We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for skiing, bizarre charge for room safe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A nice hotel with friendly staff in a small, quiet town. We stayed mid February and enjoyed good ski conditions. It's a low altitude area but has surprisingly good snow and a vast number of pistes which are mostly rated red. As others have noted, the town is other side of main road from gondola but there's a convenient, timetabled bus service. The hotel is one of the first stops in the morning so easy to get a seat. Decent size boot room with heated boot rack - if you walk upstairs in your socks, take care on the marble on the lower stairs.

Evening meal was adequate on first night when we arrived fairly late and picked up after that, oscillating from good to very good. Hearty portions so advisable to have a light lunch! Vegetarian option looked a bit uninspiring at times but we found they were very flexible and could arrange for some variation with advance notice. Small, quiet hotel bar could do with a bit more choice on spirits. Good breakfast with lots of choice including some hot options.

Only downsides were unreliable connectivity on wi-fi, a truly bizarre and possibly unique 10 euro charge for using the room safe and TV reception which would come and go.

Hotel has clearly expanded over time so rooms may vary. Mine was nicely furnished, spacious and had a decent bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed last week of February for a skiing vacation.
I found the staff friendly and very helpful. Our package had breakfast and dinner included. The breakfast was a good buffet every morning and the dinner was excellent every night. On the Friday night before we left they had a Gala dinner which was seven courses. The room we had was basic with a balcony. It was recently renovated as was the bathroom which looked brand new. Everything was spotless. Josef at the front desk was very helpful and competent as was Heidi in the bar and the wait staff in the restaurant.
You can buy your ski pass right at the front desk which is super convenient. The ski bus stops outside but we walked everyday – about 10 minutes. If you have ski-gear/boots you can store them in the ski storage at the Gondola station. Wi-fi at the hotel is available for 10 euros for the week. Check out is 10am, we left late on a Saturday afternoon and we could store our luggage downstairs. Breakfast, dinner check-in and checkout times are very strict but this usually the norm in Austria. From Soll we skied to Hopfgarten, Westendorf, Brixen, Sheffau and Ellmau over the week. We had a very pleasant experience and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just arrived home after our 10th year of staying at the Tyrol. Josef & his team are so wonderful, helpful & friendly. All rooms immaculate & food amazing every night. Special mention to Heidi in the bar, my son Joseph (9) adores her!! Thank you once again Josef & team, see you next year!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dobie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a great hotel. It’s spotlessly clean, the rooms are warm and comfortable with great views and the staff are helpful and friendly. The food is excellent in both variety and quality. Many thanks to all at the Tyrol for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaF21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Tyrol over New Year this year and it just helped to make one of the best holidays ever. It was exciting not only because we were spending New Year doing what we love the most in our favourite country, but the rooms were warm, clean, spacious, amazing large balconies with fantastic views. We were welcomed warmly and the staff on reception were very helpful informing us about buses, giving us piste maps etc. The food was plentiful and absolutely beautiful - Michelin standards including the presentation. The New Year's Eve gala was a foodies paradise, sooooo much delicious food, buffet style, soups, salads, fresh fish and shellfish, veal (I'm making myself hungry!!) really stunning. We were invited for 'sparkles' (champers!) and pre gala nibbles in the bar before dinner too which made it more of a sense of occasion. Everyday in the reception area there was little chocolates or gingerbread biscuits which gave it a little extra touch. We also benefitted from a deal through Crystal of 50Euros each for drinks which covered meal times so in effect, that was all paid for.
There were two heated boot rooms - in main hotel and in the annex and the bus stop is right outside with regular buses, however the gondola is literally only about a 15 min walk (in ski boots) away so its no bother. 5 min walk from the '100% best bar in Soll' also, which was a bonus.
As for the resort, we loved it although we didn't have much snow but thankfully there were hundreds of snow canons. The lack of snow meant that some easy blue track runs were lethal - pure sheets of ice so avoid if you find conditions the same. Had a few near death experiences on that route!! Stick to the reds! The maps are hard to follow as the runs aren't sign posted too well so make sure you get back to the gondolas in plenty of time in case you get lost (see above comment re icy little tracks)
Anyhow, back to hotel.... The only tiny thing I would say is that the Annex didn't have UK channels where as the main hotel did so it was BBC News for us only. Also, you have to pay for the wifi which isn't so much of a big deal but many bars in the town are free. But don't let that put you off. After all, you're there to have a break not watch TV or check emails!
All in all, I would go back to Soll and the Hotel Tyrol tomorrow. Fabulous holiday, fabulous hotel and fabulous New Year. A New Year's Eve engagement helped to top it all off too :-D x

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrissie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just back from a great week's stay at the Hotel Tyrol. Perfect place for a ski holiday. Rooms were a good size, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms were almost new, again spotless and with a great shower that always had plenty of hot water. Safe was available without deposit and there was a good hair dyer. TV pretty dodgy only 4 UK channels that seemed to play the Waltons most of the time! But apparently that is due to UK satellite and affects all of Austria. Views from balcony on the south and west side were lovely. No kettle in the room, apparently due to Austrian health & safety regs. Joseph advised us to take our own but to hide it to prevent it being confiscated by the housekeeping staff. Be prepared to be woken up at 6.50 each morning by the church bells! Food was really good. 5 courses of dinner every night; salad, soup, starter, main and dessert. Austrian evening and gala night on a Friday. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of cold buffet and hot choices as well. The head waiter was a bit officious but fine as long as you did things his way. Heidi ran a well stocked bar and provided après ski snacks 2 or 3 times each week.
Our ski hire was arranged through the Crystal reps and was from the shop at the bottom of the drag lift. We used the ski garage to store skis in, however, it is only a garage, ie large open room to leave equipment in so we only left hired stuff there, used the heated boot room at the hotel for our boots. The garage cost 8 euros per person for the week, a short ski to the bottom of the drag lift, up there and then to the gondola. Alternatively 11 euro storage at the gondola station. The bus stopped outside the hotel but we didn't use it. The 5-7 minute walk in shoes (as against ski boots) to the bottom of the slope was a pleasant way to warm up/down and there were some interesting shops & bars along the way. Skiing was good, not loads of snow but well groomed pistes and lots of snow making went on each evening so guaranteed skiing every day. Slopes were a bit tricky for complete novices but some good challenging red runs for intermediates and lots of area to cover. Beware, the piste map is very difficult to follow and it's easy to get disorientated when you go further afield. All in all a great resort and hotel and would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a good view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy-traveller0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three times in the last four years and all my friends comment over the years is the excellence of the food , however this year the standard has slipped slightly with a few nights the dishes were bland and not as much buffet / salad variety . Should also not charge for wi fi and safe boxes( dated policy ) Julia and Heidi staff members very pleasant . All In all a good convenient hotel but taste / variety of food standards slipped over last four years .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Mjrussel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.1 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#14 of 20 in Soll
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christophorus Inn
Christophorus Inn
#20 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
5.4 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 15 in Ellmau
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser

Address: Wies 10, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Soll
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soll
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#2 Family Hotel in Soll
Price Range: $171 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Am Wilden Kaiser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing