We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quaint w/courteous staff”
Review of Muir Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muir Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Amidst the, "Super 8's" , "Motel 6's" & "Americas Best? Value's" And other examples of Motel Mediocrity, I happened across this little gem, a " Rose in a clover - garden ... "
Muir Lodge Motel, is charming, clean -quaint & reasonably priced. Being unfamiliar w/their Dish Network, I simply picked-up the phone and asked for assistance. The manager actually came to my room and took the time to explain everything. It worked perfectly, all I had to do was ASK for help & he was there!
Thanks to the staff of Muir Lodge for a most pleasant stay!
Sincerely,
Joe Scott
San Francisco, Ca.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kneedeepinbluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great price on the rooms. Rooms are clean and smell clean. Staff was very nice and they upgraded my room for no charge.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkyibew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We <3 nostalgia. This is one of those cute little 50s hotels with a classic neon sign that we love to see but are a little afraid to stay in. But thanks to the mainly great tripadvisor reviews we took the chance. As other reviewers said, inside it is updated, clean and comfortable--the furniture and bedding are not 50s, than heavens! In fact, it's as nicely furnished as some much higher-priced places we've stayed (maybe even nicer than a couple)! There's even a microwave, coffee maker and fridge. (The fridge even QUIETLY kept our food cold, unlike some high-price hotel fridges we've tried that wouldn't let us sleep.)

Also as other reviewers have commented, the management is very pleasant and helpful. And while the breakfast pastries were not gourmet, they were fresh, were a standard grocery store brand, and we got two each.

Alhambra Ave is busy, and there was some traffic noise, but it quieted down at about 11, and all the other guests when we stayed were quiet. All in all, our stay was very pleasant.

Be sure to check out the neon sign when it's lit up at night--a nostalgic thing of beauty. We only wished the weather was warmer at the time of our stay so we could try the little egg-shaped motel pool and bring back childhood memories of splashing and playing after a long day in the station wagon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

we both were on our vacation and we wanted a place that was cozy and warm.....we had booked the room online and we had no expectation but we were very surprised by the motel.....the staff were very friendly, rooms were very clean and in excellent conditions.....we recommend this motel to everyone who is the area.....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

At first I did not expect anything for that price per night, but I was pleasantly surprised by the Muir Lodge Motel.

My reservation was immediately found, although I booked only 24hrs before. Room#08.

The room was clean and big, the bathroom and toilet as well, apart from some street noise (not too bad) silent, I did not hear any neighbours. The room included a SAT TV, microwave (very clean!-looked like new) and hair dryer (not too common at rates like this).
Parking is right in front of the rooms. The only thing that hit me was the intense smell of disinfection, which is why I had to air the room out a bit.

Entry to the room is by key card. No Gym.

Best of all was the free Wi-Fi which was offered by the receptionist without requesting, and even better - it was very fast!

There is also a pool outside, but the location of it between the parking and the road was not too tempting, also I only came in the evening and left the next morning.

One thing to point out - this hotel is NOT next to the Muir National Monument Park, only next to the John Muir park.
However in case I pass by this area again, this is for sure a place I drop off for a night or two.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aarbter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were reluctant to stay here because from the outside it doesn't appear very modern and we didn't want to get stuck with 1950's beds, old bathroom, poor AC, etc. We were pleasantly surprised. The clerk was very friendly and our reservation was ready to go when we got there. The room was good-sized, clean and modern. Only a couple complaints: 1) proximity to main drag through Martinez, but it wasn't that bad. 2) continental breakfast was a couple of vendor-wrapped bear claws in room and coffee maker. Overall, much better that other hotels we stayed at in the area and at a fraction of the cost. We liked it so much we stayed here again on our return trip and had an equally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BnL31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This motel is far better than most chain motels we've stayed in. Very clean and super comfortable. Very well furnished. The management was extremely friendly and helpful. We will stay here from now on when we are in Martinez.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinez
0.7 mi away
Best Western John Muir Inn
4.6 mi away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
997 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Concord
Crowne Plaza Concord
#4 of 8 in Concord
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
6.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muir Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muir Lodge Motel

Address: 3930 Alhambra Ave, Martinez, CA 94553-3820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Martinez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Martinez
Price Range: $102 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Muir Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muir Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing