We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Send the owner to charm school”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Solden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Would not advise this as a family friendly hotel.
Ladies may not wear open sandals for dinner.We left for Central Spa hotel after 1 night due to the rudeness of the owner.The staff were pleasant enough without being top notch

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stirlingsongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

The ONLY thing that stops it being excellent, is that there are no NON-SMOKING common areas other than the dining room.
Rooms, spa, food - ALL EXCELLENT

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MoP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Nice big rooms.
Exeptional food quality, very nice breakfast, in the evening each time a feast for the eye and the sense of taste, never eaten better in a hotel!
Faboulus Spa and Wellness (opens at 15h) and is for the most included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Its a lovely hotel, shame the 'no smoking in public places' idea hasnt yet reached Austria in particular the 'Regina'. It is expensive for all those additional things like bottled water and drinks with your meal. We stayed half board, and the food is faultless, really quite exquisite in the evening although the many small courses can get a bit tiresome after a few days and leave you gagging for a big plate of steak and chips! All staff are very freindly and all speak English far better than my Austrian/German. Apart from being choked by the cigarette smoke as you go through the foyer/bar area the Regina is kept very clean and in good state of repair/decor. We had a room with balcony overlooking the river to the rear of the biulding. It was spacious and had a separate living room with flat screen TV, English channel selection was very poor, no general satellite channels. Rooms are cleaned and serviced daily, bathroom is nice with a separate wc which was good, plenty of storage space too. Our water jets on the spa bath did not work and it would have been better if there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room too. We were there to ski and that is what we did, so cannot comment on other facilities like the wellness suite as we didnt use them. the ski and boot store had plenty of room though. You get 10% off your ski and boot hire at the sport4you shop about 50 meters to the right as you walk out the hotel. and about 100 meters to the left out of the hotel is the main gondola so the hotel is ideally situated. I have to say (and I might be wrong) but family-wise there didnt seem to be a lot to do in Solden. There is an ice skating ring and a sports centre nearby but there are not that many shops for anything other than ski kit. Also the prices for anthing edible or drinkable in the town are also pretty expensive. The snow was fantastic even this early in the season (Dec 08), but beware all those 'guarenteed snow' hunters, it can get pretty windy up there on the glacier and the 'golden gate' gondola (the only way up to the glacier) seemed to be more often that not closed in poor conditions, that being said, the majority of our stay the weather was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItIsWotItIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We stayed for few days in Regina after hearing many good reviews for this Hotel.
All in all it was ok but certainly not worth the price they charge.

Contras:
- Jaccusi in room was not even working
- no soap nor shampoo or shower gel in bathroom
- at dinner 0,7l bottle of water costs 5 -6 Euros, not to mention that a very normal wine was way over priced
- Staff at reception was very unfreindly
- Wlan was payable and even PC at Reception was not free of charge! (not usual for a 4 * +)
- Wellness area is not fully functional (only 2 Saunas, the rest you need to pay or is simply broken)
- Wellness closed until afternoon! which is very desapointing knowing that you'd reserve such hotel when some of your group / family members doesn't ski and could eventually enjoy the Wellness.
- the best of all: Slippers for Wellness are not provided and should be purchased for 4 Euros! when the room costs over 180 euros a night, I wonder why the Hotel tries to save 50 ct...

Pros:
- Very friendly staff in dining room
- near ski lift

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TE2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

HOTEL / LOCATION
Hotel Regina is located on the main road, a short walk from the main lift (100 m.) In spite of the central location the rooms are quiet so you can enjoy your sleep at night.

ROOMS
The hotel offers a variaty of rooms with different facilities. We chose a category E room with jazucci and tiled stove. The room looked quite new/renovated and was very large with a double bed, sofa arrangement, desk and balcony. The bathroom was huge and also had a separate shower. The tiled stove is just a warm radiator tower and there is no real fire like an ordinary stove.

Bearing in mind we usually go skiing in France we were very pleased with the room decoration and size.

RESTAURANT
Our stay was on a half board basis and sometimes prepaid food can be extremely disappointing. Since the German/Austrian kitchen is not well known for its tasty food we hoped for the best but expected the worst. We were pleasantly surprised. The breakfast buffet was nice but especially dinner exceeded our expectations. Every night we were offered a 4 or 5 dishes choice menu which was very tasty and well prepared. Service is fast , efficient and polite.

Every day in the afternoon the hotel offers a small cake buffet.

SPA / WELLNESS
The spa is nice and I got a great massage. Prices are reasonable. I only took a quick look into the wellness area but I didnt use it so I cant really comment on the facilities there.


The above was a short description of my experience with the hotel - feel free to contact me if you have any questions not answered in my review.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnjaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

We stayed for 8 nights. Good rooms (big), nice location for skiing, plenty of food, nice swimming pool etc.

Stayed: February 2006
Thank Ann-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solden hotels
0.4 mi away
Das Central - Alpine . Luxury . Life
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#3 of 32 in Solden
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpengasthof Gruener
Alpengasthof Gruener
#7 of 32 in Solden
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tyrolerhof
Hotel Tyrolerhof
#8 of 32 in Solden
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alphof Soelden
Hotel Alphof Soelden
#4 of 32 in Solden
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Backelar Wirt
Hotel Backelar Wirt
#9 of 32 in Solden
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Dorfstrasse 101, Solden 6450, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Solden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Solden
Price Range: $188 - $959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Regina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Solden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing