We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonnenhof
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Soll
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Postwirt(Soll)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
69
18
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
18
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bar areathe perfect hostnext yearski bushis teamevery morningthree course mealminute walkamazing weekbacon and eggshome cooked foodplenty of choice for breakfastharry's barskiing holidaybreadhohe salvea great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 93 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just come back from a week in Soll staying at the Sonnenhof. The staff here are fantastic and can't do enough for you. The food is absolutely gorgeous and plentiful, my two teenage kids aren't the best eaters and the staff went through the weeks menu with me on our first day to organise what they would and wouldn't eat etc.... and make alternatives if possible. Unlimited red and white wine with your evening meal was a very nice surprise, and very much appreciated. Afternoon tea and cakes and juice and milk for the kids was available every day.

The rooms were very clean and well kept and warm, hot water was always available. Our shower was fantastic.

The bar is small but everyone who wanted to go in fit in okay so no problems there, not much choice of drinks, but not that big a deal. Our group of eleven took our own kareoke machine and were playing poker - staff were happy that everybody was having a good time.

With regards to the location, the Sonnenhof is up quite a steep hill, but not that big a deal after handling the mountains!!! The only problem was getting down to the ski bus in the mornings when the road was icy - more than one of us slipped.

I would recommend guests take the sleigh ridge on the horses, well worth it - but be warned even with the blankets provided it was freezing. (-12). Also for non-skiers hire one of the wooden toboggans at the bottom of the gondolas for 5€ and go on the 3.8km toboggan run, great fun, but a little scary the first time.

I will definately be looking to return to the Sonnenhof and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KerryG182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Stayed with 7 friends booked as part of a First Choice/Crystal Package. Soll itself is quite small and very quiet. The Sonnenhof is a little way out of the town and from the slopes (about 15 mins) but a pleasant walk. Alternatively get the free ski bus from the Hotel Griel about 2 mins walk down from the Sonnenhof. The ski conditions were excellent and some good red runs for intermediate skiers. It is a good idea to use the ski garage at the bottom of the slopes (rather than walk to the Sonnenhof with equipment). The hotel itself is located in a quiet location (hence good for a quiet nigts sleep). It is fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Agree with last review that for £400pw (approx) it is very good value but let's be honest for that price you won't get 5 star luxury. The rooms have twin beds (pushed together), a shared balcony, table/2 chairs, wardrobe and en suite facilities. Some rooms had showers and others baths so anyone with a preference could try emailing the hotel in advance. Our room had no mirror (in the bedroom) so may be worth taking one with you. We found the food really good (except the fish night which was average) and was 3 courses every evening (except Wednesday when the chalet staff have a day off). Guests are required to eat out on Wednesday. Breakfasts could have been better but ok with choice of cereal, fruit, toast, boiled eggs and/or a small daily hot option. Tea and coffee are available all day. The free wine was nice enough and refilled as frequently as possible during the evening meal. Afternoon tea (4pm - 6pm) including home made cake was fantastic. Overall the food and wine exceeded my expectations for the price. I completely disagree about the reps being 'thick' as in the last review. The reps and chalet staff were are all frendly and knoweldgeable and willing to help with any requests. They offer 3 days free escorted skiing - we attended 1 day which was great fun and Amy was a great guide. If I had 1 complaint about the hotel it would be the bar was poorly stocked and there was no 'lounge' area for guests to congregate as in other chalets we have stayed in. That said we had a great holiday, good food, nice wine, clean & quiet accomodation, friendly hosts and reps all for £450 per week. It would be difficult to argue the Sonnenhof is not good value for money. For anyone fancying a trip, we chose the turbo tubing which cost 20 euro per person. This included coach transfer (40 mins) and 1 hour tubing which was excellent fun. The trip started at 4pm so we didn't miss any skiing and were still back for evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Nice chalet, clean and tidy, rooms were nice as well quite large for a ski resort. Food was fine, would suggest that if you dont like anything let them know prior to going and they can make you something else. Bar was a bit to small but to be honest after drinking all the free wine it didnt really matter. Walk of about 10 minutes into town.....uphill on way home which can be a pain however it does loosen your legs up. Best bet is to walk to town and get the bus or walk all the way (about 15 mins - leave your skis etc in the garge for 7 euros week pass - well worth it). I throughly enjoyed it....the dining area lets you talk to others and it becomes a nice group party sort of thing. The reps were OK but my god they can be dim........not really a complaint as they were so thick it made us laugh. All in all very good...would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobby1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We decided to visit Soll for a last minute getaway at new year, as we have been to Soll many times and stayed in accommodation varying form B&B to Hotels over the past few years. We booked with Crystal and hoped for the best, as we had used them before in Cervinia and didn’t have a great experience....
Chalet Sonnenhof was very clean but in need of some modernisation as it was pretty basic and very 1970’s inside. Walking it’s about 15 mins to the village centre and another 10-12 from the centre to the gondola by foot and uphill. The Sonnenhof is out of the main town and up a relatively steep hill, which when icy is pretty treacherous. One visitor that week fell walking up the hill cut his face open and knocked himself out due to the icy road. It’s pretty quiet too up there which was nice.
The food was very basic, but not exceptional in any way. I think the chef did what he could on a very low budget, as all holiday companies are very margin driven. Our holiday was the most expensive of the season with Crystal and being honest I felt a little disappointed with the whole week. From day 4 we basically decided to eat out as we didn’t really like the food.
On New Years day, keen to get an early start as there had unusually been some fresh snow, we found that the chalet staff had been out partying and had not managed to get up to organise breakfast. They did however apologise for this at a later point during the week. Still we were on holiday and it’s a touch unprofessional to not turn up to work.
In our room the bathroom had a bath with a shower attachment hanging ½ way up the wall. Unless the chalet was designed for midgets, this wasn’t a great idea. Poor lighting and brown dingy tiles gives you a picture of what we had. The taps were not thermostatically controlled as in most chalets (to prevent scalding) – These taps were in excess of 25 years old minimum. Young children could easily burn themselves as just catching the tap when attempting to shower gave you a nasty shock. i.e hot water or cold when you were least expecting it.
Soll now is a very popular place for Irish skiers and during our visit we were amazed at how many Irish were there. At one point we thought they actually outnumbered even the Dutch.
Be aware that at new year, the locals and children have an interesting habit of throwing fireworks at your feet to explode. One poor guy we saw at close hand, bent down to pick up something from his rucksack and got a firework in the face. Blood everywhere. Fortunately we were inside a bar rather than outside on the street when this happened.
We were asked to be ready to leave our accommodation at 7am for the transfer. We got dropped off at the Coach and got settled in for the journey. Approximately 1 hour and 10 pickups later, the coach drove to within 40 metres of our accommodation to pick up more guests. We could have had an extra hour in bed maybe ? Atleast we had a nice tour of Soll at daybreak.
So in conclusion, would I recommend the Sonnenhof chalet and Crystal ski? If you were paying £400 for a week, yes, as you know that for this you are going to get a “very” budget driven holiday. If like us you were paying full whack almost double that, you might have expected something of a higher standard and catering that was a bit above canteen food, then no.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xman1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed in the chalet as part of a Crystal package. I would recommend anyone to stay at this Chalet. Although basic the chalet rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The chalet staff were lovely and being in a shared, catered chalet is definitely a lot less formal and personal than staying in a hotel which i really liked. All the staff are British and we really liked this as last year we were a couple of resorts along and none of the staff in the hotel spoke english which we struggled with a bit given our German was not up to scratch.
The chalet is at the top of a hill that is quite a climb at the end of a days skiing but we felt it probably helped to stop our muscles seizing up later on! IT wasn't any trouble to us either having to get on the bus to the main gondala as we never found that the bus was too crowded.
Food wise we were all more than satisfied woth what was on offer. Buffet breakfast with cereal, breads, ham, cheeses, toast, fruit and you can chose if you want a cooked option. Afternoon tea was really good, freshly cooked cakes- yum! For tea it is a 3 course meal. You don't get an option but this did not bother us. Desserts were really good. Hot and cold drinks are available all the time and unlimited wine is offered with the evening meal. If you have any requests for alternatives or extra it did not seem to be any trouble for the staff to accomodate.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The ski area is excellent and the accomodation great.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibunny-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews