We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with spot on location.”
Review of Postwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Postwirt
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Went on my own for a weeks skiing from March 17th, and met with 3 others from skiing forums (staying elsewhere) to form a group. I was assigned one of the front facing balcony rooms. The top one in the middle directly over the Postwirt restaurant part of the building, room 503. This is on top of the main crossroads. The balcony door is not soundproof as previous reviewers have mentioned and you can hear loud noises and talking from outside. This was no issue to me though as I slept like I log after a hard days skiing and drinking. I even slept in one day and missed breakfast. The food was fantastic, excellently prepared and cooked with great service. I'm a 'very' picky eater but liked what I had never tried before. The grilled mixed fish being my favourite and must be tried. There was plenty offered and most nights the main course was enough for me most nights no matter about the cold & hot starters and desert. The waiters/waitresses also had a knack of knowing when you was ready to be served again and you was never left waiting for long. The maids did an excellent job also and I left my change for them in the room end of my stay (if everyone did they'd have a tidy sum). I never tried or seen the swimming pool or sauna so can not comment on either. Room was a good size, cable on a flat lcd panel wall mounted and a digital safe in the wardrobe. Skiing buddies met up a few times in the hotel and we used the hotel bar a couple times for a quiet drink. I would recommended and it is a lot nicer than the majority in Soll. Suited ideally to families and mixed groups looking for something nice, pleasant and a little bit more special that then rest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flashpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 481 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just returned from a holiday in Soll and although the weather was extremely iffy, the holiday ended up being one of our best because each day we knew we were returning to a fabulous hotel, superb food (and plenty of it!), rooms were excellent, the rooms had recently been renovated and the standard of finish was extremely high. The icing on the cake, was coming back off the slopes and being able to swim in a superb heated pool.
We highly recommend this hotel.
From the Smylie family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skinuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Lovely hotel, with associated restaurant and bar. The bar in the hotel is also quite lively too. However this is not a noisy hotel. Good size, clean rooms, very nice food, although the soups all taste very similar (too much reliance on chicken stock!). Lovely heated outdoor pool and spa area - pity it's only open 3pm to 7pm, as would have liked to use on last day or early morning. Very friendly staff.
Ski buses are regular in the morning - takes about 5 min to the slopes. Can ski back to best apre bar near the roundabout later in the day, then a 5 min walk back to hotel.
Not too many bars in Soll, but you can search out a club and some live music if you know where to go - Rossini's, Postwirt etc.
Loads of skiing in Soll with very good lift system. A bit limited for beginners.
In general Soll is a great place and the Postwirt will not dissappoint.

Room Tip: Family rooms in the annex are bigger and have baths but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Soll: Great resort for beginners and intermediates, runs are not very challenging for advance skiers. This hotel has exceptional staff and the service top class, rooms spacious and cleaned to a high standard.

Would definitely recommend…thankyou!

Room Tip: Could be a little noisy due to the Whiskey Mule.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just had an excellent week on the SkiWelt based in Soll at the Postwirt.
The hotel manages to mix the traditional with the modern very successfully.
The reception, bar and diningroom staff were delightful and very helpful and friendly - some of the best I've come across.
Our room was large and very comfortable with a smashing sunny balcony. Excellent shower room (with a very powerful shower) and separate toilet. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The "winter garden" dining room was very comfortable, bright and cheerful and the food second-to-none. They obviously have a great chef!
The hotel bar/lounge was large and well furnished-but (as in much of Austria) does allow smoking which was offputting to many of the guests who were non-smokers.
Great sauna, steam room and heated outside pool to relax in at the end of the day.
The Soll ski-lift is a good walk away but ski buses stop outside of the hotel every few minutes to give a three minute transfer each way. The postbus which can be used to travel to other resorts is only a two minute walk away from the front door.
We would certainly return to the Postwirt!

Room Tip: Best to pay a little extra and get a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shincliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just back from skiing as part of the "Biggar group". I concur with all comments made by Yvonne.
Just want to add that it was our daughters 10th birthday on the last day. I asked if they could organise a cake. During our meal in the restaurant they dimmed the lights, played birthday music and brought in a fab chocolate cake with a large sparkler in it and a cuddly toy moose as a gift from the hotel staff. Its the extra mile they go that makes it extra special. My daughter said it was her best birthday ever. Thank you to all at the Postwirt.

As for Soll it is in a fantastic ski area. You could never get bored. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHLEEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just back from a great week skiing - we took a family room for two adults and 2 children - and it was very spacious and had everything we needed. Food was excellent and the staff were on hand wherever we went. Great residents bar. The hotel is located right in the middle of the village close to supermarket, chemist and few shops. Great bars which are suitable for children as well. The ski bus stops right outside hotel or else it is a 5 min walk to lifts. Lots of snow and only wish we were heading back again

Room Tip: Try and get a room to the rear of the hotel away from the main street as sometimes you can hear peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#7 of 20 in Soll
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#10 of 20 in Soll
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Hotel
Austria Hotel
#14 of 20 in Soll
95 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christophorus Inn
Christophorus Inn
#20 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postwirt

Address: Dorf 83, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soll
#1 Luxury Hotel in Soll
#1 Spa Hotel in Soll
#1 Romantic Hotel in Soll
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Soll
#2 Best Value Hotel in Soll
Price Range: $154 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Postwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Postwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postwirt Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing