We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick lunch, average fare”
Review of Hexenalm in Soll

Hexenalm in Soll
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Soll
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
crawley west sussex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quick lunch, average fare”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

the setting is great, but as it is full of smokers it stunk. The service was fast, but it really needed a more varied price bracket of foods

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pocu1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEWITCHING!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Traditional hostelry with good music (if you like EuroPop) and some lively characters. Bar staff were all dressed as pirates when we went in, not sure if that's the norm. Usual range of food & drink (pizzas looked great) and a good place to start your après ski.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jan_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs, UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food & lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We visited for lunch on the last Saturday of our ski trip. It is a very busy restaurant but we found a lovely big table and browsed the extensive menu.
There is something for everyone on the menu, pizza, mixed grills, various sharing dishes and there is a special called 'Secret of the Witches' for 35 Euros. Apparently this is a massive platter with just about a bit of everything on it and served with a large sparkler in the middle.
As there were only 2 of us, we ordered smaller dishes.
I had the chicken wings in BBQ sauce with garlic bread (approx 10 Euros) and my friend had the mixed grill (approx 14 Euros).
Food was delivered quickly and hot.
My wings were served in a frying pan! But they were delicious and plenty of them.
Good value for money, good service. Smoky atmosphere but that is everywhere in Austria sadly. Apparently the Apres Ski is brilliant at this restaurant/bar/hotel but we were there at the wrong time of day!
Would definitely recommend and will visit again if we go back to Soll.
Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CornishChick65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Base for Nursery Slopes”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

During our Nursery Slope years we spent many a happy hour in the Hexenalm for lunch and hot chocolates. Great base when you are beginning. Also lively restaurant in the evening with great music and bands.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gdewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favourite apres ski bar”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great atmosphere here straight off the slope from about 5pm onwards. nice choice of beers and shots. The quirky DJ can stick a bass to any cheesy Euro pop or dance song but it works. Everyone dancing, singing and generally having a good time. Dies down a bit after 9pm but by then everyone is suitable oiled up. Toilets downstairs are clean but it may be worth dropping off the skis and boots first just in case you drunkenly forget them. Didnt eat here but did see some nice looking pizzas coming out to people. Everyone chats with everyone and the staff are great. Enjoy

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hexenalm in Soll also viewed

 

Been to Hexenalm in Soll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing