and I have to say that it was absolutely superb . When I arrived on the Saturday it was well after their normal dinner sitting , but Martin Fuchs still made sure we had a freshly cooked three course meal which was delicious . The room was well appointed , clean and spacious , I was sharing with a friend , but there was plenty of room and it was airy and bright also with a small balcony and good en-suite facilities . The breakfast was a good or if not better than anything I have previously experienced in continental Europe , there was a huge buffet where you could start with cereals , then have freshly cooked eggs , with warm fresh bread and rolls , there was fresh fruit , yogurt , wonderful cheese , bacon , ham , salami and all washed down with unlimited coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice . You wou think that would be hard to top , but the dining experience on a night was absolutely first class . Every meal was five courses , starting with an amazing fresh salad buffet , then a soup which was different everyday , then an appetiser which ranged from smoked salmon , to an individual lasagne to spinich pasta ... just wonderful , then along came the main course , at breakfast you had to select your main course from several choices usually a couple of meat dishes , fish or even a veggie option ) the quality was incredible and then finished off with a freshly made dessert different everyday too . We often drank wine with our dinner which was served with a smile by all the wonderful staff at the FF who were excellent at all times . Martin Fuchs was an excellent host very polite , helpful and very professional at all times too . The hotel had a nice bar area , plus a reception area where you could sit and relax too .. It was a 1 minute walk to the Ski bus which took you straight up the main bubble lift or a five minute walk into Soll which is a very nice little town , we used Rossinis for Apres Ski drinks and snacks and the Whiskey Mule for a couple of drinks on a night .. In conclusion I will definitely go back and if staying in Soll I would recommend the Ferienhotel Fuchs without hesitation ..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony .. it makes a difference ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I came to Söll at the end of Jan this year.
We booked our package with Nielson back in August for just under £800 each which included flights, ski hire, lift passes and half board in a triple room in this lovely hotel!
Transfer from Salzburg to our hotel by coach was just under two hours (thanks to the Manchester lot for delaying us Londoners ), but usually it's just over an hour.
When we arrived to hotel Fuchs - which by the way is fox in German (You will notice the fox decor around the hotel) we were wowed. The hotel was so cute and picturesque!
Checked in but our room wasn't ready so we explored Söll for a few hours and then returned. We stayed in room 302 in the original part of the hotel. When we unlocked our door we were amazed to find that they gave us a room that slept 7 people and had a balcony! This was for 2 girls! Needless to say the room was big enough for any after parties ;) rooms had a tv and a bath tub and were clean.
Breakfast and dinner now... This was a new experience for us! You are assigned a table for the week, oh but not on your own... We shared with 6 other people! It was nice to meet people but also that awkward annoying dinner talk every night. That eventually became a massive joke of the holiday. Cannot fault dinner though. 5-Course meal every night in which you chose your main in the morning. Good hearty food.
Location-wise it's probably is one of the furthest away from the slopes but that's what the buses and ski garages are for! No longer than a 20 min walk but quite an enjoyable one.
The Whiskey Muehle is about a 10-15 min walk and then the Red Horse and Salvden Stahl about another 5 more from there. These are the 3 places you will be getting your après ski on!
The hotel also has a sauna in the basement. Great for achy muscles after a long days skiing. I warn you though... Be prepared to see Austrian nakedness!
Reception has a pc where us internet addicts can check our Facebook for free and also charge for wifi hourly, daily and weekly if need be. Silly thing is you can only use wifi in the reception area so defeats the purpose.
The staff are all so lovely and welcoming. Wish I could remember their names to big them up!
The only one bad thing I would mention about the hotel is that they turn off the lifts after 7pm! Bad enough walking up of six flights of stairs drunk but on our last night lobbing our suitcases down those stairs was just awful. But they made up for it by leaving us a packed lunch breakfast!
Met loads of people throughout our stay and heard about their problems with their hotels and were glad that we were so lucky to have picked this one. WHEN we return to Söll again, we'll defo be returning here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.3 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenz Theresa
Residenz Theresa
#15 of 20 in Soll
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Fuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Fuchs

Property: Ferienhotel Fuchs
Address: Pirchmoos 36, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferienhotel Fuchs 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferienhotel Fuchs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Fuchs Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing