We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaks at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western John Muir Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC, Canada
13
Reviewed June 15, 2005

We were very displeased with the condition of the hotel and especially the room itself. The hallways were dingy and uninviting and the room itself was the same. There were numerous large water leak stains on the ceiling and in fact on the morning of our departure, the roof was leaking onto the bed. I placed an ice cube bucket on the bed under the leak to catch the water. I mentioned this to the front desk staff and all they said was “sorry”. There was no attempt at reimbursing us for at least part of the stay.

Additionally, when we used the pool and hot tub outside, my wife and I developed an itching problem afterwards. The itching was intense. I regret to say that we did not report it to the front desk. Someone needs to monitor the pool/hot tub water more closely.

I understand that this hotel is classed as a 2-star hotel. As far as we are concerned, it should be downgraded to a 1-star hotel. I highly recommend that Best Western have a serious look at this Inn to correct any deficiencies.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2004

I spent 4 days at the John Muir Inn in Martinez, California (San Francisco Bay Area) in February 2004. While I was there, the hotel had some sort of hot water boiler failure, and the hot water heaters were not working for 3 days and 2 nights. Nevertheless, they continued to book guests and charge full rate.

I met a family who had come for a friend's funeral with four small children. They were given a room with no hot water, and told they could shower down the hall in another room if they wanted too, along with some other guests.

They advertise free daily papers, but only get 5-6 for the whole hotel, and leave them in the lobby. There is a breakfast which is adequate--cold cereal, juice, and packaged muffins.

I paid for a "suite" with a kitchenette. That means a small refridgerator, I guess. There was a 2-burner stove, but no cooking utensils or pots/pans. You can ask at the front desk and they scrounge around and look for some odds and ends in a closet in the managers office.

This is a Best Western, and the chain needs to pay a suprise visit in the winter some time! Also, if you are a Best Western Frequent Guest, check your statement--I never had my points credited. I didn't worry, since I won't be staying in a BW again, unless I have no other choice.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank riversidebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim-D-Lundby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Éviter chambres contiguës à machine à glaçons demander une chambre au dernier étage pour éviter les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al1dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prerna R, Manager at Best Western John Muir Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DondeDonatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinez
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
409 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Benicia
3.9 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western John Muir Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western John Muir Inn

Address: 445 Muir Station Rd, Martinez, CA 94553-4671 (Formerly BEST WESTERN John Muir Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Martinez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
Price Range: $102 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western John Muir Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western John Muir Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western John Muir Hotel Martinez
Best Western Martinez
Martinez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing