We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Central, Warm, Clean, Affordable”
Review of Pension Edinger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Edinger
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Soll
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely Central, Warm, Clean, Affordable”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent a week in the Pension Edinger in Jan 2012 and we went for this accommodation as it has all you need for a great weeks skiing. Its right in the middle of Soll, 10 minute walk to the gondola and is very cosy, warm, clean and with good showers. The breakfast is basic but plentiful, enough to set you up for the morning skiing. You can order an egg which is nice for a change. Room cleaned every day. We had a nice big balcony overlooking Soll. One comment I would make and its not just aimed at this Pension, but the pillows supplied are just no good. They go completely flat so if you like having good pillows i'd suggest bringing your own with you if possible. I'd defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmalouanneoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Just had a week in Soll staying in the Pension Edinger. The Pension is perfectly located near the gondola and central to the village. We were very impressed with how clean and well run the guesthouse was. The room was cleaned and tidied every day and the towels although a bit hard and well worn were clean and we think changed once during our stay. The breakfast was typical continental but there was plenty of bread, cheese, hams and meats as well as jam. You can ask for a boiled egg also which is not charged or you can have bacon and egg at a small extra cost. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would have no hesitation in returning to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puddle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

the accommodation was compact but it was all you need. The room and communal areas were spotless and the location is fab. the skiing was fab and our tutor Karsten was excellent. I would go back in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaslough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have just spent a week out in soll at the pension Edinger for a ski trip at the end of the ski season. We looked around for reviews on the net and only came accross 2 which did help a little.
Well where to start the hotel was great basic but great. You have to remember that it is a 2 star B & B and nothing else if your expecting fine dinning and steam rooms this isnt the place for you. If like us you want a place to stay at a budget thats warm and close to the slopes this is the place to be.
The location
If like us you expect that guesthouses to be a long walk or bus trip to the slopes you will be pleasantly suprised the hotel is slap bang in the middle to the resort you couldnt get a better location if you tried everything is with in 5 mins walk from the hotel. The ski bus doesnt stop right outside as it says but it does stop 100 yrds down the road. If your in ski boots id advise the bus. But on the other hand its only 5 mins to the nursery slopeswhere you can get the button lift upto the gondalar saving your legs. The hotel in right next to a church and i would advise closing your window at night as at 745 the church bells go off telling the school lids to go to school and there loud b ut with the window shut we didnt hear anything.
Accomodation
the hotel is as i said basic rooms are on the second floor and there is no lift in the holet. there are only 12 rooms so its quite small the breakfast room is in the first floor and the ski room is down a set of stairs on the landing of the stairs there is a boot storage area which is heated. the rooms are twin beds and if your tall like me you will feel a little squashed as there is a foot board which stopped me stretching out fully. the bathroom is small but the shower was great really powerful. rooms felt warm all the time had window open most days. the balcony is just one long one the every room opens onto so dont leave things out or door open. the rooms where cleaned daily and towels changed daily to apart for one day the maid had off so nothing was change on that day.
Breakfast
the food is also basic but good enough to keep you full. its a cold breakfast with ham cheese and other sliced meats, bread rolls and bread for toast a selection of jams two kind of cereal orange juice and tea or coffee there is hot food available at a charge but you do get one boild egg included in your breakfast. there is a fridge in the breakfast room to guests to use if they wish. There is also a large supermarket on the main road 30 sec away from the hotel.
summery
the hotel is great value for money in the best location you can ask for we will be returning next year for sure

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neilsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Had a great skiing holiday over new year 2010 / 2011. Edinger is basic accommodation in the centre of Soll. The bars and restaurants are within a couple of minutes’ walk and the closest lift is just over 5 minutes’ walk. Although the free ski bus stops outside, we didn't use it as we kept our skis and boots in the garage at the Stoll hire shop which is by the bottom lift.

Breakfast is meats and cheese with bread rolls, a couple of cereals, toast, jams, orange juice, tea and coffee. We did see someone else get a boiled egg on our last day, so might be worth asking about that if you go!

There is ski & boot storage downstairs and our room (I think every room) had a joint balcony. The room had en suite included a fantastic shower. The rooms are small, but this didn't matter for us. There was no soap / shampoo provided, so do take your own. Towels and sheets were all good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sugref99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

The hotel/pension is rated as 2 star and provides bed and breakfast accommodation mainly for couples but also caters well for singles. It is in a good location in the main part of Soll a short walk to the main square and close to the restaurants, bars and bus stop (free tourist bus between other resorts along the Wilder Kaiser) - and not too far to walk to the cable car.
The rooms are all on the 2nd floor (no lift only stairs) and although quite small and basic the beds, Austrian twins, are very comfy and the shower powerful and hot. There is a single/communal covered balcony that stretches along the ouside of the building, each bedroom has a door which opens out onto this. There are two plastic chairs outside for each room and with the balcony area being completely under cover it provides an extension to the bedroom and an excellent area for keeping walking boots and drying out waterproofs. The breakfast, although again basic, it is buffet style and certainly adequate - cereal, hams, cheeses, bread, jams, juice, tea and coffee. The breakfast room has shared tables and there is also a small fridge for use by the guests. All in all the accommodation certainly satisfies the 2 stars, it is well maintained and very clean, the towels are changed regularly.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Soll hotels
0.4 mi away
Kaufmann
Kaufmann
#12 of 20 in Soll
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Feldwebel
Hotel Feldwebel
#6 of 20 in Soll
123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bed&Breakfast Denggenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AlpenSchloessl Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubin
Hotel Rubin
#6 of 37 in Soll
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Schindlhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Edinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edinger

Property: Pension Edinger
Address: Soll, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Edinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Edinger Hotel Soll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing