We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for skiing in Soll”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rubin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rubin
Ranked #6 of 35 Soll B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good base for skiing in Soll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overall Wes "makes" this hotel, it was as we expected, clean, comfortable, good food.
The positive:
Wes - The best hotel manager experienced in 30 years of holidaying. Extremely helpful, knowledgeable, entertaining. In fact all staff are friendly and helpful.
Hotel - proximity to the slopes, apparently there's a ski bus right outside but is only a very pleasant 10 minute walk to/from the slope (we did use the ski garage though so weren't having to carry the gear. Very good value). Also very near to the village to explore, which I recommend - there's a little bit more than skiing and drinking to do and see. Rooms - functional, clean, warm (too warm - had to keep the window open on a night! even after having turned down the radiator). Excellent shower, lots of power and hot water. We had a 2nd floor room at the front of the hotel - overlooking the supermarket and the cafe; and glorious views of the ski ranges and further mountains. Food - evening meals were mainly traditional fare and were very good (especially the garlic soup), breakfast had a good wide choice of basic cereals, muesli, fruit, juice, continental meats and cheese, eggs, bacon, tea and coffees - all self service/self cook. The Red Horse is the only non-smoking bar in Soll, long may it stay that way (keep an eye out for those who flout the rules).
Now the negative - Yes it's a party hotel so expect noise. Actually, when in the rooms you don't hear any from the 3 bars; it's as people leave which can be at all times of the night/morning. But more annoyingly the noise from the people staying at the hotel when they couldn't find their room so knocked on other doors, or they wanted to discuss the meaning of life (or why their wife had left them - go figure if that's your normal behaviour!) with the rest of their group at 4 in the morning. As one reviewer said earplugs and a drink or two yourself might help.

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    30
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Have to agree with most reviews, ALL the staff are excellent and Manager Wes is a natural host. We were half board and the food was excellent although 7pm for last sitting was a bit early. Cook your own bacon and eggs at breakfast is a great idea and works well. The 3 bars down stairs have a great atmosphere and busy to the early hours. The rooms are basic but kept very clean and warm, towels changed every day even when hung back up for reuse. Small safe in room which is very handy although there is a €130 fine if you lose key.
The only down side for me and as mentioned in other reviews was the noise from the red horse bar/ disco which we were 2 floors above, even with ear plugs it kept me awake until the small hours. However as it was mentioned in the brochure that it was a party hotel, I found the best way was to and get enough drink that I could sleep, this usually took to the wee small hours!!!!
Excellent location for lifts, après ski and even has supermarket across road.
Ski garage under main gondola is well ran and less of stampede.
Again thanks to Wes, Lisa and Jonny who leant us a pair of trainers when we missed the garage one night ( too long in the moonlight bar) and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor at rear and some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Fantastic hotel, superb food the most amazing hotel manager Wes we have every had in 30 years of travelling, cant do enough for you, comfortable clean rooms, great apres ski. All staff are brilliant, tables stable for dancing on, will definitely come back. Ski bus right outside door, garage on slopes can store skis but shut at 6 so no good for night skiing locker in hotel superb. Black 45 in the red horse under hotel is theee best. learn beer pong rules before you go :)
Thank you to everyone there for making our holiday stress free.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a great hotel to stay in.. Wes is one of the best hotel manager's we have ever come across on our travels. We first met Wes 6 yrs ago when he was a crystal rep and this has given him the grounding and capabilities to deal with just about everything you would possibly need or want. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere was perfect for us, nothing was too much trouble for Wes or any of the staff . We had a fab time and would highly recommend anyone to stay at the

rubin. Food, bar prices and whole
experience faultless.
Will definitely
return . Thanks to all at the rubin for making our christmas great. Chris & stu morris

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s4ckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great après ski bar. Loads of tellies for the sports. Good music.Great Service with nobody waiting more than a few minutes for a drink even when it's packed. The food's pretty good as well. Good choice of drinks. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

From the minute we arrived, when staff came out to help us in with our luggage to the minute we left it was brilliant. The whole atmosphere and friendliness of every member of staff was absolutely fabulous. the hotel manager Wes just couldn't do enough for you, anything at all you just had to ask. The food was amazing ,good quality ingredients, cooked superbly and served beautifully. The free drinks vouchers to use down stairs in one of the bars was brill,saved a few euros every night, and we were a bit apprehensive about noise as its know as a party hotel but truly we never heard anything. We were there for xmas 13 and will defiantly be going back. Great location as bus stop is only 2 mins away, but well worth paying for good ski locker under main gondala.Rooms are nice,really clean and we had view of slopes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis Kev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Another fantastic week staying with Wes at the Rubin, thanks for putting up with talking about our cats all week.

I don't know what else to put in this review that I haven't said in the previous one - Wes is the ultimate chalet host, nothing is too much effort for him, he really goes that extra mile. Once again due to airport delays we didn't arrive until well after 9pm and he was there at the door to greet us and help with our bags. He'd kept the dining room open and the food was freshly cooked (thanks chef). Wes is an ex-rep and it really shows, he knows the in's and out's of making your holiday perfect, he was there to wave us off and make sure we got on the right bus (which we almost didn't). Danny who helps out upstairs should also get a nod - lovely polite service and always up for a joke.

The hotel was immaculate again, I've never stayed in a place so clean kudos to the house keepers who were always polite and stopped to say hello.

Every member of staff at the Rubin and the bars downstairs are a credit to the hotel, all will stop to say hello and to make sure if you don't need anything, even outside of the hotel when you pass them in the street (promotions guy - didn't catch your name). Sean and John behind the bar (hope I got your names right) great service and will always make time for a chat.

Travellers tips: Don't go with Crystals recommendation of the garage locker for storing your own equipment, use the Erdinger ski shop directly under the main gondola - its only 5 euros per board for the week.

Take ear plugs - the Rubin can get really noisy at night into the early hours, as crystal state - its a party hotel, there are 3 bars to choose from in the hotel.

Improvements: struggling to think of any.

maybe a "do not disturb" hanger for the room door for those mornings when you want to go back to bed :-)

some Wifi repeaters around the hotel so the signal stretches to the rooms.

and at a push swivel the satellite dish round so we can get some hookey english channels on the room tvs :-)

Thanks to Wes and everyone, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderCoverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tyrol am Wilden Kaiser
0.1 mi away
Postwirt
Postwirt
#1 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Bergland
Aparthotel Bergland
#3 of 20 in Soll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenpanorama
Hotel Alpenpanorama
#9 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#5 of 20 in Soll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rubin

Property: Hotel Rubin
Address: Dorf 138, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rubin 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing