We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Good Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt
Ranked #4 of 35 Soll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another Good Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our yearly visit to the Eggerwirt, was another good one. Still as good as the last years we have been, it's like going home. Looking forward to our visit in 2013, standards still high with cleanliness and good food. Staff are all the same as the last years and they are most welcoming. Claudia does a fantastic job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    44
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
39
64
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stubbington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Couple in our late 40's

Late February 2013

Skiing novices but not absolue beginners

The hotel is situated in a great position past the pubs so no noise but close enough for everything you need. Shop (spar) 250 yards away. Nearest pub 150 yards away. Small and family run hotel. Very welcoming.

Skiing is excellent.

Do not bother with the points lift pass as you will use this up in one morning even if you are an absolute beginner.

Ski school was good but don't be affraid to speak up for what you need. We felt the group was advancing faster than us so moved to a lower group the following day. LINDSAY was excellent and a great instructor.

One criticism was that there was only a shower and no bath in the room which after a day on the slopes a soak in a bath would have been nice.

You can walk to the gondola in 15 minutes but the ski bus stops right outside the door and is very frequent.

The ski hire at the gondola (edinger) is the best but a little more expensive. It has a storage facility for your skis at a reasonable price.

enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took a chance and chose the eggerwirt largely based on all the fairly good reviews.
Although the hotel was clean and reasonably comfortable, our 3rd floor room was very small..... the decor was bland..... the fittings, furniture & bedding were quite basic, and just not comfy enough for 3*
The food served was quite plain and nothing great; and the service was ok. The large choice at breakfast was probably the highlight in the restaurant.
The lounge area was tiny and right next to reception/the front door and so wasn't that cosy.
All in all, considering all the money we spent to stay here, I would expect a lot more.
I can't wait to return to Soll, though: the skiing was very good and varied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

A quiet, friendly, well run hotel in the centre of Söll. The rooms are reasonably sized and very comfortable. The food and service were excellent... we only used the ski storage room for one night, preferring to use the ski storage facility at the gondola it appeared small with not much available space. The hotel is easy 15 minute walk to the gondola but there's also a bus stop directly outside the front door...having stayed in other accommodation in Söll the Eggerwirt would be where I'd return to.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just returned from a week at this lovely hotel, the fact many guests return year after year tells you a lot.

The rooms were well appointed and were not large but had plenty of space for our ski holiday needs. The whole place was lovely and clean.

The owner and her whole family were lovely. The WIFI was free in the bar and work fine, most of the time but was soon fixed when it got stuck!

Skiing was brilliant, we were really impressed with the whole area. The ski bus stops outside which is really convenient but dont expect to catch it outside of normal coming and going times as it pretty much does not run. The piste map is also a little confusing for a start so dont go too far or you may get stranded.

We had a night a Alpeniglu at Hoch Brixen, I could write a whole review on this alone but if you are after a really different experience stay there for a night while in the area. The whole package was well organised and fun (snow shoeing in three feet of snow was great), yes its expensive but go for it anyway when else can you stay up a mountain in an igloo!

Red horse bar behind the hotel is also good for a lively night out.

Great holiday made better my the great food and hospitality from the Eggerwirt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just arrived back from this hotel last week

What more can I say the title says it all, we were made welcome from the moment we arrived and this level of service continued throughout our week stay. Claudia and her team work in unity and this provides a seamless operation in all areas.

Although this was our first stay at this hotel we met various people who come back year after year and I can see why. It is an affordable hotel with high standards.

Soll is a small village, the ski bus stops directly outside this hotel making for a really easy start to your skiing day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippyboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Facts
- Parking space near hotel is limited. Just 100 meters down the street is a huge parking area
- No WiFi in the room. There is WiFi in the restaurant and sitting area
- No heated ski-room to store your skies and ski shoes
- Walls of the rooms are thin. We could hear the neighbours shower and go to the toilet
- Every morning at 7 o'clock you can hear the church bells ringing
- The sauna is one finish sauna where you can sit with 5 people maximum.
- Solarium you'll have to pay for 7,50 euro
- Steam bath you'll have to pay for 6,50 (maximum 2 persons)
- Sauna landscape was while we were there open on Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday
- Bathrobes do not come with the room, bring your own
- No relaxing space in the sauna landscape
- Hotelinformationmap in the room does not give a lot of information
- No daily updated weather forecast at the reception
- Superior room is large with nice sitting area and very nice bathroom
- Almost al the skiing buses do stop right in front of the hotel
- Hotel is really close to the city centre, but very quit surrounding
- Cleaning and towel change every day if you prefer
- Only 2 bus stops from the main gondola
- Mattresses quit hard, but we slept very well
- Hotel is popular with English people
- Breakfast was oke. Cereal, multiple choices of bread, eggs, cheese, meat, marmalade etc.
- Diner. Fixed soup, Salad buffet, choice between 2 main courses (almost none vegetarian choices), fixed desert. Once a week farmer buffet. Meals where not superb but very much oke.

My opinion. Very nice hotel, friendly owners. Superior room is well worth the money. You can hear the neighbours but this is not really disturbing because we were out of the room most of the day. Breakfast and dinner are oke. It's nice that the bus stops in front of the hotel and just a short ride to the gondola. Buses go very often. We like a sauna landscape and in this hotel that was a bit of a disappointment. In my opinion the website suggests a bit more than there actually is.
But for people who don't care about a sauna landscape I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.2 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt

Property: Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt
Address: Dorf 14, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Restaurant Eggerwirt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing