We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, few niggles”
Review of Hotel Feldwebel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Feldwebel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Soll
england
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overall very good, few niggles”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We won our stay here, so were very pleased that it came with a great big room and half board, which we wouldn't normally go for. Decor is 'homely' but in keeping with the Tyrolean style, the room (a 'Feldwebel room' I think) was huge with a balcony overlooking the square in front, not very noisy at night time but we were there late in the season so things had somewhat quietened down, indeed the hotel seemed less than half full. Could have done with more pillows, and dirty cups etc that we brought up from the bar weren't taken away for 2-3 days.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and the limited (or no) choice at dinner didn't matter too much due to the quality and quantity. The breakfast selection seemed to decrease in line with the number of guests - a bit unfair to the few people who were staying, and paying full rate, as the choice seemed to double when joined by a party of 10 for a couple of days.
We also suffered from the bizarre tap water rules. If you order a bottle of wine you're brought a carafe of water without asking. If you order a glass of wine you're not allowed a glass of water to go with it, you have to pay for mineral water. I thought this was odd and said so at the time. It spoiled the atmosphere somewhat that evening. Staff are generally and friendly and it is a family run place. Difficult to always find someone on reception so take your key when you go out.
It's a great location in the centre of soll, the skibus stops right outside. Ski storage in the basement is handy. The gym and sauna are good additions but we were upbraided by a naked German man for wearing swimming togs in the sauna. Not the done thing apparently!
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our Feldwebel room was large and comfortable with a great view, if a little dated in decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frootbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    41
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Read all the other reviews and this hotel is exactly as stated. Warm, comfortable, endless hot water, great food-announcing I was a vegetarian in the middle of the first course presented no problem at all, secure ski room, convenient location. Lovely ski area with plenty of scope for all abilities. Would definitely return to Soll and the Hotel Feldwebel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilarySolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just had a great week in Soll, at the feldwebel, apart from the resort being absolutely fabulous, the hotel was just perfect for us. My brother myself and two friends stayed here in march and it was exactly what we needed, clean, efficient with great food, great staff, Eva's a star, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

..doesn't stack up with the PostWirt over the road for service and quality of food. Watch out for tap water request in residents dining room. Only available if bottle if wine purchased! Bizarre management restriction. Purchased mineral water offered as alternative!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicoII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Traditional alpine medium sized central hotel. Superior room was very comfortable and the shower, always important after a day skiing, was good and hot. Lovely view out onto the main square from the balcony. Top marks go to the food, good breakfast and excellent dinner. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room facing square gave good view but some noise from late night revellers on a couple of nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights Skiing as part of a Crystal package, booked 2 weeks before we left. Can only endorse the high ratings this hotel has already received on this site. Food was excellent and varied, service was friendly and efficient, and the rooms very clean, comfortable, and well maintained. It is centrally located with the ski bus stopping outside the door; all amenities are within 0 - 3 minutes walk. Ski room is excellent with good boot heating frame and lockable ski racks. An enjoyable and relaxing stay, in a lovely hotel run by nice people. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordsTravellingBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were very pleased with the Feldwebel, good breakfast and either waiter service or buffet for the evening meal which was always good (sometimes felt a bit rushed when it was waiter service). Children get a different meal (fish fingers etc). We had a large superior room for three of us (our son used the sofabed), there was also a table and chairs in the corner - it made a nice change to have a room large enough that we weren't squeezing past each other! The safety deposit box was only 3Euros for the week (cheapest we've ever come across). The room was always tidy and clean and the shower was always hot!! In a central location, barely a 10 minute walk to the ski slopes, ski hire etc. We weren't disappointed at all!

Room Tip: We had a corner superior room on the first floor. We could hear the church bells ringing at 6.45am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.0 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Christophorus Inn
Christophorus Inn
#20 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
3.0 mi away
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
Landhaus Scheffauerhof
#6 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Feldwebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Feldwebel

Property: Hotel Feldwebel
Address: Dorf 73, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Soll
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Feldwebel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Feldwebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feldwebel Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing