We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food , great staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanzbodenalm

Tanzbodenalm
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food , great staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff are very nice , Joe is a legend. They might "squeeze" you in when it is busy but the food has always been very good. Have been to this restaurant at least 10 times, over many years . The service is good. When I go back to the skiwelt I will be stopping by for lunch yet again. The local specials are especially nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions: two visits, one good and one bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stopped twice at this restaurant. the first time was a good experience, the second one (much) less so.

We were skiing at New year between 2013 and 2014, so the slopes were very busy and therefore the restaurants as well and I have taken this into account while writing my review.

The first time we found a table within 10 minutes, which was pretty good as it is a very busy time of year. We ordered, were served drinks and food, and paid reasonably quickly considering how busy it was. The prices are acceptable and the food is good, as good as we had anywhere else all week and better than some ... hence our decision to return on the last day of our holiday.

On our second trip it took just five minutes to get a table and we thought we were in luck. However, it took 15 minutes to order drinks and were told that we could not order food for another 10 minutes, which seemed strange. Despite trying several more times to order food we did not succeed, always being told that we still had to wait. After 50 minutes waiting, and still not having ordered food, we paid for our drinks and left. This was not an accident in that we were overlooked, there were several tables having the same problem. We could not work out what the problem was. Either there was a technical problem, or the kitchen simply was too small for the number of tables ... in which case it needs a bigger kitchen or less tables. Maybe some tables should be reserved 'just for drinks' and then only have as many tables for food as can actually be served.

Conclusion, if you get served it is a place worth stopping at for lunch (the breakfast menu also looked good but we did not try it), with good food and atmosphere. If you're unlucky, you'll be skiing in the afternoon on an empty tank.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Gasthof up the Mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This Gasthof is lovely at the top of Sheffau just a short walk from the Gondola. Does a lovely hot chocolate when the snow is coming down as it did this year. It is nice when you walk in and the fire is on very cosy and sometimes very busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

An excellent place to eat with stunning mountain top views, very rustic interior all natural timber with beautiful fireplace. Food and service were excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sreddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
282 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Extra Points”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Big pine waiter service place. Coffee 2€30, tea 2€, Hot chocolate 3€. The Tanzbodenalm hut is down the slope from the Brandstadl, up from the Marchental - all nice, efficient motorway service stations, but you gotta give extra points to the Tanzbodenalm for waitresses in Lederhosen. Waiters too.

Zoom on past and you get to Ellmau, turn left and you are on the blue down to Scheffau. Turn right and you go down to the Eiberg lifts. So it's very central for the skiing above Scheffau and a good place to meet up.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanzbodenalm also viewed

 

Been to Tanzbodenalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing