We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet staff great but Crystal were terrible”
Review of Sonnenhof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof
Ranked #1 of 37 Soll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The chalet is basic but does the job. Its a bit of a walk into Soll and we never saw a ski bus but its a good warm up. The staff at the sonnenhof is what makes this a good place. John was excellent with the kids and made sure they were entertained. Lee checked with all of us what the kids liked to eat and did his best to cook what they would eat. Crystal now allocate chalets a very small budget to provide all the food and the staff there need praise for that. Rich was really helpful as well, going out of his way on a few occasions when my son was ill. Soll is a gorgeous ski resort and area and we had a week of sunshine so would definitely return there. Half the price of the French resorts.
What would really make this chalet would be a hot tub outside so that you dont get jealous looking at the lit up pool and hot tub in the Hotel Greil down the road!!
What lets this place down are the Crystal reps. Starting with the fact that we were told that we could put the kids in ski school for any amount of days and they would get their medals. This isnt the case, they have to be there the last day for that. As it was the ski school are excellent and very laid back and got the medals for us.
We were originally told that the ski hire shop was snow and fun ( which i would recommend) but we were then told it had changed to the one by the ski school. That place is chaotic. They even tried to accuse us of not paying for skis when we had paid Crystal. Bad communication there!!! We overbooked kids skis and were told on 3 occasions that we would be refunded. The rep said he would bring the refund to the hotel on Friday before we went. He didnt turn up ( after forgetting to book us in a restaurant the night before). On returning to the UK we are told we cant get the refund as we didnt get it in writing. That was because the rep didnt show up with it!! My son had an injury while there and the chalet doesnt have any emergency details in the reception or room. Crystals answer to that is that I should of downloaded their PDF file before i left the UK. As it was the local medical centre is excellent and the doctor there was also a chiropractor. This was all free on the EU card. My advice to Crystal is to provide your reps with some knowledge of the area and the ski hire, local doctors and ski schools. They really didnt have a clue.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow if you can fit it in or ask for more pillows when you get there. Dont book yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotdogsfortea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry6306, Owner at Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Thank you for you review of your stay in our hotel. You may like to know that we now only operate as a Hotel Garni rather than as a winter ski chalet, and that even in winter the Sonnenhof is staffed only by my family, and staff who we have known for many years, While we cannot offer you a hot tub, we would very much like to show you our new apartments or great value rooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed Söll, with its magnificent ski area.. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 81 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent basic accommodation, menu is on a budget but the staff do try their hardest and you just can't knock that, on the subject of staff they were superb. Chalet is a walk out of town but hey we didn't mind that, TV didn't work but again not a problem, we were boarding not watching TV, dinning is a great way to meet fellow skiers/boarders. A few skiers thought they were stopping at a 5 star resort (we referred to him as Mr Fish!!). On the whole a warm, happy and welcoming affair..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ady_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry6306, Owner at Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Greetings from our village. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonnenhof and that our location looking over Soll and its beautiful scenery suited you. We now operate all year round as a private Hotel Garni rather than a winter ski chalet, and would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back. Sorry that on your last visit, the television in your room did not work. We are here at your service summer and winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We've travelled with our kids for several years now and have pretty much stayed faithful to Crystal (despite trying a couple of other tour operators) as we've found them reliable and good value for money. This chalet was no exception. It's not luxury, but then it's not adverstised as 5 Star. It's got a decent sized dining room (plenty of space for 28 guests, without feeling cramped) and a small bar area downstairs. Rooms were not massive, but we weren't in them that much, so it didn't spoil the holiday.

The staff at the chalet were excellent. delivered good food and were friendly and approachable in and around the chalet. Not so impressed with the other Crystal Reps at he resort this year though as we got some incorrect information from them regarding the ski school for the kids which caused some issues on the first morning and they failed to confirm a restraunt booking for us which they'd promised to do. Normally we'd have done that ourselves, but since they offered to do it for us we left them to it. Bit of a nuisance when we turned up at the restraunt and all 12 of us were turned away!

Biggest issue with the chalet is it's location. Since the ski area in Soll is on the other side of the valley from town, you're probably going to have a 10 minute walk or catch a bus to it anyway, but the chalet is on the other side of town and up a small hill, so this adds a further 10 minute walk. The town was snow free when we were there, so the walk wasn't too bad, but with snow/ice on the ground it could have been more of a drag to walk with 9 year old kids. The buses are a bit variable - we managed to walk the whole way to the gondola without a bus passing us on more than one occasion, on others we were passed by several.

Overall, a good chalet and a really nice resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touringtaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry6306, Owner at Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our house. We no longer operate as a ski chalet, and the Sonnenhof is a family owned and managed summer and winter Garni Hotel welcoming guests old and new. While we are a short walk from the village, the Soll Ski Bus service operates throughout the winter season from the road below our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have just come back from a week staying here with Ski Crystal. The team of staff that run it are so welcoming and accommodating you couldn't ask for more. For example I have a very unusual and akward food allergy to some foods that are the base of most meals, yet the chalet chef went to great lengths to ensure I would be safe eating the food and had the intelligence to check foods that contained powders of the allergens etc. Not like my usual holiday dramas with eating. The food was filling and tasty - budget- but thats what you would expect- by that I only mean it wasn't flashy- just wholesome food well needed after a day on the slopes. I must also mention the fantastic cakes that were there to help ourselves to on return to the chalet each afternoon.
The rooms were clean, large and comfortable, they are a bit dated to the 70's but who cares after a day's skiing providing you can relax and sleep (and have a hot shower)! It was also a quiet hotel (apart from some children who happened to be staying who insisted on charging about like elephants- but you can't help things like that!)
The staff were also on hand to help explain the confusions of the skiwelt piste map and give tips and shortcuts.
The staff are all young as you expect and it was so refreshing to have staff who knew the meaning of customer service and service with a smile, not like you would get from the older generation who have been doing it forever and don't value your comments.
Location is fine providing you aren't lazy which is unlikely on a ski holiday. It is up a hill about 10-15min walk from the gondala station which also has a ski garage so providing you are willing to pay 8 euros for the week then you don't have to do the walk in uncomfy boots with heavy skis. To be fair if you didn't want to walk there is a regular ski bus but it didn't seem worth it to us. It was a nice warm up / down at the beginning and end of each day.
Obviously its the end of season now and next years staff will no doubt be a different crew, but if this years group are anything to go by I would recommend without reservation.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room at the front of the chalet you will get a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eajj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry6306, Owner at Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at the Sonnenhof. Although we no longer operate as a 'ski-chalet' for Crystal, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our family owned and managed hotel for a winter, or summer, holiday. Best wishes from Söll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Really enjoyed staying at the chalet. The hosts were lovely, friendly and we found them really knowledgable about the area. The rooms and decor were basic (what we expected) however were spotless. We really enjoyed the meals and cakes and took the hosts recomendations of where to eat on their night off and loved it.
It is a 15 min walk to the slopes but we enjoyed it for streching our legs before starting the day or to work up an appetite on the way back after apres ski.

We also enjoyed the resort and kept our equipment in the lock up finding everyone friendly and welcoming, we would love to go back again

Room Tip: a family room seems to have a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhianw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got a week at the Chalet for £750 over half-term.

We expected (fairly) cheap and cheerful and this is what we got.

The room was basic and we expected that.

The food (essentially full board) was basic and we expected that - the chef was a nice guy but not quite sure why he is feted in the way that he is by some posters. The cooked breakfasts were things like beans, bacon and egg - hardly cordon bleu. The rest of breakfast was unattended (and rartely replenished unless requested) cereals etc. The cakes after skiing were basically Sara Lee from the pack. The dinners were essentially meat and two veg following on from a very basic soup. Portions were small. The wine was acidic and cheap - but what would one expect for such a holiday?

Not being horrible but it was not amazing food by any means - and again we expected that.

The chalet hosts were pleasant enough - late teens or early twenties and so may not appreciate the nicieties of not standing in a group out the front having a fag... Very personable and not sure I would or could have done as well as most of them at that age.

The skiing was very good indeed - and that is what we paid for and it was better than expected.

The chalet is 15 minutes walk from the slopes without kit, longer with - but you can store equipment at the base fo 8 euros per week. It is an even longer walk back with kit at 2:30 in the morning when absolutely hammered from an 11 hour apres-ski binge but that's another story...

Given all this, I would give the holiday a 4-star rating overall but don't go to the Sonnenhof expecting luxury. It does what it says on the tin. I can understand if someone had paid a grand per person (see the one-star rating below) and they were upset - I can see validity in many of the criticisms she put forward when considering that price.

But for £750 for a half-term week? Very good - as my four star rating suggets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Would like to say that the staff at the chalet were amazing. The food was amazing. The rooms are basic but they are a good size and clean. Just what we wanted. My daughter was the only child in the chalet when we were there and the staff were brilliant with her. The chef lee went through the menu and took out or changed anything she didn't like. The location was good to as it was only a 15-20 walk/ stroll to the ski lifts and this was good to warm up or down. I couldn't recommend this chalet more highly. If we come back to Austria we will definately come back here. Thanks guys for a great holiday. The staff even offered to give my husband some skiing tutoring as he was not ver good. They didn't have to offer but that was what they are like, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: Family room has a bath but others have a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.4 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#8 of 20 in Soll
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Berghof Hotel-Pension
Berghof Hotel-Pension
#12 of 37 in Soll
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Christophorus Inn
Christophorus Inn
#20 of 20 in Soll
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof

Address: Pirchmoos 21, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run garni hotel in a stunning location a few minutes walk from the centre of a beautiful village. Well known for their friendly hospitality, the Reiter family look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing