We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week away”
Review of Hotel Feldwebel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Feldwebel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, nice rooms- although I would have liked a wardrobe instead of shelves with curtains. Having said this the rooms were spotlessly clean. Towels were a bit scare and small.
We had half board with a great choice at breakfast and tasty dinners. The buffet dinners were excellent with good choice and plenty food.
The biggest disappointment was when we asked for a glass of water we were told we had to buy a bottle of wine!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here while snowboarding for a week in January. Everything was excellent, especially the food! We had lots of fish, veal, duck, venison (all cooked to perfection). Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Great value and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay at the hotel beginning of January skiing with a large adult family group. Staff were helpfully and polite, rooms were spacious but could do with a freshen up. To be fair this has been done in a lot of the basic Austrian twin shower only rooms. Food was very good and well presented. If I was being really picky the salad bar for dinner was never really inspiring and at breakfast the hot food ran out and they had to be promoted to top it up. Some if the food was very salty but again we found this an Austrian taste thing elsewhere as well.
Lovely bath robes and slippers in the rooms but the towels were very thin and dated. Showers were great and there were low powered hair dryers in the bath rooms.
Free wifi but that was only picked up in the reception area.
For those who liked a window open at night time be prepared to be disturbed by late revellers and the church bell at 7am.
Superbly located for the Après as literally 200 metres from some of the popular venues. Bus stop outside the hotel for the gondola which run very frequently. Spacious heated ski/boot room.
Yes we would consider returning to the Feldwebel if we went again to Soll.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Scarletfez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have eaten in the restaurant many times - the menu has plenty of choice ranging from light meals to full on austrian winter warmers. Hearty portions and absolutely delicious. The staff are really warm and friendly. Would definitely recommend a vist.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in oct 2012. The food was gorgeous ...especially the desserts lol Our room was to the front of the hotel and the view was lovely. It had its own small balcony so I was able to sit outside ..yeah even in oct and enjoy the sunshine. The hotel is beautiful in its decor. Bed was comfortable and room was so clean. Very friendly hotel and would definentely stay there and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We won our stay here, so were very pleased that it came with a great big room and half board, which we wouldn't normally go for. Decor is 'homely' but in keeping with the Tyrolean style, the room (a 'Feldwebel room' I think) was huge with a balcony overlooking the square in front, not very noisy at night time but we were there late in the season so things had somewhat quietened down, indeed the hotel seemed less than half full. Could have done with more pillows, and dirty cups etc that we brought up from the bar weren't taken away for 2-3 days.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and the limited (or no) choice at dinner didn't matter too much due to the quality and quantity. The breakfast selection seemed to decrease in line with the number of guests - a bit unfair to the few people who were staying, and paying full rate, as the choice seemed to double when joined by a party of 10 for a couple of days.
We also suffered from the bizarre tap water rules. If you order a bottle of wine you're brought a carafe of water without asking. If you order a glass of wine you're not allowed a glass of water to go with it, you have to pay for mineral water. I thought this was odd and said so at the time. It spoiled the atmosphere somewhat that evening. Staff are generally and friendly and it is a family run place. Difficult to always find someone on reception so take your key when you go out.
It's a great location in the centre of soll, the skibus stops right outside. Ski storage in the basement is handy. The gym and sauna are good additions but we were upbraided by a naked German man for wearing swimming togs in the sauna. Not the done thing apparently!
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our Feldwebel room was large and comfortable with a great view, if a little dated in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Read all the other reviews and this hotel is exactly as stated. Warm, comfortable, endless hot water, great food-announcing I was a vegetarian in the middle of the first course presented no problem at all, secure ski room, convenient location. Lovely ski area with plenty of scope for all abilities. Would definitely return to Soll and the Hotel Feldwebel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#14 of 20 in Soll
91 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
145 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Der Baer
Hotel Der Baer
#4 of 15 in Ellmau
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Feldwebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Feldwebel

Address: Dorf 73, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#4 Family Hotel in Soll
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soll
Price Range: $105 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Feldwebel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Feldwebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feldwebel Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing