We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
ORMSKIRK, LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I returned from a ski-ing holiday in Soll on 30th March.
As this was a last minute booking, I was a little unsure about the quality of the hotel.
Without hesitation, I can say, it was absolutely wonderful. We were both delighted with every aspect of the hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful; the food was plentiful and delicious and the rooms were spotless. We will definitely make a return visit !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVIDSON15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    72
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
81
85
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel and staff
Our welcome at the hotel was warm and efficient. We arrived at 7pm and were checked in quickly, given directions to our room and told if we just put our stuff in and came straight down we could go into dinner, which was very welcome.

Everywhere in the hotel was very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful, with all speaking good English.

The spa area was open from 4pm-7pm everyday and was great for relaxing after a day on the slopes. The spa area was never busy, we normally only saw one other couple possibly because it was "traditional Austrian" meaning no swim wear, although you could keep a towel wrapped round you. There was a steam room, sauna and infrared cabin which were all free. There were also two whirlpools, but you needed to purchase tokens at reception. Towels were provided in the spa and there were showers and a changing room. The only thing that was lacking was a water fountain or jugs of water as relaxing can be thirsty work.

There is also a small fitness room, should you not get enough exercise skiing. It is basic, but has most things you could need, bike, stepper, weight bench, free weights.

There is a ski and boot room, but we didn't use it. Instead we paid 12 euros each to store our stuff at the bottom of the gondola (not the one one recommended by crystal which is at the nursery slopes).

Location is good with ski bus stopping right outside the hotel. Buses are frequent and as the Tyrol is the second stop you always get a seat. The only negative is the last bus back is 4.30pm, but if you leave your stuff at the Gondola it's a pleasant 10 mins walk back. The main village is a couple of minutes walk away.

Food
We were half board and you keep the same table for the duration of your stay. Breakfast was a typical buffet affair with a good selection of cereals, cheese, ham, bread, fruit juices and hot drinks. There were also 2 hot options each day e.g. sausages, bacon, scrambled egg.

The menu for the evening meal was provided at breakfast and you made your choice then. There was always a veggie main course, although not always a starter or 2nd course, but they would leave off the meat/fish parts if requested. The gala 7 course meal was fantastic, there was only 1 course that couldn't be adapted for a veggie, but I was happy with 6 courses!

One negative often when we went down for dinner, about 7.30pm there was no bread left for the soup.

Our room - 302
We'd booked the annex, but were upgraded to the main hotel as it wasn't full. Like the rest of the hotel our room was really clean. A good size with plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. The bathroom was also a good size, with room round the sink for toiletries. The balcony had chairs and table and a mountain view. The TV had a good selection of English channels, BBC1 & 2, ITV1 &2 and eurosport.

The negative, the walls were thin and the room next door to us had their TV on from 6am every morning!

Overall I would recommend the Tyrol as a good base for skiing in Soll and the Skiwelt, we're thinking of going back in the summer.

Room Tip: The lift only goes up to the 3rd floor, so if you're not keen on stairs ask not to be on the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is our 3rd time to Soll but, our 1st time in the Hotel Tyrol and we found it warm,comfortable and clean but a little dated in some areas.
We stayed in room 222 but in hindsight wish that we had asked to be moved!
You share a balcony with another room and the downside to that is, if you dont smoke you will do by the end of the week. (We had to keep our window closed most of the time)
The rooms are dry and stuffy and you need to open a window for some fresh air but all you get is cigarette smoke from either the other rooms or from people standing under the balcony by the front door. The hotel states its non-smoking!
The staff were pleasant, we had no issues there!
The food was always good, plenty to choose from with no complaints from us.
Plenty of buses to the lifts but it was so nice we decided to walk in the warm sunshine.
Overall a great week of skiing in Soll but maybe we'll try a different part of Austria next time.

Room Tip: Definetley not 222 for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday here and we couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. We've stayed in Soll before and other areas in Austria.

Hotel: our room was clean, warm and inviting. Good size room on the first floor. Big hanging space for clothes. Two windows in bedroom area with views of mountains and Soll. Spacious with TV showing BBC channels. Two chairs and little table as well. Bathroom was again spacious and clean, nice big bath for a good post-snowboard soak.

Facilities: ski garage was large, well racked and heated so our equipment dried well. Easy access via a staircase near the entrance to the hotel. Also had whirlpool, sauna, fitness room etc but we didn't use these.

Restaurant: excellent food. Really amazing. As a vegetarian I always worry about the variety but it was great. Evening meal: Fresh salad bar and soup to start. Soup was always so good, fresh and tasty. After that was an official starter, main course and dessert. Perfect size portions. Tasty, complimentary sauces and vegetable accompaniments. My partner was meat eater and he was very satisfied with his dishes. I filled out a little form when we arrived concerning fish, milk, eggs etc and the staff always remembered. Breakfast: great again. Croissants, cereals, breads, cakes, cooked or cold meats, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs etc. fantastic selection. They even gave you a breakfast bag for your day of departure if it was too early for breakfast.

Staff: Everyone from Joseph in reception to the restaurant staff and cleaning crew were friendly, inviting and tried to assist you. Can't fault them at all.

Location: 10-15min walk from gondola in snowboard boots. 5min to the central bars etc. Ski bus stopped out hotel every half hour to take you to the gondola. That was efficient and quick. We walked back to our hotel most days to get a bit of a stretch and warm down but the times we got the bus home were again quick and easy. Pick up right next to gondola, just note which colour bus you need as the colour that picked you up may not take you home!

Really lovely holiday, love the area as its great for beginners and intermediates alike. Great network of buses, gondolas and lifts. Can't wait to go back next year, would book this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spikerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week's skiing with my husband and granddaughter. The weather was glorious, the mountain restaurants fantastic and the village absolutely super.

The hotel Tyrol is the perfect place to stay in Soll. We had a marvellous time there. The staff are excellent and friendly. The food is very very good and the facilities in the hotel are great too.

A special mention to Marcus who helped us when our return transport had not arrived and we were in a panick.

Overall ten out of ten and I would not hesitate in recommending the Hotel Tyrol

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a rather tedious 1hr 45min transfer from Salzburg airport, we arrived at The Hotel Tyrol to be 'greeted' by the hotel's receptionist. Slightly abrupt, but no harm intended, he gave us our room key, and provided us with a meal of beef and pasta, although it was quite late (approx. 10pm) which was well appreciated after a long day. The staff were mainly pleasant, especially the restaurant staff who were always efficient and friendly, and the man in the restaurant (owner?) who oversees all matters is quite a character.
Room was comfortable, and very clean. There was enough storage space, a TV including BBC channels, and a balcony with a nice view of the village of Söll. Walls seemed to be quite thin, as we could hear a slight sound of snoring during the night, but nothing extreme. Bathroom was large enough, however the shower was quite oddly placed on the side which wasn't the cleverest of ideas. But on the whole, it was a decent room, + nice and warm.
Food was wonderful. Great selection at breakfast, and a tasty 5 course meal every evening - including a fresh salad bar, and soup. There is also soup available in the bar area in the afternoon, however be warned, the woman behind the bar might turn a little unfriendly if you don't order drinks alongside this!!
The hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the centre of Söll, so is easily accessible by foot. There are plenty of bars in the centre, such as the Red Horse sport bar with good coverage of Football and Rugby, SalvenStadl pub with good live music, and Rossini pizzeria, where if you miss your evening meal pizzas are served here until 1am. Also, the hotel was situated up the road, this was beneficial, and I imagine that it is less noisier than others in the centre. The hotel was quite a distance from the gondola station, but there was an efficient bus service to take you there from right outside the hotel which was very convenient.
Skiing is great, vast network of pistes provided a new route on a daily basis.
Would definitely recommend the hotel, and Söll on the whole, as it combines great skiing with a bit more of a liveliness than some of the other SkiWelt towns.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deathramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first ski trip, we arrived at Hotel Tyrol in Soll, our greeting wasn't very friendly and that after our travel got our backs up, it doesn't take much to be friendly especially when we are the visitors and they are hosts. The room we were shown was basic and dated again not something we expected from a four star hotel, it was however very clean and all the towels and bedding was freshly laundered. We couldn't upgrade as the hotel was full so we stayed put. The saving grace for us was the food which was excellent, the breakfast and evening meals were freshly prepared. The staff in the resturant were pleasant and it would have been nice if the reception guy took a leaf out of their book. Overall it was a ten minute walk to slopes, five minutes into town and if you needed a bus service outside hotel. Wireless was 10€ for the week and per gadget, so if you were like us with three sharing and three gadgets then you had to take it in turns or pay up 10€ each.
Would we stay again, probably not. A little bit more laughter and cheerful staffing would have

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.1 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#12 of 20 in Soll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser

Property: Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Address: Wies 10, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Soll
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#2 Family Hotel in Soll
#2 Spa Hotel in Soll
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Am Wilden Kaiser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing