We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks holiday here and we couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. We've stayed in Soll before and other areas in Austria.

Hotel: our room was clean, warm and inviting. Good size room on the first floor. Big hanging space for clothes. Two windows in bedroom area with views of mountains and Soll. Spacious with TV showing BBC channels. Two chairs and little table as well. Bathroom was again spacious and clean, nice big bath for a good post-snowboard soak.

Facilities: ski garage was large, well racked and heated so our equipment dried well. Easy access via a staircase near the entrance to the hotel. Also had whirlpool, sauna, fitness room etc but we didn't use these.

Restaurant: excellent food. Really amazing. As a vegetarian I always worry about the variety but it was great. Evening meal: Fresh salad bar and soup to start. Soup was always so good, fresh and tasty. After that was an official starter, main course and dessert. Perfect size portions. Tasty, complimentary sauces and vegetable accompaniments. My partner was meat eater and he was very satisfied with his dishes. I filled out a little form when we arrived concerning fish, milk, eggs etc and the staff always remembered. Breakfast: great again. Croissants, cereals, breads, cakes, cooked or cold meats, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs etc. fantastic selection. They even gave you a breakfast bag for your day of departure if it was too early for breakfast.

Staff: Everyone from Joseph in reception to the restaurant staff and cleaning crew were friendly, inviting and tried to assist you. Can't fault them at all.

Location: 10-15min walk from gondola in snowboard boots. 5min to the central bars etc. Ski bus stopped out hotel every half hour to take you to the gondola. That was efficient and quick. We walked back to our hotel most days to get a bit of a stretch and warm down but the times we got the bus home were again quick and easy. Pick up right next to gondola, just note which colour bus you need as the colour that picked you up may not take you home!

Really lovely holiday, love the area as its great for beginners and intermediates alike. Great network of buses, gondolas and lifts. Can't wait to go back next year, would book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 269 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week's skiing with my husband and granddaughter. The weather was glorious, the mountain restaurants fantastic and the village absolutely super.

The hotel Tyrol is the perfect place to stay in Soll. We had a marvellous time there. The staff are excellent and friendly. The food is very very good and the facilities in the hotel are great too.

A special mention to Marcus who helped us when our return transport had not arrived and we were in a panick.

Overall ten out of ten and I would not hesitate in recommending the Hotel Tyrol

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After a rather tedious 1hr 45min transfer from Salzburg airport, we arrived at The Hotel Tyrol to be 'greeted' by the hotel's receptionist. Slightly abrupt, but no harm intended, he gave us our room key, and provided us with a meal of beef and pasta, although it was quite late (approx. 10pm) which was well appreciated after a long day. The staff were mainly pleasant, especially the restaurant staff who were always efficient and friendly, and the man in the restaurant (owner?) who oversees all matters is quite a character.
Room was comfortable, and very clean. There was enough storage space, a TV including BBC channels, and a balcony with a nice view of the village of Söll. Walls seemed to be quite thin, as we could hear a slight sound of snoring during the night, but nothing extreme. Bathroom was large enough, however the shower was quite oddly placed on the side which wasn't the cleverest of ideas. But on the whole, it was a decent room, + nice and warm.
Food was wonderful. Great selection at breakfast, and a tasty 5 course meal every evening - including a fresh salad bar, and soup. There is also soup available in the bar area in the afternoon, however be warned, the woman behind the bar might turn a little unfriendly if you don't order drinks alongside this!!
The hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the centre of Söll, so is easily accessible by foot. There are plenty of bars in the centre, such as the Red Horse sport bar with good coverage of Football and Rugby, SalvenStadl pub with good live music, and Rossini pizzeria, where if you miss your evening meal pizzas are served here until 1am. Also, the hotel was situated up the road, this was beneficial, and I imagine that it is less noisier than others in the centre. The hotel was quite a distance from the gondola station, but there was an efficient bus service to take you there from right outside the hotel which was very convenient.
Skiing is great, vast network of pistes provided a new route on a daily basis.
Would definitely recommend the hotel, and Söll on the whole, as it combines great skiing with a bit more of a liveliness than some of the other SkiWelt towns.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deathramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our first ski trip, we arrived at Hotel Tyrol in Soll, our greeting wasn't very friendly and that after our travel got our backs up, it doesn't take much to be friendly especially when we are the visitors and they are hosts. The room we were shown was basic and dated again not something we expected from a four star hotel, it was however very clean and all the towels and bedding was freshly laundered. We couldn't upgrade as the hotel was full so we stayed put. The saving grace for us was the food which was excellent, the breakfast and evening meals were freshly prepared. The staff in the resturant were pleasant and it would have been nice if the reception guy took a leaf out of their book. Overall it was a ten minute walk to slopes, five minutes into town and if you needed a bus service outside hotel. Wireless was 10€ for the week and per gadget, so if you were like us with three sharing and three gadgets then you had to take it in turns or pay up 10€ each.
Would we stay again, probably not. A little bit more laughter and cheerful staffing would have

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

4 of us stayed in 2 rooms 9-16th Feb. Arrived about 11am after a flight at stupid o'clock from Gatwick to find rooms weren't available until 2pm so went off to have a long lunch! Got a good deal through Neilson however and had rooms on the 4th Floor. The tiny lift doesn't go to the 4th floor so have to get out at 3rd, walk along some dreary corridors and then take another flight of stairs.

There is a heated ski storage room in the basement but most people left their ski stuff at either the goldola base or Stoll ski centre where Neilson/Crystal issue pre-paid hire equipment from. Neilson/Crystal encourage you to use the Stoll storage (8 euros pppw) however you then have a 5 minute uphill walk to the gondola (or get back on the ski bus if Lady Luck is on your side and there's a gap to squeeze into) or walk across to the drag lift, wait 10 minutes (there was always a queue) and take the lift up. Far better to use the storage at the gondola for 14 euros.

The ski bus stopped outside the hotel however if you have lessons booked or need to get kids to kinderland at the top of the gondola for 10am you need to be on the 9:05 ski bus or 9:06 postbus at latest. The later one (9:30ish i think) will not get you there in time if you don't already have your skis and boots on due to the gondola queues! However these buses were already packed by the time they arrived so we walked most mornings which only took 10 minutes to the Stoll Centre so we looked on it as our morning limber up!

The hotel was in a quiet area with the annexe directly opposite but it looks like something is going to be built just opposite and to the left judging by the crane and portakabins. It's about 3-4 mins walk into the centre and about another 1-2 mins to the big modern M-preis supermarket set back off the main road to stock up on bits and pieces, and the edge of the village.

Food was overall very good although agree with Mark from Amsterdam's comments below. Soups were generally good and main courses were on the whole excellent (e.g.salmon, duck breast, rump steak) but desserts were a bit of a let down. Thought wine was a bit expensive at 4.80 euros for 250ml carafe but it seemed to be the going rate in all hotels. We did see glasses of tap water being served contrary to earlier reports. You kept the same table for the week and at breakfast you had to choose your main course for the evening, There was always a veggie option and a separate children's menu was available. If you chose to eat a la carte you were given a 5euro credit. Breakfast was standard fare, there was always fried and scrambled eggs plus another hot item, e.g bacon/sausage/frankfurter. Croissants were delicious and available most mornings plus normal cereals, cheese, cold meats, rolls and fresh fruit. Service was generally very good in the restaurant but we sometime waited ages for coffee on a morning. (You make you own pot of tea in the tea making area where there are tea bags and teapots)

Rooms were ok, nothing special and not 4 star but clean like the rest of the hotel. Walls were thin but beds were comfy and rooms warm (with radiators so you could dry off damp ski gear) Our room (403) was arranged strangely in that the little sitting area (with a sofa bed) was round the corner from the sleeping area but tv was fixed so you couldn't watch TV in bed but that didn't bother us as we were so shattered from skiing it was impossible to stay awake once head hit the pillow! TV has loads of English channels, BBC1,2, ITV1,2,4 plus another 2 film and ent channel and a kids channel. (Not sure if annexe has this though!) there is an EPG on the tv but didn't show info more than about 1-2 hours ahead. There was plenty of hanging space and hangers, a few small shelves but no drawers. There is a safe in the wardrobe but it costs 10euros per week. Paid the money on first day but it wouldn't work. Reported it twice a day for next 3 days but still not fixed and then got our money back. Wifi in room costs 10euros per week but found it very slow at times. There was a decent hairdryer provided in the bedroom with a long lead, not one of those silly wall mounted things in the bathroom. No kettles or coffee making facilites provided.

Bathroom was very dated (see photos) but on the whole clean (apart from what appeared to be a make-up stain on the floor near the bin which I noticed on the 2nd day and was still there on the day we left so bathroom floor mopping is not high on the list of priorities) Hot water supply was erratic at peak times (6-7pm) and showers went from scalding to cold frequently at these times so watch out if you're put in this room). Bathroom wasn't ventilated - no extractor fan and just a covered hole in the ceiling. Toilet paper was the worst i've come across in a hotel, even the public ones outside had better stuff than the the "Tesco Value Kitchen roll" which seemd to be used!

One thing to note, if you depart early, you'll be given a packed breakfast bag the night before, however this contains a ham roll so be careful where you store it. We didn't realise this unti we were on the coach heading for Salzburg the next morning and had been stored overnight in our warm room! However I'm still standing so no harm done!

Overall we had a nice stay, skiing was excellent (booked 3x2hour lessons through Neilson and extended it to five days as Leo from ski-school was so good and without his ski-guiding would have struggled to get around mountain as piste map and signage was so poor!) and got what we'd paid for, however would have been disappointed if we'd paid full price (or published internet rates direct) at this hotel as not worth that price in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodpecker-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Interior: it's an old hotel that does not have your typical Austrian wooden interior oldness but just is oldfashioned,1980's style. It is very clean though which is a good thing.

Food: mains and starters are nice, well balanced dishes with light sauces and well-cooked meat. Salad and soup bar are a laugh. Wednesday you get a starters-buffet with all 4 starters they served the days before and a few new ones. On Fridays they do the same with the dessert-buffet. Very very sad way of saving money.

Staff restaurant/bar: the serving staff is friendly, they speak English or try to do so.

Staff @ desk: they have some very weird things at this hotel. In 12 years in Austra I never had to show my creditcard to be able to have all drinks put on the room bill. Very unfriendly.

Friday @ breakfast you get the menu for the evening which also tells you that checkout is at 10AM. Followed by 15 !!!! Very unfriendly.

Friday night you can not put drinks on the room bill anymore, you have to pay cash. You also have to pay the bill on friday night so your Saturday checkout is nothing more than a keydrop. Very unfriendly.

Fitness: this is a laugh. It's a 2 x 3 mtr basement room without windows with 3 old machines in it.

Wellness: another laugh. Sure there is a sauna and it's hot but thats about it. No water in the whirlpool and the relaxation area just not makes you feel welcome and relaxed.

Location: the hotel is quite far from the main skilift. Snowboarders can walk, Ski-ers can not. Skibuses stop in front of the hotel but buses do not run on an efficient schedule in the afternoon so you have to wait a lot when coming back after a day on the pistes. I recommend other towns in Austria, or Ellmau/Scheffau if you don't like waiting.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel T, Manager at Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Mark,

thank you for your comments but I think they were not quite objective.
The hotel was build in 1972 and continually refurbished. Not a year goes by were we
don´t invest to improve the quality of our property. The part of the restaurant you sat
was completely re-done in 2012.

We are proud of the quality of food coming out of our kitchen (as you can see from lots of comments) a minimum of 8 different Salads and one consommé (clear soup) with different fillings, as well as one cream soup are at the salad and soup buffet every day.
The executive chef promises, that he never puts left over from the days
before on to the entree or dessert buffet.

In most international hotels of our size one has to register the credit card (we are proud to
welcome in some weeks up to 12 different nation at the Tyrol). If you had a problem with
giving away your credit card no. you only would have had to come to the reception and we would have found a different solution.

In most hotels the check out time is between 10am 11am as 90% of the Hotel is departing
on a Saturday and by 2pm it is again time to check in. Sometimes a later check out is
possible but one has to ask at the front desk.

The fitness room is small but it is not a laugh, one Ergo meter and cross trainer was bout in 2011 the 2nd ergo meter is form 2005, and the multi power mashing is also from 2005.
sure the weights are older but 10kg are 10kg if it is one year or 10 years they also look the same. Also the room does have a window.

Also the Wellness is not laugh, it is about 250m² with one finish sauna one steam room
and an infra red cabin, and two whirl pools (one person pools), they have been empty as
every person gets 500liters of fresh mountain water and they are coin operated. The coins
you get at reception.

The hotel is ideal located 300m form town and 800 from the gondola station.
From 8am to 11am you have up to 15 busses which bring you to the gondola station.
Back there are also busses but you can ski to the roundabout and you are in
town and 400 m from the hotel and 100 m from the center of town.
Scheffau is about 1km and uphill from the Gondola station and Ellmau about the
same as Söll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are a young retired couple with years of ski experience who have just returned from a week at the hotel Tyrol Soll. We booked with Crystal and expected to be in the hotel annexe over the road but were actually given a room in the main building. It is quite a large traditional hotel in a convenient position less than 5 minutes walk to the village centre. Our room (222) was large with sitting area and small shower room. The room was traditional Austrian style and immaculate. The food was excellent with a varied buffet breakfast and a 5 course evening meal with choice of starter and main. They seem to cater for all nationalities which meant it wasn't particularly Austrian.
We were in the corner of the front of the building with a balcony and partial view of the mountains. The ski bus stops outside but don't take the advice of the rep and leave your skis at the stohl garage as you will need to get off the bus to collect your skis down the road from the gondola and then get back on another bus to the gondola station. Either leave your skis at the hotel or at the gondola station ( I think it is only 4 euro more than the garage.
The village has some good après ski and evening entertainment in other hotels and bars. The first bar on the right by the village entrance is particularly good ( Salven . The Red Horse and the Underground were also ok.
Skiing is most suited to intermediates with lots of reds. Beginners would struggle to find blues after ski school and blacks are rare. The area pass is the best as limited in Soll itself.
Would recommend hotel and resort as whole package as much livelier than Frane which is often too quiet even for "oldies"

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.1 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
143 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 15 in Ellmau
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#14 of 20 in Soll
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser

Address: Wies 10, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#2 Family Hotel in Soll
#2 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#2 Spa Hotel in Soll
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soll
Price Range: $134 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyrol Am Wilden Kaiser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing