We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Fuchs Sake - Stay Here - Its Wunderbar !”
Review of Ferienhotel Fuchs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ferienhotel Fuchs
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“For Fuchs Sake - Stay Here - Its Wunderbar !”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned home from a week's stay in Soll at the Ferienhotel Hotel , I was with a couple of friends and I have to say that it was absolutely superb . When I arrived on the Saturday it was well after their normal dinner sitting , but Martin Fuchs still made sure we had a freshly cooked three course meal which was delicious . The room was well appointed , clean and spacious , I was sharing with a friend , but there was plenty of room and it was airy and bright also with a small balcony and good en-suite facilities . The breakfast was a good or if not better than anything I have previously experienced in continental Europe , there was a huge buffet where you could start with cereals , then have freshly cooked eggs , with warm fresh bread and rolls , there was fresh fruit , yogurt , wonderful cheese , bacon , ham , salami and all washed down with unlimited coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice . You wou think that would be hard to top , but the dining experience on a night was absolutely first class . Every meal was five courses , starting with an amazing fresh salad buffet , then a soup which was different everyday , then an appetiser which ranged from smoked salmon , to an individual lasagne to spinich pasta ... just wonderful , then along came the main course , at breakfast you had to select your main course from several choices usually a couple of meat dishes , fish or even a veggie option ) the quality was incredible and then finished off with a freshly made dessert different everyday too . We often drank wine with our dinner which was served with a smile by all the wonderful staff at the FF who were excellent at all times . Martin Fuchs was an excellent host very polite , helpful and very professional at all times too . The hotel had a nice bar area , plus a reception area where you could sit and relax too .. It was a 1 minute walk to the Ski bus which took you straight up the main bubble lift or a five minute walk into Soll which is a very nice little town , we used Rossinis for Apres Ski drinks and snacks and the Whiskey Mule for a couple of drinks on a night .. In conclusion I will definitely go back and if staying in Soll I would recommend the Ferienhotel Fuchs without hesitation ..

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony .. it makes a difference ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I came to Söll at the end of Jan this year.
We booked our package with Nielson back in August for just under £800 each which included flights, ski hire, lift passes and half board in a triple room in this lovely hotel!
Transfer from Salzburg to our hotel by coach was just under two hours (thanks to the Manchester lot for delaying us Londoners ), but usually it's just over an hour.
When we arrived to hotel Fuchs - which by the way is fox in German (You will notice the fox decor around the hotel) we were wowed. The hotel was so cute and picturesque!
Checked in but our room wasn't ready so we explored Söll for a few hours and then returned. We stayed in room 302 in the original part of the hotel. When we unlocked our door we were amazed to find that they gave us a room that slept 7 people and had a balcony! This was for 2 girls! Needless to say the room was big enough for any after parties ;) rooms had a tv and a bath tub and were clean.
Breakfast and dinner now... This was a new experience for us! You are assigned a table for the week, oh but not on your own... We shared with 6 other people! It was nice to meet people but also that awkward annoying dinner talk every night. That eventually became a massive joke of the holiday. Cannot fault dinner though. 5-Course meal every night in which you chose your main in the morning. Good hearty food.
Location-wise it's probably is one of the furthest away from the slopes but that's what the buses and ski garages are for! No longer than a 20 min walk but quite an enjoyable one.
The Whiskey Muehle is about a 10-15 min walk and then the Red Horse and Salvden Stahl about another 5 more from there. These are the 3 places you will be getting your après ski on!
The hotel also has a sauna in the basement. Great for achy muscles after a long days skiing. I warn you though... Be prepared to see Austrian nakedness!
Reception has a pc where us internet addicts can check our Facebook for free and also charge for wifi hourly, daily and weekly if need be. Silly thing is you can only use wifi in the reception area so defeats the purpose.
The staff are all so lovely and welcoming. Wish I could remember their names to big them up!
The only one bad thing I would mention about the hotel is that they turn off the lifts after 7pm! Bad enough walking up of six flights of stairs drunk but on our last night lobbing our suitcases down those stairs was just awful. But they made up for it by leaving us a packed lunch breakfast!
Met loads of people throughout our stay and heard about their problems with their hotels and were glad that we were so lucky to have picked this one. WHEN we return to Söll again, we'll defo be returning here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just got back from a snowboarding holiday and for the first time felt compelled to write a review on a hotel based on the experience. What made the hotel for me was the staff. They were really friendly and genuinely nice to talk and helped in anyway possible. The other thing was the quality of food, each day we were giving a menu that would not look out of place in a 5 star restaurant, and the quality of when delivered matched the rating. As half board these meals were included in the price, which for me was incredible value. I would have paid a lot to eat those meals each night. One negative was the room size, which was a tad on the small size, but I was there to be up the slopes or in the pubs in the evening so who cares when all you do is sleep there. Also there is a bus station which goes to the slopes right on the door step. Would go back without a moments hesitation, in fact wouldn't chance staying anywhere else in Soll, when Fuchs was that good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony if available, as not all rooms have access to a shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdmBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Ferienhotel Fuchs in the last week of January as part of our Nielsen package. I have to admit that it was with some trepidation after reading some of the earlier reviews; however any reservations were unfounded. The Fuchs family and members of staff really looked after us. We were seated in the main dining hall for all our meals; meals offered were varied and lovingly cooked and presented, with each table having to choose the options for dinner at breakfast. I have to admit that my GCSE German did come in handy; although most members of staff speak English quite fluently. The bedroom although not the largest; was warm and comfortable with superb mountain views and spotlessly clean. My only negative for ski hotel would be a lack of drying facilities in the room for wet ski clothing. Paid a lot more for less in other resorts, and will definitely stay in the Ferienhotel Fuchs again next time I come to Söll.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel have great mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiggerThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday in Soll staying at the Fuchs. Had a brilliant time. Hotel was great. The rooms were an ok size, cleaned daily. Staff were really friendly and helpful. I'm a veggie and the food was great I couldn't fault it. I can't praise the hotel enough. There was loads of entertainment and the Fire show on the last night was really good, I was very impressed. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samcroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful skiing holiday in Söll, staying 7 nights at the Ferienhotel Fuchs on a half board basis. The Fuchs family are very much in the hospitality business, with several generations in evidence, supported by an enthusiastic and capable team. Everyone seemed really happy to work there - I've never seen so many genuine smiles from staff before. The hotel has a programme of themed evenings throughout the week such as Welcome evening, Apres Ski, Fondue etc. The highlight of these was Herr Fuchs Jnr doing his Fire Show.
We were seated in the main dining room, and had the same table all week. This is great as you know you don't have to fight for space. The waitresses were all very attentive, with a great sense of humour. The food was excellent and does not just consist of pork as someone here commented. We were served pork, veal, venison, chicken and beef as well as being offered several fish courses. One of our friends was vegetarian and she was offered a daily alternative. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and with plenty of space for storage. The decor was cosy although a little fussy for my taste. The rooms were cleaned and tidied daily, there is a cable TV with BBC World channel available as well as CNN and a few other English speaking news channels. The bathroom a fantastic shower with loads of pressure and hot water! We also had a shared balcony which was handy for keeping the drinks chilled. There are not any tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, but this is only a 3 Star hotel after all. We didn't use the sauna or ski locker, but these facilities are all there if you need them. We did use the bar - it is not permanently manned but if you ring the little cow-bell by the beer pumps it usually attracts their attention, as does the desk bell if there is no one on reception. We used the lounge and TV area and found the staff very attentive at keeping the drinks flowing. So all in all, a very comfy, cosy and pleasant place to come back to after a day on the mountain. What really sets it aside is the fact it is family owned and run, the Fuchs really do delight in getting things right. A request at reception for second pillows for our room was carried out by the the time we got back after dinner. We were also offered a carry out breakfast for our early morning departure - again, cos we asked. Try out a little German as well - it goes a long way. The only thing it lacks is a swimming pool to help stretch those tired muscles at the end of the day! But other than that, its lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michduncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Ferienhotel Fuchs in February 2012. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We were able to check in early even though we had arrived before midday. The food was delicious, there was always a good choice and the quality was excellent. Both of our children ate well with no complaints, which was amazing!!!! The atmosphere in the hotel was very friendly and relaxed which added to our wonderful ski trip to Soll. We agree with the top tip mentioned in another review, hire your skis at the lift station and store your skis and boots there too in the heated ski garage. Putting on heated ski boots first thing in the morning is a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a balcony, they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LG142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenz Theresa
Residenz Theresa
#15 of 20 in Soll
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gaensleit
Hotel Gaensleit
#2 of 37 in Soll
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Fuchs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Fuchs

Property: Ferienhotel Fuchs
Address: Pirchmoos 36, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferienhotel Fuchs 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferienhotel Fuchs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienhotel Fuchs Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing