We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas ski holiday”
Review of Sonnenhof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soll
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonnenhof
Ranked #1 of 37 Soll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic family holiday. Staff were very helpful, just ask and they always did there best to help.
rooms were some of the most spacious we had ever had, and we have had many ski holidays in the past. Crystal team were very helpful from the minute you arrive at the airport until you have left. Book everything through them as they do not charge any more and its great to get your ski pass on the bus on the way there. The food was excellent and they were always happy to help if you had a problem with something on the menu. The bar in the basement was great and very friendly to be with all the other guests if you did not want to venture down into the town.
would love to go back and have no hesitations. thank you

Room Tip: All rooms were similar, all good, we loved our bath. We never heard any noise at night time so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Soll and stayed at the Sonnenhof,this is a family owned Pension and is owned by the same person who owns Harry's in the centre of Soll ,it was a beautifley clean place for bed and breakfast,the owner and staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The place may be a bit traditional 1980 style Tyrolian type hotel but what's wrong with tradition and there are views to die for.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms with the mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry6306, Owner at Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

Hallo Brian. How nice of you to take the time to write a review of our traditional bed and breakfast hotel. My family and I are very grateful to you for sharing your holiday experience on Trip Advisor, and we very much look forward to welcoming you home in Söll again very soon. With best wishes from Harry and Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We booked about six weeks in advance with Crystal and still got £228 off the book price. The chalet was run by four kids from the UK Jack, Kane, Charley, and Sean. They couldnt have done any more to make our stay brilliant. We needed one of the matresses changed after the first night and this was done without a hitch and they thanked us for bringing it to their attention. I'm sure we got more wine than we should've at dinner too, such was their brilliant hospitality. The team were really pleasant and friendly and we have decided to come back next year, partly because of the welcome you get at the Sonnenhof. It is a little way up a hill, but so what? If you are fit enough to ski, then you can manage the little walk. Some rooms have a bath (ours didn't) and a soak after a hard day on the slopes would've been really welcome. All in all highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Sonnenhof offered great value accommodation and a catered chalet basis. The Crystal chalet staff (Hayleigh, Bethan, Kane and Lee in Jan 2012) like all chalet staff, tried their hardest to make our stay an enjoyable one. The accommodation itself was pretty basic but standard for an Austrian chalet. The views from the room were also great.
The food was excellent and plentiful. I could imagine the location could provide problems for some as it is right at the back end of Soll. There is a ski bus which takes you right to the Gondola but there is a short walk down a hill to get to the bus stop. Personally we didn't use the bus and found the 20 min walk to the Ski storage garage a pleasant warm up to the day! There was no Wifi in the Chalet but there are quite a few bars and mountain huts that do provide this in the Soll area.
If you want luxury accommodation and ski to the door access then the Sonnenhof is probably not for you.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in what was the best value ski holiday I've ever been on!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at The Chalet Sonnenhof for a week's skiing 2nd last week of the season. The chalet was lovely and had a very homely feel to it - the staff could not have been nicer!! There are 4 memebers of Crystal staff - Chantelle, Katie, Ibs and Georgia, these guys do a wonnderful job! The food surprised us we wern't expecting such good quality and variety as we hadn't paid a great deal for the holiday but Georgia in the kitchen kept the good meals coming all week! Cake and tea was always available during the day for when you arrived back from your skiing. We had to eat out one night as it was the Chalet staffs day off, we had our meal in the Whisky Mule and it was delightful! The chalet is situated up a small incline but walk to the end of that hill and the ski bus picks you up there, we had also paid to leave our ski's and boots in the garage at the slopes which ment we hopped on and off the bus without any hassle! Its a 10 minute walk down to the main area for the pubs and bars but this is quite a nice walk however if you don't want to go down to Soll there is a bar in the chalet and endless amounts of board games!! Overall I would go back to the Sonnenhof in a minute and would deffinetly recommmend it!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona_mfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've just returned from a holiday staying at the Sonnenhof. For those of you who have given poor reviews you ought to be ashamed of yourselves. Rather than expecting 5* luxury for a budget price I suggest that you dig a bit deeper into your pocket next time you go on a skiing holiday. You get what you pay for!!! My experience at the Sonnenhof chalet was an excellent one. Yes, the rooms etc are basic but then I didn't expect the Ritz due to the cost of the holiday. The staff at the chalet; Katie, Ibs, Georgina and Stuart are a credit to Crystal. They work extremely hard, are extremely well organised, and are attentive and polite. They could teach a lot of companies here at home in the UK a thing or two about customer service. And I don't think any of them are over the age of 21! A special mention for Stuart, an extremely talented young chef. I was very, very impressed with the standard of food from such a young lad. I really hope he goes far. All in all, an excellent holiday was had by all and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Sonnenhof.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BA-Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Me and my boyfriend went for a week at the end of March for a skiing holiday. Being the end of season the town was very quiet as were the slopes! Prices for drinks at the bars and restaurants on and around the slopes were reasonably priced.
We hired storage space at the ski rental shop (7euro per person/per week) which is useful when the nursery slope is open! (It got closed half way through the week due to melting snow) but there is another store at the gondola station which was apparently slightly more expensive). The ski bus takes you from the bottom of the hill (nothing like what we were expecting; a STEEP climb looking at some of the reviews but it wasn’t that bad) by the chalet to the ski shop and then up the hill to the gondola station (quite a walk uphill if you miss it!). The walk into the town was about 10 minutes.

The chalet staff were lovely and spoke English, something I wasn’t expecting! We were happy with the room, it was clean and had a lovely view from the balcony. The breakfast was the choice of cereals, toast, eggs, fruit and the occasional yoghurt. The cooked option was adequate but you couldn't rely on this to fill you up.
We also got the packed lunch one day for 5euro each, it was nice and there was plenty of it. Although on the way to the ski store/hire shop there is a baguette shop on the left hand side which had a wide choice of croissants/pastries and different sandwiches.
When you got back in the afternoon there was cake and juice, milk and water waiting, very well deserved after a day on the slopes!
We found a chalet friendlier than a hotel as you are sat with other people whilst having dinner. If it is one of your parties’ birthday let the chalet staff know and they’ll do a cake for after dinner.
The evening meal was a three course meal. Dinner was very nice with unlimited wine, water and squash for the children. After dinner staff usually let us sit at the tables for a while after but then asked us to move to the bar downstairs which is when we usually went to a bar in the town. There are some board games in the dining room for use by the guests and a bookcase down the stairs near the bar.
On the Chalet staff’s day off we had to go out for a meal, we ate at the restaurant above the Whiskey Mule pub, very highly recommended!
Overall we had a lovely holiday, the chalet and the rooms were very nice and we’d recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mills13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soll
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.4 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
75 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vitalhotel Sonnenhof
Vitalhotel Sonnenhof
#3 of 5 in Going
44 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnenhof

Address: Pirchmoos 21, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run garni hotel in a stunning location a few minutes walk from the centre of a beautiful village. Well known for their friendly hospitality, the Reiter family look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonnenhof Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing